We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A GREAT PLACE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2008

I will put it this way - I did all the planning for our trip so my DH had no idea what this place would look like. His exact word when we wallked inside "WOW this is AWESOME!" He was awstruck by how wonderful the property is. He just walked around saying "WOW I love this place!" It is well arranged and the second you walk into the door you truly feel like they are thrilled to have you there. They are helpful and accomodating. Steve made us a wonderful dinner after our hard day of shopping in the rain in San Jose. It was the best ribs I have ever tasted. We sat around and talked with them for hours. It felt like we were staying with longtime friends. We unfortunately only got to stay one night (our last night of our trip) but I wished we had booked for more time. Spread the word this place lives up to and surpasses EVERY expectation you could have. WE LOVED IT!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 729 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2008

All, I can say is "WOW' This place is not only beautiful and cozy but Rita and Steve are wonderful and caring people, who made the stay wonderful. It was like visiting old friends, and I know I will revisit them again. They are both wonderful cooks...Rita made the best cookies, and Steve made a wonderful supper. The rooms are gorgeous. You simply can't go wrong booking here. Steve even dropped us off at the airport and Rita made us a wonderful lunch...try the Zuchinni bread...its amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shelley_Canada25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Casa Bella Rita was a great beginning of our trip to Costa Rica. We landed in San Jose, and Steve (one of the owners) met us at the airport and drove us to the B & B, where we met his wonderful wife (Rita). We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know both Steve and Rita, and we instantly connected with them! After giving us a glass of fresh lemonade, they showed us to our room, which was superbly decorated and instantly comfortable. The decor is bright and inviting, and the warm feeling of coming home was immediately evident, even though we had never been there before. We were made to feel that the B & B was our home, and indeed it felt that comfortable. Steve and Rita were the superb hosts, adding that intangible factor that takes a great B & B and turns it into a place to remember for a long time.

Although we were only able to stay at Casa Bella Rita for one night due to previous plans, we feel like we have found a new home and new friends in Steve and Rita. The warmth and charm of the B & B and the owners, the cleanliness of the property, and the ambiance, not to mention the phenomenal breakfast prepared by Steve, make this the only place that we will stay when we come back to San Jose, which we hope will be often!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank spineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Casa Bella Rita does it all right. First of all, the inn is amazing. It is cozy enough to be a bed and breakfast, but it is big enough to give you some breathing room. Steve and Rita (the owners) are like visiting old friends that accommodate to your every need. The rooms are very well decorated and extremely comfortable. The inn sits on the edge of one of the most beautiful canyons that you have ever seen.
My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon, and Steve and Rita were more than dedicated to giving us the best service we could offer. You will genuinely feel like you have made two great friends after leaving this place. The service is great because its not really service. You can tell that they actually love what they are doing and go the extra mile to make sure you are satisfied.
And, the food is out of this world. We ate two exquisite breakfasts and two great dinners, and they were some of the best meals we had our entire trip. If you are going anywhere near San Jose, you must check this place out. I can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dledford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Casa Bella Rita

Our stay with Steve and Rita couldn't have been any better. I have traveled quite a bit and they were the most accomodating hosts that I have had.

It was our first trip to Costa Rica and Rita help us tremendously before we even arrived by booking interbus travel and assisting us with choosing activities and making reservations for us.

The owners of Casa Bella Rita (CBR), Steve and Rita went above and beyond to take any worries away while we were with them and thoughout CR. Steve himself picked us up at the airport. This usually costs $35 to $40. It was nice to see a "familiar" face and not have to be troubled with trying to negotiate a fare and hope they knew where to go. After a 15 hour travel day this was so nice.

When we arrived at CBR, we were greeted by Rita and the two sweetest pups you have ever met, Topo and Rata. If you aren't a dog lover, don't worry, these pups are quiet and not a bother, but rather just part of the scenery at CBR. Rita and Steve immediately offered up a beer, which we happily accepted. The best part is that it was in an ice cold frosty mug! Yum! Then we chatted with the two of them for an hour or two sharing stories and picking their brains for the rest of our trip in CR. As previously mentioned, they are so helpful and booked our other travel within CR.

CBR is a beautiful place. Rita and Steve are both former restaurant owners and they said they have a combined 65 years in the hospitality industry - IT SHOWS! The B&B is a quaint, quiet and peaceful 6 bedroom place with a nice deck with a small pool and a view that is spectacular. They sit on the edge of a deep canyon with a river running through it that you can hear from the tiled deck. In the evenings we would sit out here and chat and read and soak up the view and wait for the sun to set!

As I mentioned, both came from the restaurant industry and that was reflected in the breakfasts. Steve asked us what we wanted the first day. We said it didn't matter. He rattled off a looooong list of choices. We said eggs and toast would be just fine. We were surprised when Steve delivered scrambled eggs with cheese and fresh veggies along with our requested toast, but also potatoes, a huge bowl of fresh fruit and coffee, tea, juice and water. The next morning we had cinnamon raisin french toast and fruit and it was equally as delicious!

The rooms are well done with nice decor, comfortable beds and private baths. They also have AC should you need it. Our room even had a little fridge in it and a safe if you want to use it, but we felt like everything was safe.

The other staff was also very nice. Eric the housekeeper and all around handyman greeted us with a smile each morning. They arranged for us to have a car to get around San Jose and the surrounding areas. That was a nice thing to have. He was English speaking and it was a great convenience.

The long and short of it is that we highly recommend CBR, especially if it is your first trip to CR and would like a bit of assistance with choices and arrangements. Rita and Steve do all of these extra services with no extra payment required. It was invaluable and such a great experience. Thank you Steve and Rita!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ErinPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

I planned a 40th birthday adventure for my husband to Costa Rica this past spring. Casa Bella Rita was the perfect place to start it! We arrived in San Jose very late at night after long day of traveling from Los Angeles. Steve picked us up at the airport and drove us to the oasis in bustling San Jose called Casa Bella Rita. As you walk through the door to Casa Bella Rita, you immediately enter a calming environment. At my special request, but going WAY above and beyond, Rita had prepared gourmet mini-sandwiches for our arrival, set them up in our very cool Canopy Room, along with a chilled bottle of wine and chocolates. This was the kick-off and set the tone for my husband's 10 day birthday adventure. We slept beautifully that night and woke up to an amazing view over a canyon covered with bouganvillea. We came downstairs with our books and relaxed on lounge chairs out by their lovely pool with hot Costa Rican coffee. Then we moved onto their open air porch for a delicious, home-made breakfast of pancakes, native fruit salad, fresh squeezed juice and mimosas. Our driver picked us up shortly after breakfast at Casa Bella Rita to take us on the long drive trek up to the Arenal area. Casa Bella Rita was the perfect place to start our Costa Rican adventure. The accomodations were lovely and very comfortable, the food scrumptious and Rita and Steve were wonderful company! We enjoyed getting to know them and would HIGHLY recommend to everyone who is going to Costa Rica and has a layover in San Jose on either end of their trip, to stay with Rita and Steve at Casa Bella Rita. You will not be disappointed! They provide the perfect setting for a beginning or ending of an adventure. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MagsLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Thinking about vacationing in Costa Rica? Casa Bella Rita Bed & Breakfast, ever so conveniently located near the country’s largest city of San Jose, is an excellent choice for first-time and repeat travelers. We recommend it for honeymoons (that’s what we did). The lovely hosts are couple Steve and Rita who, by the way, are superb cooks as they serve delicious home-cooked breakfast and fresh-brewed Costa Rican coffee every morning! The two-story house with a great view is beautifully decorated Latin style with fresh-cut tropical flowers, vibrant wall colors, and magnificent garden. The rooms are spacious with comfy beds and the bathrooms are absolutely luxurious. Not sure what to see or do during your stay? Steve & Rita have tremendous knowledge of the area and have lots of literature available on the must-see sites and attractions in their library, like La Paz Waterfall Gardens & Rainforest and Poas Volcano & National Park! You can even utilize their optional service of a personal tour guide and never have to mess with the large tourist groups. We say two-thumbs up for Casa Bella Rita. So get ready for wonderful hosts, excellent service, and a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TristanandVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
6.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
339 reviews
5.6 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
118 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: Brasil de Santa Ana, Santa Ana 6100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range: $66 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Central Valley's finest Bed & Breakfast. Casa Bella Rita is private and luxurious and within minutes of the airport, San Jose, Poas Volcano, coffee plantations, botanical gardens and other popular sites. Complimentary airport pick-up and gourmet breakfasts are included. Each room has a cable TV, AC, honor bar, safe, custom furniture, high quality mattresses and bedding and private bathroom. Perfect for your home base while touring Costa Rica, honeymoons, business travel or your first and last night's stay. Breathtaking views of the canyon, WIFI, computer station and friendly dogs on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Hotel Santa Ana
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed And Breakfast
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing