We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sun shines on Bryn Tanat”
Review of Bryn Tanat Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Tanat Hall
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We've just returned from a fabulous week long family break at BT. We are a challenging family to accommodate with 7 couples and 8 children (ranging in age from 4 months to 10 years) but BT managed it. The kitchen is well stocked with equipment and there is a huge dining table so we could all sit down and eat together. The weather was amazing and we spent a lot of time in the fabulous gardens. BT is in a great location and as a group we visited Ellesmere, Wrexham, Oswestry, Shrewsbury, Powys Castle, Llangollen and Aberdovey (a quaint Welsh seaside town). The only slight drawback is the house is quite creaky (as you would expect with an old house) so it can be difficult to settle younger children. This was our second visit and hopefully we will return again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zurichcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 78 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

Firstly, in any way that we can endorse Bryn Tanat Hall as an intimate wedding venue, or a weekend retreat for friends and family, we will gladly oblige without hesitation.

We held an intimate wedding weekend celebration, which included a large evening reception on the weekend of 21 April 2012.
The Hall and the grounds were immaculately designed for comfort; formal, without feeling stuffy. Every guest that joined us for the weekend commented on the beauty of both the Hall and the grounds. The photographs on the main website do not do the Hall justice, with each room having its own character and personality.

Despite being demanding clients, every detail we requested was executed meticulously to our specifications. Even at the last hour, the team at Bryn Tanat Hall managed alterations and used their skill and expertise as true hoteliers without compliant. We still are not quite certain how they accomplished this feat, but it made it seem effortless to our eyes.

Susan and Peter: in addition to this review, please ensure the family and the staff receive the appropriate recognition for their commitment in delivering a truly personable service. Your team provided nothing short of a seamless service which left us, our house and reception guests feeling that they attended the "wedding of the century".

Thank you, Susan and Peter, for making everything so very special; rarely is perfection ever exceeded.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Every year we, as a large group of adults, rent a country house for the weekend. We have just spent a marvellous weekend at Bryn Tanat. The Hall is spotlessly clean, equipped to the highest standards and is in a wonderful location. Susan and Peter were on hand if required but allowed us uninterrupted use of the house to enjoy at our leisure.
We have been to many properties over the years and this is definitely one of the very best.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just returned from a long weekend to celebrate a number of significant family birthdays and anniversary, Bryn Tanat had something for everyone from Ben aged 9 to Grandma aged 85! The property is an enigma, cottage like from one side and grand country house from another, decorated absolutely stunningly- with beds that have left us searching for the make to buy one for ourselves they were so comfy! A personal favourite the victorian cast iron bath-pure luxury and a real treat.
Dont be put off by a list of dos and donts, all instructions are perfectly reasonable and understandable given the value and high standard of the property.Plenty of room for play both in side and out, snooker room great for the men! Thankyou to Sue and family for sharing their amazing home- our tip-if you are celebrating a family event or just want a relax with friends, Bryn Tanat is the place to go:)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Having just returned from holding a celebration weekend with family and friends at Bryn Tanat Hall I am still walking on air. There were 18 of us including children and from the moment we arrived Susan and her family made us all feel very special and couldn't do enough for us, right down to unpacking the groceries and baking scrumptious cakes.

The Hall itself is delightful. It is big enough to accommodate everyone, providing opportunities for communal living and private moments. It is grand enough to feel regal and homely enough to feel comfortable. No time or expense has been spared in the layout or design of the rooms and it is all beautifully maintained. The house is extensively equipped with all you could possibly need and all equipment is of a very high standard - none of those nasty featherweight knives and forks often provided in self catering establishments or bread knives that won't cut butter.

The grounds are breathtaking and provide opportunities for relaxation and activity. There are even goalposts for the children (or adults!) to work off the inevitable extra calories consumed during the stay..... Susan also arranged a falconry display, archery and target shooting on the lawns which was great fun.

We took advantage of the catering services for our main meals. The food was of the standard and presentation you would expect in a top class restaurant and the home made bread was to die for! The catering and service staff were wonderful, from serving drinks from the moment you appear to clearing away all the mess you leave afterwards. All done with genuine smiles too.

If I am ever lucky enough to hold or attend another celebration here I would feel truly blessed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HampshireBarbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had a perfect wedding weekend here with close family. Susan provided a professional service and nothing was too much trouble. She has established contacts with the best the area has to offer. Sabastians in Oswestry provided our wonderful wedding lunch. Bryn Tanat Hall was just the right setting- a relaxed characterful country house with beautiful grounds and wonderful bedrooms. We hope to be back to celebrate another occasion.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank JOA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Our weekend at Bryn Tanat Hall for my sisters 50th surpassed all expectations. The quality of the décor and furnishings and attention to detail is inspirational. There were twenty of us in our party with huge personalities and never did we feel on top of each other in fact it was easy to loose one another. The ambience and character of the hall meant it wasn’t long before you felt completely relaxed and meandering through the rooms really enjoyable. The gardens are breathtaking as is the scenery would love to have stayed longer than the weekend but we will be back. I can highly recommend Bryn Tanat Hall for any occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sendit2steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you felt so relaxed and at home at Bryn Tanat. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryn Tanat Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tanat Hall

Address: Bryn Tanat Hall Llansantffraid, Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain SY22 6BA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Tanat Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5* Visit Wales Gold Award 9 years running and a long established reputation as one of the best country houses providing luxury group accommodation in Mid Wales for 28 people. With 14 bedrooms, 2 of which are on the ground floor, Bryn Tanat Hall accommodates 28 people. Personally run by the family, the Hall dates back to the late 17th Century and is set in 14 acres of landscaped gardens, parkland and woodland, with a sense of history, a warm welcome and a relaxing atmosphere. Our accommodation is luxurious without formality. You will appreciate our attention to detail; log fires, baby grand piano and a well stocked library. Satellite TV, WIFI, Egyptian cotton bed linen, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries in all bedrooms, fluffy towels and bathrobes! Enjoy our games room with table tennis, pool table and air hockey; our tennis and 5 aside football court and 10 person hot tub in a Douglas Fir clad spa. New for 2017 - book an appointment in The Treatment Room, offering Aromatherapy Associates body and massage treatments, beauty essential treatments including CND Shellac manicure and pedicures. By arrangement you can fish the river Tanat from our grounds and enjoy falconry, archery, well being and pampering and much more! We offer comprehensive dining options from buffet to fine dining! The perfect country getaway for family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tanat Hall Hotel Llansantffraid-Ym-Mechain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing