We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! And staff super friendly! ”
Review of Casa Vela Wine Bar

Casa Vela Wine Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 9/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Scilla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar, Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

While on our family holiday in Italy we have visited many restaurants. Casa Vela Wine Bar is definitely one we will remember. In the old fisherman town with people passing by and a few meters away from the water we shared a delicious “sharing for two” of cold meats and cheese which was delicious. We also had the potatoes with melted cheese and bacon - also delicious. The house white wine was also great. Staff spoke good English which is not easy to come by in Italy :-) would definitely recommend going here!!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank AlexMolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 377 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

Really lovely restaurant, everything in the menu sounds delicious and our menu choices didn’t disappoint, accompanied by wine we wouldn’t normally chosen and based on the owners recommendation. Overall a great night, great food and perfect wine.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 391nicolew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019 via mobile

We ate here twice during our 3 days in Chianalea di Scilla. The offerings are simple and delicious. We ordered the Salmon Lasagna with a mixed fresh salad of melon, apples tomato maize and greens. The cheese sampler with 2 types of interesting jams and bergamot flavored honey, a local favorite. Francesco, Francesca and staff do a wonderful job and the wine list represents the best of Reggio Calabria including an award winning Greco white.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank randyc402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

We had, unfortunately, some mediocre meals in Scilla. But we ended every evening on an up-note by having a glass of wine and desert at this charming wine bar. If weather permits, sit outside and enjoy the old town.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They recommended an excellent prosecco that we enjoyed on our hotel balcony.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roberto-respighi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

Hi , Grazia , we had lunch here today . It was sublime. I had salmon lasagna which was divine . The lady was so friendly, kind and welcoming.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank joaniemi876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Vela Wine Bar also viewed

Reggio Calabria, Province of Reggio Calabria
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
 

Been to Casa Vela Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing