We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway Dinner was value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appellation

Appellation
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Marananga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Food, wine, luxury accommodation and a genuine welcome await. Just one hour from Adelaide and set atop a gentle hill, Appellation at The Louise is highly regarded as one of Australia's finest restaurants led by chef Ryan Edwards. With a passion for real, fresh local ingredients, Ryan and his team are guided by the rhythms of the seasons - harvesting from their kitchen garden, baking their own breads, butchering and curing their own meats - and see wine and food as the most natural of partners. A four course seasonal menu is available nightly, except on a Tuesday when it's Local's Night where our chefs choose your three course set menu. An award-winning wine list of over 400 listings celebrating local artisans, emerging stars and established masters offers much choice to guests. Surrounded by vineyards in a truly memorable setting, Appellation is a dining destination worthy of a detour. Appellation is co-located with The Louise luxury vineyard retreat.
Perth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway Dinner was value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I loved what these guys are trying to achieve & coming close to perfection was good enough for me, I disagree about value of this dego from previous reviewers you cannot expect to get a country remote location restaurant doing 20-30 covers to be as cheap as a City dego, the costs alone to employ a quality chef & managers that show the love for the business as they did on our night, that together with sourcing & providing quality local produce is not a cheap exercise.
I can say this place was good value maybe not to everyones budget but I have spent as much in Bali on dego's & wages there are 100 per week
Well done on our night to all staff thanks for your local wine showing & expertise & the food was simple & surfice in everyway
& that finishing cheeseboard was a winner as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zwho61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    74
    29
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Get there at sunset and you will be treated to a very special view of the sun going down over the Barossa vineyards, just spectacular. The service is impeccable at this restaurant as it should be with the prices you pay to dine there. The food is fresh and every dish has a creative twist that take your taste buds on a journey to foody heaven and back again. You will not leave this place hungry nor dissatisfied.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelarSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Great wine but food is more hit and miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

According to the restaurant manager, the concept at Appellation is that the sommelier proposes the wines she wishes to serve on any given evening and the chef then constructs a completely new tasting menu around them. This is revealing since we felt we drank some great wine and enjoyed some excellent individual dishes but the overall dining experience did not stand out quite as much as one might expect given the cost of a meal here. As another TA reviewer has commented price-wise it is almost in the same league as Quay, in Sydney, but unfortunately it falls far short of that restaurant as a dining experience.

The restaurant web site is slightly misleading since it implies that there are 2 ways to go, the tasting menu or a la carte but in fact if you opt for the latter you will still get the starter from the former as well as the amuse bouche and the palate cleansing sorbet. A dessert is available at an additional cost meaning that the a la carte menu will inevitably cost more for the same kind of successive small plates experience. Provided that you grasp this before you start it is fine since it means that one or other of a couple isn't always out of step with their partner.

The restaurant rather sternly advises that if you want a drink before your meal you should arrive earlier than the time of your reservation. This is certain worth doing, however, since the highlight of both evenings for us was probably pre-dinner drinks on the terrace, overlooking vineyards and watching the spectacular sunsets.

Service from the restaurant manager on the first night was outstanding. She gave intelligent tasting notes on every wine we tried and also offered advice on which Barossa wineries to check out the next day. Oddly, on the second night, the sommelier was pleasant but far less informative. Other staff were less impressive (e.g. request for more bread ignored) despite the obvious house rule that every exchange with a diner, however trivial, requires the Americanism "you're welcome". I was struck by the over-reverential atmosphere in the restaurant which I had hoped was no longer a necessary feature of 'fine dining'. In Australia of all places a lighter tone should be possible without any detriment to the actual quality of the service.

As a generalisation, the simpler dishes appeared to us to be more successfully realised. There was an excellent pork and pistachio terrine with house pickles and an equally good rare Eden Valley pigeon breast with sticky braised lentils and confit beetroot but new season figs with verjus jelly, whipped brie and vincotto lacked texture and flavour while twice cooked Hutton Vale lamb with caper, olive and tomato salsa contained chewy and unappealing meat. A nice touch is that at the end of the evening diners are presented with a copy of the menu without having to ask. Unfortunately, looking at them only 3 weeks earlier I was struck by the fact that without them I wouldn't have remembered most of the dishes I ate, confirmation that the overall experience though enjoyable enough at the time was regrettably unmemorable. This is doubly disappointing when you think that the cost was upwards of $A400 for 2 people on each night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaDolceVita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Disappointing for one of us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Appellation has a stellar reputation and as we were staying at the Louise we were looking forward to eating there however I left feeling very underwhelmed.
Pre-dinner drinks on the terrace was lovely - watching the sunset over the vineyards while relaxing in comfortable chairs can't be beaten. Inside the restaurant, the view is quite restricted as the windows are small. The service was excellent. Friendly, helpful staff who were on hand to answer questions but were never obtrusive. The sommelier was helpful and knowledgeable about the wine list but did not ask what our menu choices were before suggesting wines.
We decided against the degustation menu and chose the seasonal selection a la carte menu which offered four dishes each in three different price ranges . All plates are entree size so it is quite easy to order three courses and a dessert.
We chose the warm soup of Harris Smokehouse salmon, leeks, potatoes and chervil ($25) to start. It was very good but slightly oversalted and my evening went downhill from then. My next selection was Waechter's duck plate - rillettes, red gum smoked breast, pate and fino sherry jelly with a toasted brioche ($35).Presentation was good although reminiscent of the nouvelle cuisine style.
The smoked duck loin was fine but the rest of the dish had unpleasant textures and the pate was bland. Maybe the brioche was so sweet to make up for the tasteless pate but nothing seemed to work together on this ill-conceived dish. However my husband had no complaints with his king prawns served with saffron pasta and sweetcorn.
Next up for me was Hutton Vale lamb, smoked eggplant, wilted saltbush and toasted sunflower kernels ($45).. The lamb had no flavour, it was very tender but oh so bland. And the saltbrush added nothing to the plate. In contrast the smoked lamb sausage was excellent. I ate the sausage and the eggplant . Again my husband loved his dish - Angus beef which melted in the mouth and a beetroot puree. This dish attracted a $9 supplement. Maybe I just made the wrong choices but I would expect a fine dining restaurant to provide excellent food across its range.
As a last attempt, I ordered a raspberry sorbet with peach for dessert. It was pleasant but way overpriced at $22.
There were a few extras with our meal - a good amuse bouche of pork and pistachio terrine, a very nice fennel and raisin bread and an excellent small glass of rhubarb and vanilla crumble.
There seemed to be no maitre d' or front of house staff on duty and the restaurant was only half full despite it being a Friday night.
Our bill which included a bottle of white wine($40) and a glass of red($23) came to $332.
It's a real shame that some of the food served did not come near to matching the terrace view and the service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fine dining and great wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great menu. Great service. Just got there in time to watch the fabulous sunset. Tried a very reasonably priced back vintage wine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank joyce018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appellation also viewed

Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Appellation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing