We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for families; great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Karuizawa 1130
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for families; great service!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for a 3-day winter vacation with our 3 children---what a delight!! The Japanese-Western style suite was huge -- plenty of room and privacy for all of us, so clean, and a perfect view of Mt. Asana out our window! Also had a wonderful onsen and a huge breakfast buffet with lots of options. Best part though was the service--the front desk staff and management were so amazing--helping us with ski lesson sign up, suggestions for places to go with the kids, and even showing us great restaurants by leading us there so we didn't get lost! We will be back.

Room Tip: Japanese-Western suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    132
    52
    16
    10
See reviews for
173
50
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

In the middle of woods and deep forest, a huge facility of Hotel Karuizawa 1130 appears all of a sudden. It feels somewhat outdated and very Japanese. The rooms are large, but somewhat not fully utilized. Kitchen space is a bit too cozy. It was a difficult to get beverages in and out. I spent two nights here, and luckily I was able to try a 50 min. body massage. It was actually much better than expected. Very relaxing experience! Although, the bed can be softer. I had a hard time falling into sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddybear1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Planning a trip to Karuizawa with my mother and her friend, we decided we wanted to stay somewhere slightly Japanese. We were recommended ti stay at Hotel 1130 - driving to the hotel we were so surprised to see this huge hotel. This is a typical Japanese experience, not the ryokan, quaint experience, but more the big mega-hotel, mega-facility, mega-everything property. It is set in a lovely area amongst the trees, but hard to feel at one with nature as we were expecting due to the sheer size of the hotel and the number of people staying there.
It was a very warm welcome, a very long walk to our room, many instructions including what not to do (wear the yakata (which were actually waffle weave pyjamas, not a yukata) to the restaurants and so not wear slippers to the restaurant. the room was HUGE - there were three of us and we each had a separate room). The onsen was fabulous, muddy water both indoor and outdoor. We chose the kaiseke dinner in the Japanese Restaurant (there were four restaurants to choose from) and it was wonderful. The food was delicious, service great and wonderful feel and experience. The breakfast was quite different - the food was standard, but served in a large hall - guess they needed this set-up to serve all the guests. We had so much fun at this property - the staff were delightful and helpful, and it was such a wonderful experience - I have stayed at many hotels in japan but first time in a mega-complex like this one. It is close to Onioshidashi rocks, and the volcano route - take note of directions as it can be hard to find. Driving in this area is a delight - an escape from city life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHappyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Lovely hotel, clean large rooms, comfortable sleep. Dinner was excellent and really enjoyed the onsen over winter.

Breakfast average as very busy and food was quite cold however I still really enjoyed my stay.

Very very quiet place in the forrest.

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneralManagerTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no where
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

This is my 1st time to a Japanese hot spring, this place is about 3 & half hr drive from Shinjuku but it's such a beautiful place.

The hot spring is lovely and the hotel is lovely too, the rooms are just enormous- even the standard ones, the suits had jacuzzi, steam rooms, dressing room, tatami, living room, 2 bedrooms.... it was bigger than my house!

The hotel provides you with change of clothing for going to the hot spring but no swimwear is allowed in the hot spring itself. Men & women are separated but sometimes you can hear the other talk when you are at the outside hot spring.

The dinner at the hotel was lovely, the food was beautifully cooked & had wide range, from blow fish to hot pot.

  • Liked — Big bedrooms
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lalalatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsumagoi-mura
Karuizawa Prince Hotel West
#5 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
372 reviews
Hotel Harvest Kyu Karuizawa
#1 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
321 reviews
Cypress Karuizawa
#10 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karuizawa Prince Hotel East
#4 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
335 reviews
Karuizawa Marriott Hotel
#8 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
50 reviews
Manza Onsen
Manza Kogen Hotel
Manza Kogen Hotel
#3 of 27 in Tsumagoi-mura
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karuizawa 1130? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karuizawa 1130

Property: Hotel Karuizawa 1130
Address: 1453-2 Kanbara, Agatsuma-gun, Tsumagoi-mura 377-1402, Gunma Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Gunma Prefecture > Agatsuma-gun > Tsumagoi-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Onsen Hotel in Tsumagoi-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karuizawa 1130 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Karuizawa 1130 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onsen Hotel Karuizawa 1130
Hotel Karuizawa 1130 Japan/Tsumagoi-Mura, Gunma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing