We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Hands Wines Cellar Door

Two Hands Wines Cellar Door
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Marananga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Two Hands Wines we offer our guests a unique Cellar Door experience through a structured but relaxed tasting with our knowledgeable and friendly team. Situated in the tiny hamlet of Marananga in the Barossa Valley, our Cellar Door is open for tastings and sales from 10am to 5pm, seven days a week (except Good Friday, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, and New Year’s Day). Our Cellar Door experience is focused on offering visitors an intimate, informative tasting of the wines throughout our portfolio, from the Picture Series through to our Flagship Series wines. With the ‘Showroom Only’ wines and the latest offerings from the Twelftree range of Grenaches, there is always something new to sample. A modest fee of $10 is charged when participating in a structured tasting, and after being hosted through their tasting experience, guests will be given a complimentary tasting glass, printed with the Two Hands logo and packaged in a bespoke canister to take away with them as a memento of their visit to our Cellar Door. We also offer more exclusive experiences such as our Vineyard Experiences and bespoke tours.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Barossa for a week and visited a number of wineries both large and small, two hands was one of the smaller boutique ones but be warned that you will be charged for the tasting experience and it is a sit down 45 min process which I think is unnecessary but great location and building

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank o12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    32
    14
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Unfortunately the day we went it was raining, but I think this would be a lovely way to spend an afternoon. The food menu looked good but didn't feel as welcome here as some of the other local wineries. I think there was a big group due to come in and our tasting seemed a little rushed. The Canadian gentlemen helping us was extremely friendly and helpful but other staff members didn't seem as welcoming. Not all wines were open to taste and with a $5 tasting fee, I would have thought they would have wanted to have all wines available to the taster.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Macca2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best wine tasting experience in the Barossa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived about midday and didn't have time for the 1hr sit down tasting so had to leave. We did however make it back late the same afternoon and are so glad that we did. Two Hands has really friendly staff, a beautiful location and a deliciously interesting assortment of wines. Really enjoyed sitting on the deck for just over an hour sipping wine and chatting to one of the staff about wine and wine making. Thoroughly enjoyable afternoon and loved the selection wines and interesting names (ie. sexy beast, gnarly dudes), if we're ever in SA again will be back for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Trish7489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, doesnt disappoint...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Two Hands come highly recommended by many and it doesnt disappoint. We spent a relaxing couple of hours tasting their wines and Two Hands really do make the tasting experience very enjoyable, with a wide range of wines from the cheapest to the expensive. Pizzas are also on the lunch menu. Very friendly staff. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SewChek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great boutique wine tasting in the Barossa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stumbled upon this little winery in the back roads near Tanunda - very glad we did after going in & being indulged in a hour long wine tasting experience. Rather than your usual stand & swill experience, got to sit down on a back deck with a view over the vineyards while being served with a range of (predominantly) Shiraz wines to taste, including some very good ones. Was an experience rather than just a tasting - thoroughly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon-from-Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Hands Wines Cellar Door also viewed

Greenock, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Two Hands Wines Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing