We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little Gem”
Review of Mud Bay Cafe

Mud Bay Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Urenui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mud Bay is a licensed café famous for great breakfasts, superb coffee, gourmet pizzas and al e carte dining, all at affordable prices. Enjoy our atmosphere with high pitched ceiling, wooden beams and internal timber linings which exudes a warm and welcoming ambience along with stone fireplace, impressive American oak timber door and outdoor dining on our sunny decks. Our hours are: Monday – Thursday 8.30am – 3.00pm Friday – Saturday 8.30am – 11.00pm Sunday 8.30am – 10.00pm
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little Gem”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Love the atmosphere of this place not an extensive menu but food was good maybe not great, staff very friendly which added to the experience, definitely worth a visit for sure

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shamma762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent coffee”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Moccachino was delicious as was the gf caramel slice. Will become our regular coffee stop from now on when heading north.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great coffee”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in Urenui for 4 nights this Christmas, so we had quite a few meals and coffees at the Mud Bay Cafe. Highlights were the well seasoned potatoe cakes (in a number of breakfast dishes), perfect hollandaise, the porkbelly (pig burger) and the hand cut chips. Coffee was consistently good, the service was friendly and efficient. Our only regret was not making it to dinner, though we did get to try the tasty avocado creme brulee dessert. Yum.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Featherstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor service, wrong order, late delivery, nasty pizza”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here at 1pm on a Sunday afternoon. Place was just over half full & we had a few tables to choose from. Our friends arrive 10 mins later. Waitress took order at 1:30. Ten mins later waitress returned too tell us food would be about 20 mins. Another waitress arrived at 2:30 to tell us that they needed extra time if we wanted to stick with our original order and suggested substitutes. Food eventually arrived. Pizza had a soggy base and looked like it had been made by a 10 year old. Chicken in the burger had been marinated in green pesto stuff, looked like zombie flesh and and tasted how you imagine it would. Ate it anyway because at 2:30 something in the afternoon I was pretty hungry. Ordered zero coke and got normal coke.
No apology. Paid full price. Amazed they are in business.

Helpful?
3 Thank NZBeerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We came across this cafe by accident and are so pleased we did. The service was 10 out of 10 and so was the food. We had the chook burger and the Caesar salad. Both were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. Definitely a highlight of our day trip up the coast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suze65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mud Bay Cafe also viewed

Onaero, Taranaki Region

Been to Mud Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing