We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”

waiau country estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Onaero
Price range: $21 - $26
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Waiau Country Estate where we aim to provide an outstanding culinary experience which is unique in every way in our restaurant and our functions venue. On the coast at Onaero just 20 minutes north of New Plymouth our restaurant and venue has warm indoor seating or sit outdoors on the terrace in the stunning garden setting.Catering from our restaurant for intimate dining or large groups, this is the ideal setting for weddings, celebrations, meetings, executive entertaining, breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a snack.Guests can enjoy the interesting menu, made wherever possible from fresh, local ingredients, then take a stroll around the park-like grounds or just down the road to the beach. As from June 2014 Waiau has a new owner, Leanne Fox.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently got a grab one voucher that was advertised for Waiau and we were so impressed, the meal was just fantastic, wine selection was also great.
We haven't eaten here for ages and the menu looks so delicious i can't wait to go back.
Location fantastic, restaurant fantastic and chefs i have to say it fantastic!

Thank MSnow33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira I, Owner at waiau country estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your glowing report of your recent visit to Waiau, we''re delighted you enjoyed the experience. Our chefs are very proud of the food they prepare and it's great for them to receive good feedback. We look forward to seeing here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 35 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

After a year or so we decided to have lunch at Waiau Estate again. it was absolutely beautiful. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The food was amazing. The overall cost was very reasonable.
The only reason my rating is not 'excellent' is, that the weather didn't play its part. We had to stay inside. Last time we were there we sat outside near the big open fire with live music. It can't get any better than that!.
So, well done Waiau Estate staff!!
We'll be back... not a threat but a promise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob_ae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira I, Owner at waiau country estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for returning to Waiau and giving us such glowing feedback. I'm sorry the weather didn't play its part, unfortunately we don't have control over that! We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully next time you can enjoy a meal alfresco on our lovely terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Loved it, been there twice now and the food is delicious, service isnt bad (depends who you get i suppose), and their prices are average, so it was a good experience overall. Would like to go back there at some point.

Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira I, Owner at waiau country estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words, I'm delighted you enjoyed your experience at Waiau Country Estate. Our old chef Jamie has returned and with her experience and expertise have all sorts of foodie events lined up for the cooler months. We keep these updated on our Facebook page and website. We look forward to welcoming you back to Waiau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

On our way north from New Plymouth recently, we were looking for somewhere to have lunch and came across this winery and restaurant. We had a lovely lunch – the food was divine, service was excellent and the wine we had with our lunch was superb. It was a fabulous Taranaki day and we dined al fresco, basking in the lovely sunshine. You can dine here in the ‘rustic restaurant’, the ‘Woolshed Café’ or on the alfresco terrace where there is also a large barbecue. Great indoor/outdoor dining options set in a lush sheltered lawns and gardens you can wander around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Menu selection wasn't great, end up having the same thing every time i go there, per haps if there was a bit more to choose from and the menu was revamped occasionally it would be nicer

Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed waiau country estate also viewed

Urenui, Taranaki Region
Waitara, Taranaki Region
 

Been to waiau country estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing