We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend”
Review of Bryn Tanat Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Tanat Hall
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Every year we, as a large group of adults, rent a country house for the weekend. We have just spent a marvellous weekend at Bryn Tanat. The Hall is spotlessly clean, equipped to the highest standards and is in a wonderful location. Susan and Peter were on hand if required but allowed us uninterrupted use of the house to enjoy at our leisure.
We have been to many properties over the years and this is definitely one of the very best.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just returned from a long weekend to celebrate a number of significant family birthdays and anniversary, Bryn Tanat had something for everyone from Ben aged 9 to Grandma aged 85! The property is an enigma, cottage like from one side and grand country house from another, decorated absolutely stunningly- with beds that have left us searching for the make to buy one for ourselves they were so comfy! A personal favourite the victorian cast iron bath-pure luxury and a real treat.
Dont be put off by a list of dos and donts, all instructions are perfectly reasonable and understandable given the value and high standard of the property.Plenty of room for play both in side and out, snooker room great for the men! Thankyou to Sue and family for sharing their amazing home- our tip-if you are celebrating a family event or just want a relax with friends, Bryn Tanat is the place to go:)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Having just returned from holding a celebration weekend with family and friends at Bryn Tanat Hall I am still walking on air. There were 18 of us including children and from the moment we arrived Susan and her family made us all feel very special and couldn't do enough for us, right down to unpacking the groceries and baking scrumptious cakes.

The Hall itself is delightful. It is big enough to accommodate everyone, providing opportunities for communal living and private moments. It is grand enough to feel regal and homely enough to feel comfortable. No time or expense has been spared in the layout or design of the rooms and it is all beautifully maintained. The house is extensively equipped with all you could possibly need and all equipment is of a very high standard - none of those nasty featherweight knives and forks often provided in self catering establishments or bread knives that won't cut butter.

The grounds are breathtaking and provide opportunities for relaxation and activity. There are even goalposts for the children (or adults!) to work off the inevitable extra calories consumed during the stay..... Susan also arranged a falconry display, archery and target shooting on the lawns which was great fun.

We took advantage of the catering services for our main meals. The food was of the standard and presentation you would expect in a top class restaurant and the home made bread was to die for! The catering and service staff were wonderful, from serving drinks from the moment you appear to clearing away all the mess you leave afterwards. All done with genuine smiles too.

If I am ever lucky enough to hold or attend another celebration here I would feel truly blessed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HampshireBarbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had a perfect wedding weekend here with close family. Susan provided a professional service and nothing was too much trouble. She has established contacts with the best the area has to offer. Sabastians in Oswestry provided our wonderful wedding lunch. Bryn Tanat Hall was just the right setting- a relaxed characterful country house with beautiful grounds and wonderful bedrooms. We hope to be back to celebrate another occasion.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JOA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Our weekend at Bryn Tanat Hall for my sisters 50th surpassed all expectations. The quality of the décor and furnishings and attention to detail is inspirational. There were twenty of us in our party with huge personalities and never did we feel on top of each other in fact it was easy to loose one another. The ambience and character of the hall meant it wasn’t long before you felt completely relaxed and meandering through the rooms really enjoyable. The gardens are breathtaking as is the scenery would love to have stayed longer than the weekend but we will be back. I can highly recommend Bryn Tanat Hall for any occasion.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sendit2steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you felt so relaxed and at home at Bryn Tanat. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We are still smiling after our wonderful wedding at Bryn Tanat Hall 3 weeks ago.
From the day we met Susan, the owner, she strived to ensure that everything down to the smallest detail was organised promptly and to such high standards. I confess we didn't do much organising ourselves! Both days ran perfectly with Susan and her family supervising the arrival of furniture, arranging the champagne toast, chosing flowers and organising all the food - and that isn't even the half of it!
Bryn Tanat itself is sublime! Beautifully decorated down to the smallest touches and wonderful gardens that made for stunning photographs.
We spent the best week of our lives with our family around us in pure luxury, and we can't thank you enough Susan, for making it all possible - to heights we never even imagined. We're already planning the next visit!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolalucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are delighted that your wedding at Bryn Tanat was so special and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I have just come back from spending my 70th birthday at Bryn Tanat and it is difficult to praise it highly enough without starting to sound like the owners press agent.

We were a party of 20 ranging in age from 10 to 70 and one of the beauties of the Hall is its spaciousness which allows people to do their own thing if they want to, combined with large scale facilities for formal dining.

The sleeping accommodation is superb with luxurious beds together the very best of bathroom fittings.

For those who intend self catering - as we did - the kitchen is like a page out of Homes and Gardens with nothing being spared on the equipment, crockery, cutlery and glassware front.

Have a look at their Web-site to get a real flavour of Bryn Tanat.

The Shropshire and Welsh Tourist Boards can do a better job than me of describing but suffice to say that Bryn Tanat is can, within easy striking distance, cater for every taste from wild country through picture postcard villages to historic towns.

I cannot praise this place highly enough

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynTanatHall, Owner at Bryn Tanat Hall, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you for such a kind and generous review. We are so pleased to have helped make your birthday celebrations memorable.
While we don't currently have a press agent we will certainly bear you in mind should the post ever become available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryn Tanat Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tanat Hall

Property: Bryn Tanat Hall
Address: Bryn Tanat Hall Llansantffraid, Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain SY22 6BA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Tanat Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5* Visit Wales Gold Award 9 years running and a long established reputation as one of the best country houses providing luxury group accommodation in Mid Wales for 28 people. With 14 bedrooms, 2 of which are on the ground floor, Bryn Tanat Hall accommodates 28 people. Personally run by the family, the Hall dates back to the late 17th Century and is set in 14 acres of landscaped gardens, parkland and woodland, with a sense of history, a warm welcome and a relaxing atmosphere. Our accommodation is luxurious without formality. You will appreciate our attention to detail; log fires, baby grand piano and a well stocked library. Satellite TV, WIFI, Egyptian cotton bed linen, Aromatherapy Associates toiletries in all bedrooms, fluffy towels and bathrobes! Enjoy our games room with table tennis, pool table and air hockey; our tennis and 5 aside football court and 10 person hot tub in a Douglas Fir clad spa. New for 2017 - book an appointment in The Treatment Room, offering Aromatherapy Associates body and massage treatments, beauty essential treatments including CND Shellac manicure and pedicures. By arrangement you can fish the river Tanat from our grounds and enjoy falconry, archery, well being and pampering and much more! We offer comprehensive dining options from buffet to fine dining! The perfect country getaway for family and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tanat Hall Hotel Llansantffraid-Ym-Mechain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing