We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont waste your money - even if you are on a budget”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis Luzern Kriens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Luzern Kriens
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kriens
GreenLeadersBronze level
SOUTH AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dont waste your money - even if you are on a budget”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Don't stay here - spend the money and stay in the main town of Luzern. We checked in and checked right back out again and paid much more money to go elsewhere.
Although the room was clean, I will give it that (after we finally were given a room that was clean - we were checked into rooms that hadn't even been cleaned yet), it was dark and drab. NO AIRCONDITIONING, not even a fan, which I hadn't realised wasn't listed on the website. It wasn't even that warm in town when we were there but the sun was in the side of the building where the rooms were and it was like a sauna in there.
It is also deceiving the location of this hotel - literally in an industrial area next to a sex store and dirty looking pub. I didn't feel safe and there was nothing in walking distance at all.

Don't even waste your time. Pay more and see the beautiful town of Luzern....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEO029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiskriens, Manager at ibis Luzern Kriens, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Leo 029,

thank you for your comment through Tripadvisor. The environment is very safe here. Since the hotel exist nothing is happend. We are know that we are in an industrial area. We know that we don't have an aircondition but we are looking for a solution of this problem. At the moment the only option what we have is to close the stores and windows that it is a little bit colder in the rooms.The rooms are renovated last november. This are the new standard rooms from the ibis hotels.

We thank you again for your comment and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    259
    141
    42
    17
See reviews for
151
231
26
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
362 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had beeked for Luzern centre but there was a mess up, at extortionate rates we were offered this Ibis which when we arrived after noting the McDonalds, the sex shop supermarket , restaurant and garage I realised I had stayed there before vowing never to return. This time though the industrial estate was quiet, the parking was an issue, no disabled spots and eating out albeit expensive Switzerland a restaurant next door which had previously blasted my eardrums with pop music offered revenge on the thunderstorm which drowned out their show and charged an arm and a leg for a meal. Good nights sleep though and cumfy room, why would anyone stay here though , guess that is why it was nearly empty

Room Tip: avoid this location unless you love industrial estates outside town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiskriens, Manager at ibis Luzern Kriens, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Dave Spencer32,

thank you very much for your comment through Tripadvisor. We know that the Hotel is in an industiral area and there are only 2 restaurants in the environment. The disabled parking places are signed. There are 3 in the garage. One is directly in front of the barrier and the other 2 behid the barrier.

Let me thank you again for sharing your comments. We hope to welcome you again soon in one of our ibis hotels.
Claudia Wieler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wanting to visit Lucerne, I booked the Ibis Luzern Kriens.

The hotel itself is very good and well worth the price. The room is relatively large and modern. The staff were very helpful. The room did lack a kettle.

The issue with the hotel is the location. It is situated in a more industrial area, 3.6km from the heart of Lucerne. There are trains running but even from the train station it is a short hike to the hotel. There isn't much to do in the area and you will always need to take a train back (or alternatively walk the 3.6km) to Lucerne central to see the sights or link to the buses and trains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamal147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The room was good size and the girl at the desk was super friendly. They had free wifi, an underground garage, and elevators. Everything was clean and very nice!................................................

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Everything was good except the location a bit inside. The rooms are spacious and very clean with beautiful mountain view. The brakfast was very nice with plenty of options. The staff is friendly. Overall woth for money. I would definitely recoomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NonuSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very quite, clean, and pleasant hotel. Big rooms. Only thing to mention is that the location of the hotel is a bit away from Lucerne so you need a car.
Service at Reception was ok but could be better. You had to ask for a map. Wold be a point of improvement to have maps on the Reception desk.
Big disadvantage is that there's no WIFi/W-Lan offered but you can deal with it on a holiday
Overall a great hotel that I can recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pamangel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiskriens, Manager at ibis Luzern Kriens, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Pamangel 18,

thank you for your comment. We know that the hotel is outside of Lucerne. With the train you are in 5 minutes in the city center of Lucerne. We have W-Lan in the hotel and it is free of charge. We have instructed the reception to ask the clients if they need a login for the W-Lan.

We thank you again for your comment and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kriens
1.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#35 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.4 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#32 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
1.9 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Luzern Kriens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Luzern Kriens

Property: ibis Luzern Kriens
Address: Industriestrasse 13, Kriens, Lucerne 6010, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne > Kriens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kriens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Luzern Kriens 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Luzern Kriens Hotel is situated at the foot of Mount Pilatus, in a peaceful yet central location. Lucerne city center, Kriens and Mount Pilatus are a 5-minute train ride away, offering a whole host of activities all year round. You can reach Mount Titlis and the surrounding ski areas in 35 minutes. The hotel is ideal for a city break or longer vacation, and there are many restaurants nearby. It has 69 rooms, a bar serving snacks which is open 24/7, chargeable parking and free WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Luzern Kriens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Luzern Kriens Hotel Kriens
Accor Luzern Kriens
Ibis Luzern Kriens Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing