We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gelato heaven.”
Review of The Gelato Caffe

The Gelato Caffe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Hawera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Enjoy award winning Gelato made daily on site! We offer fresh baked bread,German specialities like meatloaf or the faamous Bratwurst (sausage), Belgium waffles and pancakes and of course Italian coffee. In winter we have two home made soups on the menu and our ice cream sundaes are not to be missed.And best of all, everything at The Gelato Caffe is very competitivly prizes and served with a smile. Annett and Holger Zabel, owner and operator, would like to welcome you and make your visit an enjoyable one.
Pokeno
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gelato heaven.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was an unexpected find on a corner of Hawera's main street. Although it was not really the weather for cool treats the range of flavours was so enticing we visited the shop several times. Just as well for the waistline we do not live closer! Do check it out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank omahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks a lot for that fantastic comment! As we're having plans to expand it seems we're on the right track...:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Have been here several times -great coffee and very friendly staff. A good selection of food - well worth visiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DEEBEE809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks a lot for the lovely comments, welcome back anytime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent Pit stop”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is worth the stop through. Excellent coffee, gelato, and German style waffles. My wife had the bagel which was awesomely toasted as well. Came here on a grabone and will be back outside of one. Good value as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Awesome feedback! I'm glad you had a good time at your stop here in Hawera,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Master”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great service, Great coffee. This is a great place to sit and have coffee, eat and chat with the owners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Toni, what a great review! Always welcome and so good to have you as a friend of our cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will go there again”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Best latte coffee in Hawera very particular about service The food is very European and I will definitely go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger Z, Owner at The Gelato Caffe, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review, Welcome anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gelato Caffe also viewed

Hawera, Taranaki Region
Hawera, Taranaki Region
 
Hawera, Taranaki Region
Hawera, Taranaki Region
 

Been to The Gelato Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing