We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Check”
Review of La Locandiera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Locandiera
Ranked #8 of 24 Scilla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We wanted to stay in the city of Scilla. We made an advance reservation with the owners and physically reviewed the rooms. We booked two rooms. We liked the overall charm of the facility and the owners seemed reasonable.

Upon check in several days later the situation turned into a "Nightmare Looking for a Bedroom" experience. During check-in; a "mistake" was made and the beautiful room that was promised (& booked) suddenly turned into a much smaller room with a broken air conditioner (not good in August). Someone else occupied our original room. The "manager" apologized as she smiled. We were told to wait until they could throw out the previous guests and clean the room. While we waited we thought we could pass the time by logging onto their internet which turned out to be a sim card stuck into a router, with the speed of 5KBps (think of a snail) and only allows a maximum of 10 users out of approx 35+ guests. The "manager" vanished like houdini without an offer of a glass of water, coffee, a stiff drink, or even to lock our bags while we explored the city.

While I was waiting around for the room to be cleaned, and noticed their unsecured internet line, I counted 3 bullet holes in the restaurant window. I'm not sure what that means, but I thought it was an odd place for bullet holes?

We decided to leave because we feared that the check-in process was only going to attract more nightmares into our bedroom at this B&B and we hadn't even fallen asleep yet. We called the owner to let them know why we left, but they could only point a big blame finger at the desk manager. A real shame because the B&B is extremely charming and nicely located.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time to establish that everything in your promised room is in good working order and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Parabola101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 185 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

My family and I spent only one day in La Locandiera at Scilla, but the short stay was very nice.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank pieropu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Beautiful hotel,views to the sea are spectacular.Driving and Parking in Scilla are very difficult,the plaza where we had been told to park when we arrived was crammed with cars.but later we were able to park in the plaza,holding our breaths through our stay that our car wouldnt get wrecked while parked there.The room was clean and well equipped.The staff member on duty was helpful once located via phone.

Room Tip: Plan to drag your suitcases quite a distance on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingERnurses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The management was unaware that we were coming (booking through venere.com), ended up in a room where the air conditioning wasn't working (not nice in Southern Italy in July), and internet worked sporadically. At check-out they first refused credit cards; after we insisted, the guy at the desk (the janitor?) made a couple of calls, and 15 minutes later the owner appeared.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wili_hybrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

More of a boutique hotel than a B&B. Rooms range in size from huge to tiny: most have a balcony with personal clothes lines, including pegs, and a view. Fully appointed bathroom with fluffy robes and very clean. Generous continental breakfast (good coffee!). Location is very atmospheric but is halfway down a steep hill, towards the port and waterfront. There is no vehicle access for non-residents, but the owner did drive us down with our bags, and the hotel staff assisted with taking the bags back up. Parking for visitor vehicles is available only at the piazza at the top. Numerous restaurants nearby, all specialising in fresh seafood.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebankianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Our room was romantic, tasteful, spic and span overlooking the blue bay of Scilla... With a view of the ancient Norman castle. Scilla should be mobbed, and isn't! The manager was very friendly, came to pick us up in his own car after we had parked a little higher up. Scilla has a romantic fishing village and a beautiful beach too.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilawheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FromRoma72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scilla hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scilla
Hotel Scilla
#3 of 6 in Scilla
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B La Veduta
B&B La Veduta
#1 of 6 in Scilla
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel U Bais
Hotel U Bais
#5 of 6 in Scilla
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Sunshine
B&B Sunshine
#2 of 24 in Scilla
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vela B&B
Casa Vela B&B
#1 of 24 in Scilla
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chianalea 54
Chianalea 54
#4 of 24 in Scilla
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locandiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locandiera

Address: Via Zagari n. 27 | Via Prof. Zagari N. 27, 89058 Scilla, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Scilla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Scilla
Price Range: $69 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locandiera 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed & breakfast La Locandiera is located in the enchanting village of Chianalea, district of Scilla, renowned seaside resort located on the Straits of Messina. The Locandiera offers sea facing rooms equipped with all services for maximum comfort and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your La Locandiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing