We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic retreat in charming Scilla”
Review of Casa Vela B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Vela B&B
Ranked #1 of 23 Scilla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic retreat in charming Scilla”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were well looked after by the hosts Francesco and Francesca at Casa Vela. We had the room at the top, Luna, where we had a great view. Nice "happy hour". We can really recommend Scilla and Casa Vela.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uffe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    31
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
76
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent three nights at Casa Vela, and we can really recommend it to everybody. Francesco and Francesca's welcome is so warm and familiar, that you feel immediately at home. Rooms are clean, with air co, wifi, and anything you might need for a comfortable stay. Prices are extremely reasonable (we paid 50eu for two people, including breakfast!), and the location is just perfect! Chianalea is a lovely village, you see the sea from everywhere, stunning views and colours of the sky, and almost no cars. We were there in June and it's a wonderful time, as the village is alive but not overcrowded. All the restaurants we tried were very good too. You are very close to Scilla's main beach (Marina Grande, 10 mins walk), but if you stay at Casa Vela, you can also enjoy the charm of a small, authentic and extremely romantic village of fishermen.

Room Tip: Best room is the one looking at the sea, at the last floor, but it could be a bit too big for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raffabrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Excellent location and views, peacefull place and bice pool. Wifi was very expensive, imo should belong to rental price as normally it is fixed price for owner. Apartment was very clean but blumbers were full of hairs and water was not going smoothly out without cleaning, thats why 4 stars. Anyway hihgly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjaaskel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed in the 'Luna' house with two other people and I must say that it was excellent value for money (approx 25 EU a night each)!

The room is very clean, with air con, wifi and the largest bathroom we have had on our stay so far!

Sure, there is a set of stairs to get to the room, but in a place like Scilla which is very hilly, it should be expected. The room has the most spectacular view over Scilla (including the famous castle) and the sea which makes the trek up the stairs completely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lannyku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scilla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Scilla
Hotel Scilla
#3 of 6 in Scilla
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel U Bais
Hotel U Bais
#5 of 6 in Scilla
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Locandiera
La Locandiera
#4 of 23 in Scilla
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chianalea 54
Chianalea 54
#6 of 23 in Scilla
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Marina Grande
B&B Marina Grande
#9 of 23 in Scilla
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Bastia
La Bastia
#13 of 23 in Scilla
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vela B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vela B&B

Property: Casa Vela B&B
Address: Via Annunziata 18 | Chianalea, 89058 Scilla, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Scilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Scilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Vela B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing