We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay At!”
Review of Hotel Himmelrich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Himmelrich
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kriens
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must Stay At!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went to this hotel as part of a Contiki tour, so i was not expecting much. and i'd also heard some bad things, but it had just come under new management and had had a spruce up.

To my delight, it turned out to easily be the best hotel of the tour in my opinion.
Awesome views.
Awesome fresh home-cooked-style meals. (no-one ever went hungry)
The rooms weren't huge, but, by no means small.
The bathrooms were clean and tidy, with everything that you need
Beds were extremely clean comfy
Staff were extremely hospitable and did everything they could to make our stay perfect.

I plan on going back to Lucerne, and Himmelrich would be my hotel of choice.
The only negative i can think to note is, that if you want to go into town by taxi, it costs about 40 franks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    32
    30
    39
See reviews for
32
52
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here with family for 4 days in Dec 12. A beautiful hotel in even beautiful setting, overlooking Lucerene. The view from windows is awesome. Comfortable rooms with smiling staff and great place to eat and enjoy the view. Overall a Fantastic stay. Cant forget

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asheesh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a contiki tour, so I didn't have much of an expectation, but this fell well short of even that.

Pros?

The view, it really is pretty.

Cons?

Where to start??
- dinner, they ran out of food and didn't care
- no hot water and lack of any care factor or ability to have it fixed quickly
- horrible staff - rude and incompetent
- bathrooms the size of a cupboard, complete with mould
- lack of heating

Avoid. Go check out the view but then leave!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Antanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kriens hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. There is absolutely no way yo control the temperature in your room, so we were sweltering each night. It was either put up with the dry heat, or open the windows to let in the freezing cold wind.

The room was huge, and easily fit in two people and our equally as big suit cases, so no qualms there. But there was only on sheet on the bed (protecting the mattress) and for a double bed, we had two single sized duvets instead of one double. The mattress itself was the most uncomfortable sliver of material I have ever slept on - and I can usually bare the most uncomfortable mattress. In the end, we slept on top of the duvet since we were too hot anyway!

There is wifi here, but only in the lobby or the bar...and only then if you get one of the bar staff to configure your device to the correct settings...and only then if there are staff around to help!

The views you get from up here are definitely great, but the service and rooms are very poor. I would not make the same mistake of rebooking here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have booked two rooms for three nights in Himmelrich through Expedia two weeks in advance. We arrived to Zurich on a night train from Amsterdam, drove for an hour and you can imagine the "pleasant" surprise when the attendant replied "sorry we have no rooms". These rooms were paid for in advance. We were asked to move to another hotel for one night (we had to drive another 30 minutes to get there) and were promised that the hotel we are being moved to is a 4-star and is a better hotel. Well, we were lied to: it was the most run down and unpleasant 3-star hotel i've seen in my extensive travelling experience. Needles to say, day 1 of our 3 day stay in Switzerland was ruined. As an apology we were offered a 50 Swiss Franks voucher for use in the hotel's restaurant (that was the final spit in the face, considering I've paid over 800 USD for our rooms); we politely declined the offensive offer. We returned to stay in the hotel for the last two night, simply because the location was spectacular, and i had no time or desire to look for anything else. Very sad. The hotel has incredible potential, if the management gets their act together.
If you decide to stay at Himmelrich - book with them directly, don't go through any other hotel booking sites. Maybe you'll have better experience.
As far as the rooms go: very simple, but clean. I mean very simple: not even a reading light by the bed. But the bed itself is comfortable. No hair dryer in the rooms, but you can get one from the reception. The restaurant/bar has wonderful ambiance, good wine, great steaks...The view is incredible. Like I said, if you get to stay in the rooms which you've paid for - you'll be ok :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novembr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife & I had booked and prepaid this hotel via Expedia, to stay on the 13th, September.2012. On our arrival, at 7.30pm, we were told by reception staff, who would not make eye contact, that we cannot stay here, and did we not receive their emails. Having an Android tablet, we were receiving & replying to emails, but nothing came from that hotel. They said we could stay at another hotel, which we would like 20 minutes away.

We sensed something fishy was going on, and using the address they gave us (no hotel nname) our sat nav took us to the other side of the lake - a journey of 50 minutes. The Flora hotel, that we had been directed to had been student accomodation, with dirty carpets, the room had a cracked sink and broken bathroom light - the dining room chairs were frayed. We were most unhappy. When we got home, we notified Expedia of our experience, and to their credit after an investigation refunded us the full ammount we had prepaid, and offered us an unreserved appology.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bike_red19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful location,spectacular view!!!!! looking over the city,Lack and the mountains of Lucerne.We stays there in September for two nights.The room were good,the food is good and the staff were nice and friendly.Loved every minute of our stay and we would recommend it to anyone go there.We would love to go back and stay there again.......;:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonya j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kriens
0.8 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.2 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#34 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#35 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Spatz
Hotel Restaurant Spatz
#45 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sonnenberg
Hotel Sonnenberg
#4 of 6 in Kriens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himmelrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himmelrich

Property: Hotel Himmelrich
Address: Schattenbergstrasse 107, Kriens, Lucerne 6010, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne > Kriens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kriens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Himmelrich 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Himmelrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Himmelrich Kriens, Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing