We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killarney
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

First off, Killarney is beautiful during the fall, that includes both the Village of Killarney and nearby Killarney provincial park.
Killarney Mountain Lodge was a good place to stay after at 9 day back country camping trip.

We stayed in a cabin, which was joined with other cabins by a causeway, but no adjoining walls. The interior of the main room was well-appointed, well maintained and quite nice. The only thing lacking was the bathroom, which was functional, but outdated circa 1981.

The layout of the facility was fantastic and very well maintained. The food was between good and ultra good, but as mentioned before we had come off a backcountry trip of 9 days of dehydrated food, so our first real meal felt extraordinarily scrumptious. All in all the food was good.

The service here was great, staff were really friendly and went out of their way to accommodate you. Our only problem with service was the tipping policy, which basically stated the management would prefer we tip each server directly. I understand the logistical reasons behind this for the management, they don't have to be involved in divying up tips, but I don't agree with it... Primarily because the people who clean the rooms, do the laundry, sweep the floors and stock the shelfs are all service people as well and we don't come into contact with them. These non-customer facing persons support the customer facing staff and inturn make the customer facing staff look good and perform better, so I don't think it is quite equitable or fair to tip out individually, plus that means I have to carry around small bills and distribute accordingly throughout my stay. That said, each invoice has a section to tip a specific server, and one may put a tip on the bill at the end of their stay either for "all" or to be allocated specifically.

The price of this resort was pretty high, and only in the context of the trail we did prior to our stay did we consider the price "worth it". I also think, considering the nightly price, the tipping policy should be even more equitable.

All the negative aside, I have to say again, this resort was fantastic, the service was great and looking at the 2 or 3 other places to stay in Killarney Village, Killarney Mountain Lodge is hands down above and beyond the rest.

Hi highly recommend spending a couple nights here.

Note that there is no fitness centre, at least in a conventional sense, but there is an outdoor pool, sauna, ping pong table, pool table, canoes, kayaks and the great outdoors. I don't really thing there is room service as there are no phones in the rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely apart from the bathroom fixtures, and more than comfortable enough to spend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    72
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
53
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

For our second visit in the beautiflu Killarney parc we decided to stay in Killarney for the night instead of staying in a hotel in Sudbury, ~1h30 drive away.

We found this place online and it looked pricey but nice and decided to give it a try.

Pros:
- Very nice location
- Breakfast is great

Cons:
- Rooms are less than average, bathrooms are very low standard (badly painted, broken mirror, spider on the wall, ...).
- Never saw a place charging by guest instead of by room.
- When we arrived we told the receptionist that we were planning to eat in Killarney and not in the hotel's restaurant(we ate at sportmann's inn pub last year and it was great), he told us it was better as the hotel's restaurant was full since 2:00pm. But we soon discovered that everything was closed downtown. He could have told us first instead of having us worrying about finding a place to eat (as the closest not in killarney involved a 3hours round trip drive). We finally ae at the hotel's restaurant.

As a conclusion I would say that at half the price it would have been a great stay. But for the experience we had, it was way overpriced.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our first stay here. Won't be the last. 1) the grounds are well manicured and eclectic colours. Beautiful to wake to. 2) Canind are simple, comfortable and just what's needed. No tvs so we actually READ and spent time outside 3) Amenities are great. We could bring our dogs! The staff all treated them like our 'children'.4) Area is so amazing. Clear blue water, kayaks, wonderful trails, views, dogs didn't want to leave. 5) Food was mouth wateringly delicious! Great comfort food even for my vegetarian husband! Sarah our server made dinning special. Thoughtful, interested and kind.

All in all one of the best vacations ever and I've probably left a lot out. We will be back for sure!!

Karen and Brian Kirby

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveNature12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

While sailing in the North Channel, we stopped at the Lodge for provisioning, but decided to dock for the night. I was impressed with the friendly and helpful dock staff and the amenities provided: wifi, hot showers, sauna and pool, as well as wonderful food and entertainment in the bar. We thought the food was very good and the staff accommodating. It will be an annual stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanlee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been staying here each year for the last decade with a group that kayaks, hikes and then canoes in the area. We are satisfied with the rooms (while understanding that if you don't have a cabin the thin walls can be an issue depending upon your neighbour) and love the breakfast and Andy Lowe's singing in the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have been to Killarney Mountain Lodge every year for the past 8 and always enjoy going back. The staff are friendly and the food is fabulous. The accommodation is nice but rustic - what you would expect from a northern Ontario lodge. I look forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanmahaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This lodge is fairly old. As a result it carries some charm. However, do not go here if you want TV, wifi or modern amenities. If you want a filling tasty breakfast, great access to some of Canada's best paddling ( with free kayaks if you are a guest)' fabulous hiking and a taste of rustic charm this is the place for you. It is true some rooms have thin walls but most guests spend the day in outdoor activities so turn in early so this is not a problem. If you want to eat dinner at the lodge make sure you reserve for dinner as tables are pre-assigned. There is lots for kids to do: tennis, horseshoes, swimming, paddling, hiking, shuffle board, pingpong etc... Staff keep the lodge exceptionally clean despite its age.

Room Tip: If it is in the heat of summer ask for the Pine Lodge rooms are shaded and none of the rooms here ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killarney
19.9 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sportsman's Inn
Sportsman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
21.5 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Mountain Lodge

Property: Killarney Mountain Lodge
Address: 3 Commissioner St, Killarney, Ontario P0M 2A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Killarney Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to an era of grace and simplicity..... Killarney Mountain Lodge is a casual resort nestled on the north shore of Georgian Bay. Family owned and operated for over 50 years, the lodge is famous for friendly ambience, a distinctive cuisine and a unique outdoor adventure programme. This comfortable oasis features a charming dining room; nostalgic cocktail lounge with live entertainment during July and August; heated swimming pool, sauna and tennis court. The red granite shores of the Bay and white quartzite hills and sparkling lakes of Killarney Provincial Park beckon the explorer. There are Unlimited opportunities for daily expeditions by canoe, kayak, sail and trail in Ontario's most spectacular scenic wilderness. Killarney Provincial Park has always been considered the Crown Jewel of Ontario Parks. It abounds with wildlife large and small, from squirrels and chipmunks to deer, moose, elk and black bear. As a wilderness park, all forms of resource extraction, motorized equipment and hunting are prohibited. Visitors to the park are therefore assured of peace and tranquility. When exploring the intriguing channels and mysterious islands of Georgian Bay by kayak or aboard the lodge's excursion vessels, stunning vistas are at every hand. Sightings of waterfowl, deer, moose and bear are common. During a restful sojourn at the lodge guests can enjoy a quiet poolside read or a relaxing dip in the solar heated swimming pool. When action is the order of the day local wilderness trails start right at the lodge doorstep. They offer easy access to the outback in just a few short steps. Birdwatchers will find a wide variety of birds on both the lodge property itself and along these nearby trails. A few years ago a highly respected, elderly birder sighted 76 varieties during the course of a spring weekend. Killarney has always been a focal point for anglers. The lodge motto is "big waters mean big fish". We have all the equipment and facilities for a successful fishing trip including guides, boats both large and small and rental tackle. Giant northern pike and muskellunge are favourites for anyone seeking these voracious predators. Northern Georgian Bay's least known rod and reel resource is the unbelievable abundance of small and largemouth bass. These fighting fish lurk in the deep, near-shore pools. Commonly they run to four and five pounds. In recent years down rigging for salmon and trout has become a major activity in the Killarney area and Killarney Mountain Lodge has vessels dedicated to this deepwater style of fishing. Just 4.5 Hours from Toronto via Highways 400, 69 and 637, the lodge is easily accessible. If you take this route to Killarney, a circle tour is available to return to southern Ontario via Manitoulin Island, across the Fitzwilliam Channel to Georgian Bay aboard the Chi-Cheemaun ferry, Tobermory and on to the Bruce Peninsula. This provides a rare opportunity to enjoy some of Ontario's less visited backcountry as well as an exciting trip across the wide expanse of Lake Huron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Killarney Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Mountain Hotel Killarney
Killarney Mountain Lodge Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing