We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot near Cordoba”
Review of Al - Mudawar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al - Mudawar
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely spot near Cordoba”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Very pleasant and friendly hotel. The room was more than adequate. Breakfast near a beautiful patio. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in Al-mudawar just for the week-end in November. Almodóvar is a typical Andalusian village so if you don't know the region this town may be a nice stop between Córdoba and Sevilla.

The place looks exactly like the pictures, we didn't have any problem with the reservation and people we kind - not extrakind, but kind enough.

The room was ok, clean and cute, so was the bathroom, though you hear all noises from the yard which is quite annoying and makes you feel there is no real intimacy there.
Breakfast is ok too, no frills either. As I stated in many other reviews, I love Andalusian toasts (bread, olive oil and tomato) and it is one of the things I love about going to Córdoba, breakfast! Unfortunately, there was no tomato there and the olive oil was not great. There were cereals, butter and jam if you like this kind of stuff.

All in all, we didn't hate this place, but we were glad to leave. It was simply average.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Before booking I'd read review's on several sites including the one where the door was locked with a sign to contact the owner who didn't arrive. Despite this the hotel / town looked great so we booked.



After a long and tricky journey, struggling to find street names, struggling to negotiate the streets which are very steep / so narrow it's hard to turn the car we arrived at the hotel.



My heart sank slightly when we found the door locked and a sign to phone the owner. I shouldn't have worried, the lovely lady owner arrived in around 30 seconds, she spoke great English and was very welcoming.



We were shown around a simple but traditional building, pleasantly decorated and immaculately clean. Our room was the same, simple, clean, great air con, tv, basic toiletries. The only thing the room didn't have was a hair dryer although I'm sure if I'd asked the lady would have provided one as she was so accommodating.



There were no tea / coffee facilities in the room but a lounge where the lady provides these until midnight (free of charge), there's a fridge with juice / beers at 1euro and a wine fridge although I didn’t notice the prices.



After our journey a cool beer on the terrace overlooking great views was very welcome prior to a trip into the local town which has a few good bars and restaurants (lovely locals and a few tourists in town).



We slept well, occasionally we heard other people closing doors etc but you could also hear people trying to be quiet / respectful (it’s not a noisy client group type hotel).



Breakfast was included in the hotel price, again basic and simple but perfectly acceptable (cereals, toast, jam, pate etc).



When I say everything was basic and simple I'm comparing it to the 5 star chain hotels we had stayed in Barcelona and Madrid - I know which is our favourite and which we'll be going back to it's definitely this one, the whole experience (including the getting lost and tiny streets) was exactly what I had in mind as traditionally Spanish.



The only suggestion I have is get a small but powerful car - I’m thinking mini / fiat panda type size, or consider a train.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed here with a friend for a week as a wakeboarding package deal at xtreme-gene.com.

The place is nice and clean and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaywestdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Made a reservation three days prior to our stay. They took credit card number and confirmed our stay. When we showed up 2pm the day of our stay, the hotel was locked up and there was a note on the front door telling us to call one of the three phone numbers listed. Two numbers did not work; the last one had a recorded message. Left our info.

Checked back an hour later; still locked up, so we found other accommodations for the evening. Left a second message about our frustrations and cancelling our stay. Our credit card was billed anyway.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karlos5366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

A friend and I stayed here, each in a double room for a week in July. The B&B opened in 2007 and is in excellent condition. It's been decorated in a Moroccan style with some really nice decorations and features, and has a really relaxed atmosphere.
The room was clean and nicely furnished, and serviced better than a lot of the 5* hotels I stay in through work.
The landlady is absolutely lovely and very helpful.
Breakfast was continental and fairly simple, but sufficient.
The B&B is located in the centre of Almodovar del Rio, within a few minutes walk of several bars and restaurants, banks and shops. We had a hire car which we parked just outside - parking is limited on the tiny winding roads but we never had a problem parking our car.
For the cost of our stay we had excellent value for money and I'd definitely go back.

  • Liked — The Moroccan theme gave it a great feel instead of just being an anonymous hotel
  • Disliked — Would have liked a cooked breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almodovar del Rio
13.9 mi away
Ayre Hotel Cordoba
Ayre Hotel Cordoba
#25 of 65 in Cordoba
896 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Maria
Hotel Maria
#1 of 1 in Posadas
35 reviews
13.9 mi away
NH Cordoba
NH Cordoba
#13 of 65 in Cordoba
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Eurostars Palace
Eurostars Palace
#9 of 65 in Cordoba
2,350 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hotel Abetos del Maestre Escuela
13.8 mi away
Las Casas de La Juderia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al - Mudawar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al - Mudawar

Property: Al - Mudawar
Address: Calle Barca 18, 14720 Almodovar del Rio, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Almodovar del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Almodovar del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al - Mudawar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al-mudawar is an antique house located on the centre of Almodovar del Rio, only 20 Km away from Cordoba, in which all the charm and construction of yesterday come together, along with all the comfort and commodities of current housing.Besides its centennial walls and an exquisite decoration, you'll be fascinated by its interior patio with jasmine aroma and the sound of relaxing water by candlelight.Certified with the distinctive Top Rural Housing Recommendation.Welcome to the ideal place to leave behind the rush and enjoy an oasis of tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Al - Mudawar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing