We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but Expensive”
Review of Pilatus Bahnen AG

Pilatus Bahnen AG
Book In Advance
More Info
$442.06*
and up
Mount Pilatus Tour from Lucerne with Private Guide
More Info
$726.23*
and up
Mount Pilatus Photography Day Tour
More Info
$88.31*
and up
Silver Package Round-Trip to Mount Pilatus from Lucerne
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Kriens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great but Expensive”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great experience at 45% incline, it is unforgettable experience. either up or down to Pilatus. the Price ? 244 Euro for family of 4!

But, if you can buy the swiss pass do so! it will save you the money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    26
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great ride up but I did not get to sit with my wife :(”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was forced to sit separately from my wife, otherwise 5/5.

When we arrived the station worker asked for us to get into a car that was able to leave. We simply boarded and found out that the compartment, capacity eight, were occupied by three couples, knowing each other. However, they sat in such a way that the two remaining seats were not opposite or next to each other. I pleaded with them (they sounded Scottish, sorry) to let me swap seats but to no avail. Now the worker asked us to hurry up as the train had to leave, and we reluctantly sat down. :(

The ride was fine and there were lots to see but my wife was certainly not enjoying the time as much as it could have been.

Perhaps the staff could look into this next time and not force anyone to sit separately; there was another train leaving right behind us and that made me feel angry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cable car, cogwheel rail, boat trip combo!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Titilis is the tallest peak in Switzerland and certainly boasts some breath-taking scenery, but the combo for this trip gives it a good run for its money. Before heading up to the top, be sure to check the webcam on Pilatus' website. It can give you a live view so you can check the fog levels at the top to decide if the trip is worth your while that day. A cable car for 4 takes you up two stops, then a larger car takes you to the top for some great views. Then take the steepest cable car in the world down the peak. There's a great little cafe here for a quick snack. Then head to the dock to catch your boat to finish the day in Luzern! It makes for a gorgeous day.Be sure to remain aware of the last train and boat times. Try to avoid the very last one. It becomes very crowded and you may have to forfeit the rest of your journey if its full.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dopeycrazy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Smashing scenic railway ride, can get off and walk between various stations, many do. You can save money on the return by paragliding back down!

Helpful?
Thank parabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must for rail-fans !”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The worlds steepest cog-wheel railway ! I begis pretty steep , you can see that the vagons are made for a steep journey, but its getting even steeper after just a few minutes travel ! It steepst part is 48 % ! It is uimaginablly steep , and the veiw is stunning , all the way up !! We were lucky to get a concert by Alp-horns at the summit . After a ok meal in the café,( I think the restaurant vould give better food ), we took the cableway down a bit and then at the end , a gondola down to Kriens , whwere we took the bus back to Lucern.A magical day !! The coq-wheel part is closed during the winther .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilatus Bahnen AG also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Pilatus Bahnen AG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing