We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”
Review of Le Piccole Grotte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Piccole Grotte
Ranked #19 of 22 Scilla B&B and Inns
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My mother and I stayed here when we visited Scilla for the first time in July, on our way back from Sicily. It was more than we could have hoped for. I have never stayed at a place so close to the sea- we liked to listen to the water hitting the shore while we were dozing off to sleep. As another reviewer mentioned, the design of the room and bathroom aren't anything fancy but everything was very clean and the location can't be beat and the people who run this B&B (from the owner to the sweet helpers who make the delicious breakfast cakes at the sister B&B where they serve the breakfast) are all very helpful and kind. We would use the wireless internet at the sister hotel during breakfast and the employees were very kind and helpful in making sure we could get a connection after we were unsuccessful our first few tries. They were very helpful the day we left when we had to go back to the train station. We didn't want to lug our suitcases to the station down the cobblestone roads in the Chianalea district where the hotel is, so they kindly arranged us a golf cart from another hotel to carry us and our belongings directly to the train station in a speedy fashion. I would love to return to both Scilla and this B&B in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monzie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    6
    7
    19
See reviews for
7
43
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We arrived in Scilla having booked accomodation, but when we arrived and saw it it wasn't that great so we passed by Le Piccole Grotte and luckily they had space for us. The room and bathroom weren't super modern but perfectly adequate and clean. We chose to pay a little bit more (though we managed to barter the price down a bit for staying 4 nights) for the room on the top floor which had a small kitchenette and a balcony right over the water with a table (as seen in the b+b's photo), but the extra we paid for the room we saved by cooking dinner in one evening and eating on the balcony - idyllic. For breakfast you have to go up to their other b+b but its not too far, less than 1 minute walk. Breakfast was ok, not outstanding, mainly a selection of cakes and some bread, could have done with some fresh fruit! Great location in the old town of Chianalea - a selection of gorgeous fresh seafood restaurants within a 1 minute walk. Overall a really great b+b and I would highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor room with the balcony - totally worth the extra few euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I travelled to Scilla with a group of swimmers in October 2010, a number booked hotels in advance, but I thought that Scilla was likely to have space at that time of year and decided to see what was available when I arrived. The rooms in Le Piccole Grotte were simple, but clean and very quiet. The terrace had a good view over the bay and it was very peaceful. I slept like a log. The reception is very often unmanned, but there was a mobile telephone number to ring the owner and get the key. Best to speak to the owner if you need anything: some of the staff don't speak English very well, but he will call them and give them instrucitons.

I was particularly pleased because I left quite a valuable pen in the room, which the hotel forwarded on to me in England at no additional cost.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hany_istok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We had a reservation at Le Piccole Grotte through Booking.com. When we arrived, we parked our car at the top of the steep, cliff side town and walked down stairs looking for the hotel. When we finally found it, no-one was there. The door was locked and the hotel was dark. We came back later with the same result. We asked a person at a nearby hotel to call the hotel for us. She said that we were to go to a different hotel and look at rooms there. As it turned out, we did stay at La Locandiera, which was lovely, but we wasted an entire day trying to sort the problem out.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ksb_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scilla hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scilla hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scilla
Hotel Scilla
#2 of 6 in Scilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B La Veduta
B&B La Veduta
#1 of 6 in Scilla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Il Principe di Scilla
Il Principe di Scilla
#3 of 6 in Scilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel U Bais
Hotel U Bais
#5 of 6 in Scilla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Locandiera
La Locandiera
#4 of 22 in Scilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Vela B&B
Casa Vela B&B
#1 of 22 in Scilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Piccole Grotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Piccole Grotte

Property: Le Piccole Grotte
Address: Via la Grotta 10, 89058 Scilla, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Scilla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Scilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Piccole Grotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing