We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meow ”
Review of La Grotta Azzurra

La Grotta Azzurra
Ranked #35 of 63 Restaurants in Scilla
Price range: $34 - $61
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Tuna was awesome, seadfood wasn’t that bad. Pasta was a bit salty.. Nice sightseeing and beer peroni is wonderful

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 606zuzkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 257 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

U bias is number one!!! Seafood was fresh and my plate of pasta was very tasty and fresh...compliments to the chef...I have been here for 3 days and finally found an excellent place to eat...worth every bite...try their u bias wine...dry and truly a delicate taste...the owner has a history in this quaint town and is a remarcable host who greets everyone that walks in...enjoy

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Nada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

Heard great things about this place, and finally went in. So glad I did. Try it out if you're a seafood lover.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BIG_VINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

Seafood restaurant right across the street from the beach. Large menu, I had a seafood sampler which was very good.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LosAngelesBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

We had our 2nd dinner at this recommended restaurant. As Americans we arrived for dinner at 6:30; a bit too early for European standards. The staff was hanging a new painting in he restaurant but welcomed us to sit anywhere & someone would be right with us. While the staff has very limited English, they have an English menu & the owner Rocco Giardano speaks English decent enough.

We started with the Souther Italy customary antipasto of mixed fish- an assortment of fishes prepared in a variety of ways. It was good. I had the trofie (homemade pasta) with astice (1/2 lobster) & simple pomodoro (tomatoe). 1st of all, as with everywhere I've eaten in Italy, the pasta was cooked perfectly al dente. The lobster was soooo sweet & the tomatoes & seasoning on the pasta were pure & natural & tasty perfection. This dish was 20€. Coming from NYC, I did not find it expensive for the quality. The black truffle ravioli was also to die for, but then again everything with black truffle that I've had in Italy was amazing. 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, 1 dessert, a bottle of pelegrino & a bottle of prosecco was 60€ .

As I've stated in previous reviews, service is slow & you must ask for the check when you're ready to leave. They do not rush you out of restaurants anywhere inItaly

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Passport2bucketlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta Azzurra also viewed

Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
 

Been to La Grotta Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing