We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a fantastic restaurant, food and organisation need a little more work though.”
Review of The Lion Hotel

The Lion Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lion Hotel
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be a fantastic restaurant, food and organisation need a little more work though.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've been to the Lion many times (to eat) before it was taken over by new owners and this was my first visit following it reopening.
The decor, although slightly dated, is traditional and suits the building. The ambiance could have been improved as there was no music playing.
I had lamb shank and the others in the group had fish and chips.
My food was superb and couldn't really be faulted especially at the price paid! However, the fish was not particularly tasty, I think this suggests the quality of the suppliers than the skill of the chef.
The range of drinks on offer, however, as always, is still superb for a pub/hotel in a small village. Local beers/cider on tap as well as your typical drinks.
The staff were very polite and friendly, however I'm not sure how experienced they are.
We were asked by a number of different staff if we were ready to order (after the order had been taken) and asking if our food was ok multiple times and although this shows eagerness, it can become slightly annoying after a while. Hopefully the pub will do well and these little things will improve as Llansantffraid already has a rather dull restaurant in the form of the Station Grill.

They also offer a quiz night and open mic night during the week, and the car park is always busy on these nights, however I have not been to these and cannot comment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanfechain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've been to the Lion Hotel a couple times since an enterprising local family reopened the Lion Hotel just before Christmas 2012. We've always had dinner in the lounge bar, and I can just confirm other comments here. The menu has a good range, thankfully nothing too precious or Foodie. But in mid-Winter the staples like lamb shank and stews were superb, and the portions generous. The beers on tap reflect the wealth of local breweries, and the service really feels like service in a family run establishment. The Lion Hotel has really added another dimension to a surprising quality food culture in Llansantffraid ym Mechain, joining the Cross Keys, the Palace and the humble Drovers Oak Cafe. Good luck to them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RC_RIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I can only rate the lunch as we were just passing through, and I cannot praise the value for money more highly as well as the service. Just a simple sandwich and chips was £4.95 each , a huge ciabatta (you could have bagette or panini if you preferred) , lots of home made chips and a tasty dressed salad. We ate outside as the weather was nice and we had our dog with us , this is on the main road so the atmosphere isnt great but inside looked nice and homely - proper old fashioned pub look. The barmaid came promptly with our meal , scrubbed the already clean looking table and kept bobbing in and out ensure we had everything we needed. Not fancy but execellent food at a good price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WirralLindag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Catered for all our needs. Family run. Restaurant, bar and local bar. Rooms were great with flat screens. Open fires made it feel homely. The locals bar was great with very friendly patrons. Food was really good with home made chips. I would defiantly recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timandjane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We booked two double rooms for a recent trip to the area. For a hotel, it was a little strange that everything was closed up and you couldn't check in until 5pm.

The room was nicely furnished, and was as stated, light and airy. However we were in Rm 5 and there is a large glazed panel above the door and light pours in, which means that you cannot make the room dark enough to sleep in unless you get the staff to turn off the lights on the stairs and landing. Having this panel boarded or with a blind would have made such a difference - because of it we got almost no sleep on the first night. When we brought this to the attention of the staff, they did what they could to make amends but their options were a little limited, resulting in a better but not brilliant 2nd night

Breakfast was really nice, plenty of choice, nicely cooked and good portions.

The other surprise was that when we returned to the hotel for our second night, the rooms had not been refreshed, not even as far as clean cups on the hospitality tray!

On a general note, the practice of propping fire doors open was a little unnerving, as was the bizarre arrangement of the electrics in our room and the copious use of extension leads.

Overall for the rate we were asked to pay, I feel that things should have been much better than they were. When we return to the area again, I have to say on reflection that I would without doubt, find an alternative place to stay. A shame as it could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 5 if you like a dark room to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Tourist_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

A group of 8 golfers we stayed here for 3nts at the beginning of June in a mix of twin,double and single rooms.

Booked - direct with hotel by email and was offered an excellent rate, All correspondence and requests were dealt with promptly, effectively and when we had problems with numbers within 48 hours of arrival - very patiently.

Staff were friendly, attentive and effective.

Rooms - all our rooms had been recently decorated and were clean and nicely furnished. Bonus was the towels which were of a fluffy upmarket type. The rooms on the front of the hotel could be a bit noisy from the road but no real problem. Good shower, tea/coffee in room, central heating

Public rooms/bars - we were made to feel very welcome by the local residents.

Restaurant - the breakfasts were the best I/we have ever experienced and that includes 4/5 star hotels. Dinner was not included and we only ate there on one evening - hmm our only grudge - it did seem a bit on the expensive side for what we had. Nice little Indian just down the road.

Summary - this is not a 4 star hotel, but it is an excellent country pub offering nice, unpretenous but clean rooms, at great value. If you are kooking for some where to stay in mid wales without spending a fortune give it a try. I will certainly be back in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back, but dont worry too much about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We booked this hotel no more than 4 hours before we arrived, it was a very spur of the moment thing. We had decided to go and see some family nearby and rather than turn up on their doorstep late at night we decided to book a hotel. We did a quick search on the internet and "The Lion" popped up, it looked lovely.
We arrived at approx 11:30 pm and were a bit unsure how this would go down, but it was fine, the staff were very welcoming and showed us to our room and helped us with our bags. We were then invited to come and have a drink in the bar (which turned into about 7 or 8), we met the landlord who was also a nice guy and several locals. We were given lots of suggestions as to things to see and do locally.

Before we went to bed we were asked what time we would like breakfast in the morning, we opted for a later than usual breakfast about 9:30, I think the staff were a bit relieved as they also had a very late night. We were asked what we would like for breakfast, I went for a full English and my girlfriend who is a vegetarian opted for a veggie option English breakfast, we were told this would be no problem.
In the morning we were greeted by the same guy that had been serving behind the bar until the early hours. Breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, choice of cereals, tea or coffee, toast and jams, and full English (with veggie sausages if you want them, which my girlfriend says is a rare option).
Nice traditional hotel (b&b), friendly staff, great breakfast and a good location for all the sights.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxing100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
4.8 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
125 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
2.9 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanymynech
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House
3.1 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandysilio
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Property: The Lion Hotel
Address: Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain SY22 6AQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing