We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”
Review of Les Chaufourniers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chaufourniers
Ranked #1 of 1 Crouay B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent 4 days at Florence & Dominique's chambre d'hotes. What a great experience; their renovations of the farm house turned it into a comfortable place. The grounds are quiet & well kept, the bedrooms are spacious with modern comfortable bathroom facilities. This said, the best part of our stay was the 2 nights of dinner at their table d'hotes. Of the 4 of us, 2 did not speak French. Our hosts planned the seating so that there were English speakers at the same end of the table. The food was expertly prepared from fresh and local ingredients. The conversation was lively. They make you feel that you have been invited as friends to their home. Their recommendations for restaurants and sites to visit were well thought out. We can say enough about how wonderful a stay this was.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

After a 300 mile drive an overnight ferry to Caen and then a full days sightseeing to arrive at Les Chaufourniers was a delight. The room was wonderfully appointed and the location though close to Bayeux was in lovely countryside and grounds. We both had a great nights sleep in a large comfortable bed and in the morning a breakfast of home made or local produce.
2 nights stay went all too quickly

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and the property has been restored to a fantastic standard by the owners Dominique and Florence, such a beautiful house and grounds.

Accomodation was superb and the quality of fittings was first class.

We dined at the hotel on one evening and the food and service was excellent

Highly recommended and will definitely stay here again in the future

Room Tip: All rooms are finished to a superb standard, I don't think you can go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmwconvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were referred to Les Chaufourniers by a relative who is living in Paris. What a great recommendation! We were there for four nights touring the D-Day beaches and local towns. The property was lovely. The grounds were immaculate and the accommodations were tastefully decorated, immaculately clean and very, very homey and comfortable. We could not have asked for a better stay. We had chosen a Gite (guest house) with separate kitchen and living area as we like to spread out. It was perfect! Florence and Dominique offered dinner one evening for a very reasonable price. We took advantage of that opportunity and were so glad we did. The food was wonderful and the opportunity to interact with guests from other countries was especially nice. We highly recommend Les Chaufourniers. It is beautiful, a great price performer for what you get and a quick trip to Bayeux. Finally Florence and Dominique were wonderful hosts and very, very helpful.

Room Tip: Consider a Gite if you want all the amenities of home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parcher877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were lucky to get the family suite under the roof and it was simply outstanding. the design, the privacy for the parents, the colors-everything was great. The owners were adorable, when we asked for a crêperie the first evening they not only looked up, called up , no they even prereserved for us so when we came down everything was organized. The domain is very clean and the breakfast a real pleasure. Our children loved it and my son still believes there must be a cheeta or a lion somewhere...

Room Tip: Try to get the family suite it's just overwhelming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We realize now that we planned too little time in Normandy--it's gorgeous, and well worth a few extra days. A wonderful contrast from both the bustle of Paris and the beaches down south. At least part of our reluctance to leave was Les Chaurfourniers. The grounds are lovely. We had the Amarapura suite right at the top of the house, sharing it with our two teenagers, and we found it to be comfortable and very modern. The hosts were helpful, giving us names of places to eat and also helping us plan our too-short stay so we could see the sights most important to my husband in a logical (and efficient!) manner. The ample breakfast was made up of good breads from the local boulangerie and delicious homemade coffee cakes and jams, with interesting juices and plenty of coffee. We plan to go back to Normandy, and will certainly remember Les Chaufourniers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humofdelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

On our first trip to Normandy we were fortunate to pick Les Chaufourniers as our base while visiting this beautiful area. The rooms, the breakfasts, the helpful advice were all great. To cap it off we enjoyed a wonderful evening meal with the hosts and two couples from other parts of France. The meal was delightful as was the company. The three of us felt that our time here was enhanced by the experience at this B&B. We highly recommend Les Chaufourniers. Our visit was in early May 2012. (Texas, USA)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italy98LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Chaufourniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chaufourniers

Address: Lieu Dit la Calverie, 14400 Crouay, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Crouay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crouay
Price Range: $95 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence et Dominique welcome to their 19 th century farm house, which they have entirely renovated, in delightful calm surroundings, just 9 km from Bayeux and 12 km from the sea. You will be enchanted by the warm tones and comfort of the four guest rooms, with evocative names that reflect the owners’ passion for travel. The two large gites (holiday rental homes) have been developed from the original out-buildings and equipped with all modern conveniences.. After a day of sight-seeing you will have the opportunity to sample fine regional cooking at our “table d’hotes”, where all guests can dine together in a relaxed ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Chaufourniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing