We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Piccole Grotte
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Scilla(Scilla)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel U Bais(Scilla)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Altafiumara Resort & SPA(Villa San Giovanni)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gran Boccaccio(Villa San Giovanni)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capo Peloro Resort(Torre Faro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Il Gabbiano(Bagnara Calabra)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Conca Hotel(Villa San Giovanni)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
21
21
8
7
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
21
8
7
20
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 77 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

As with most of Italy, you need to be in pretty good shape to get to Le Piccole Grotte. Aldo, the proprietor, is quite busy and will transport your bags with golf cart if you can find him. But, the property is wonderful, the view from our room was outstanding. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed every moment. The breakfast was good, the atmosphere great! Would definitely recommend staying here and enjoying the wonderful town of Scilla. We used it as a home base to do family research in the Pellaro, about 30 minutes south.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monica0586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My mother and I stayed here when we visited Scilla for the first time in July, on our way back from Sicily. It was more than we could have hoped for. I have never stayed at a place so close to the sea- we liked to listen to the water hitting the shore while we were dozing off to sleep. As another reviewer mentioned, the design of the room and bathroom aren't anything fancy but everything was very clean and the location can't be beat and the people who run this B&B (from the owner to the sweet helpers who make the delicious breakfast cakes at the sister B&B where they serve the breakfast) are all very helpful and kind. We would use the wireless internet at the sister hotel during breakfast and the employees were very kind and helpful in making sure we could get a connection after we were unsuccessful our first few tries. They were very helpful the day we left when we had to go back to the train station. We didn't want to lug our suitcases to the station down the cobblestone roads in the Chianalea district where the hotel is, so they kindly arranged us a golf cart from another hotel to carry us and our belongings directly to the train station in a speedy fashion. I would love to return to both Scilla and this B&B in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monzie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We arrived in Scilla having booked accomodation, but when we arrived and saw it it wasn't that great so we passed by Le Piccole Grotte and luckily they had space for us. The room and bathroom weren't super modern but perfectly adequate and clean. We chose to pay a little bit more (though we managed to barter the price down a bit for staying 4 nights) for the room on the top floor which had a small kitchenette and a balcony right over the water with a table (as seen in the b+b's photo), but the extra we paid for the room we saved by cooking dinner in one evening and eating on the balcony - idyllic. For breakfast you have to go up to their other b+b but its not too far, less than 1 minute walk. Breakfast was ok, not outstanding, mainly a selection of cakes and some bread, could have done with some fresh fruit! Great location in the old town of Chianalea - a selection of gorgeous fresh seafood restaurants within a 1 minute walk. Overall a really great b+b and I would highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor room with the balcony - totally worth the extra few euros
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I travelled to Scilla with a group of swimmers in October 2010, a number booked hotels in advance, but I thought that Scilla was likely to have space at that time of year and decided to see what was available when I arrived. The rooms in Le Piccole Grotte were simple, but clean and very quiet. The terrace had a good view over the bay and it was very peaceful. I slept like a log. The reception is very often unmanned, but there was a mobile telephone number to ring the owner and get the key. Best to speak to the owner if you need anything: some of the staff don't speak English very well, but he will call them and give them instrucitons.

I was particularly pleased because I left quite a valuable pen in the room, which the hotel forwarded on to me in England at no additional cost.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hany_istok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We had a reservation at Le Piccole Grotte through Booking.com. When we arrived, we parked our car at the top of the steep, cliff side town and walked down stairs looking for the hotel. When we finally found it, no-one was there. The door was locked and the hotel was dark. We came back later with the same result. We asked a person at a nearby hotel to call the hotel for us. She said that we were to go to a different hotel and look at rooms there. As it turned out, we did stay at La Locandiera, which was lovely, but we wasted an entire day trying to sort the problem out.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ksb_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews