We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Louise
Ranked #1 of 2 Marananga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

A group of friends gave us a night at The Louise which cost approx. $850.

When we arrived we loved the remote location set in vineyards. Our room was generous but not up to the expectation created by the $850 cost. We travel extensively in Australia and overseas and would have rated the room at less than half this cost.

Often the room rate reflects other facilities and we were aware that the Appelation restaurant had a high reputation for fine dining. We were keen to enjoy fine food and wine and a leisurely retreat to our room.

Unfortunately we were advised that the restaurant and bar facilities were closed. A very limited room service was available but closed at 7.00pm!

We were advised to catch a taxi into the nearest town Tanunda if we wished to enjoy a restaurant meal. This cost us $20 each way. Fortunately we dined at Fermentasia which was a delightful experience.

So instead of fine dining and a leisurely retreat to our room we had to travel a fair distance by taxi on a cold rainy night!

Breakfast is supplied in The Louise again via room service and can only be described as dry and poor.

In summary The Louise provided nice but over rated accommodation and did not bother to open its facilities because of low occupancy.

Overall a great dissapointment.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank DavMcAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is our third trip to The Louise. Again it was for a special occasion. We really enjoy the peaceful, elegant and understated milieu. The rooms are delightful and always look freshly renovated. Each courtyard and window has a different outlook. Every thought for comfort and amenity seems to have been considered (Wifi, high quality wine glasses, local biscuits, truffles at bedtime etc). The breakfasts, served in the room, were unique, made of local ingredients and a pleasant surprise in their gourmet variety compared with the usual five star fare.The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and fully aware of our booking and requirements.

This is not a large resort with multiple amenities. It is a beautiful, adult oriented and serene luxury hotel.

Room Tip: They all seem beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Sadly just the one night, but a great experience. The room was minimalist in design but spotless with a very comfortable bed, the bathroom very well appointed. Interestingly BYO luggage to the room and breakfast pre ordered and only available in your room. Dinner in Appelation was very good with all dishes well presented. All naturally expensive, but that's life.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A very nice location. The hotel is really a serviced apartment with breakfast in your room.
There is little in the way of hotel service. No help with luggage. One small desk often unattended, but pick up a phone and someone appears.
No lounge area. No other amenities outside of the room.
The room was good but not worthy of the price tag. Small dimensions of bedroom, lounge and bathroom. The shower was large.
The breakfast was good, but limited menu meant that more than two days there and your palate was bored.
The attached restaurant was very nice food, good service and relatively inexpensive for the quality.
In all a good venue to explore the Barossa but far too expensive for what is delivered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent a long weekend at The Louise, in June.
Our room was beautiful and had an amazing view off the terrace of vineyards, it's a shame it was a little too cold for us to eat our breakfast outside.
We paid for an upgraded room and being in winter it was money well spent and we certainly enjoyed cosying up infront of the fireplace in our room. The complimentary port in our room is a nice touch.
We had dinner at the restaurant and it was spectacular, the food was great and at the level expected for the price that we were paying.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading and paying more for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerida I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location, within walking distance to some wineries, in the heart of the Barossa wine lands. Great service, very comfortable accommodation and especially loved the breakfast which was delivered to our suite and we were able to sit on the patio and enjoy the view over the neighbouring vineyards over a leisurely breakfast. A number of good restaurants a short drive away and the Appellation restaurant on site is superb! Overall a fantastic experience.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kwinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights here with our teenage children before heading off to Kangaoroo Island and felt it was a very special place. Location was ideal for visiting the vineyards - we only wish we had left more time to enjoy the property. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and set up in a way that you feel that there is nothing else around - even though we shared a courtyard with our children's room. As other's have described there is a bedroom and separate sitting area which is ideal if your husband has to take a midnight work phone call or you want to sit in a separate room and look out at the vineyards over your breakfast. As it was winter we didn't spend time on the outdoor patio or outdoor shower, but did enjoy the fireplace.
One thing to note is that while they have bikes - they only have 2, but can easily arrange for others to be dropped off if you want to spend time biking around.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank bettinacis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marananga
5.3 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
2.4 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
3.3 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
220 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#8 of 14 in Tanunda
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Louise

Address: 375 Seppeltsfield Rd, Marananga, South Australia 5355, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Marananga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marananga
Price Range: $471 - $1,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Food, wine, luxury accommodation and a genuine welcome await at The Louise Barossa Valley. Just one hour from Adelaide and set atop a gentle hill The Louise luxury vineyard retreat is South Australia's finest 5-star accommodation. Surrounded by hundreds of acres of Barossa Valley vineyards, The Louise's fifteen suites offer absolute luxury and inspired design with private terraces, soft contemporary furnishings and spacious ensuites. Coloated restaurant, Appellation is widely regarded as one of Australia's top regional dining experiences with a focus on fresh local food and an award-winning wine list. Professional staff offer informed service and are keen to share their local knowledge. A range of boutique wine and food experiences are available exclusively to guests of The Louise, offering a genuine connection to the world famous Barossa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Louise Hotel Tanunda
Louise Hotel Tanunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing