We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for our first and last night in Costa Rica. We wanted something convenient to the airport, but wanted to feel like we were in Costa Rica not a chain hotel that could be anywhere. This is the place. Rita and Steve are warm and friendly. Their B&B is absolutely lovely and welcoming, small enough to be intimate. You get to know Steve & Rita, their adorable little dogs and the other guests. Our first night, Steve cooked dinner. Don't miss an opportunity like this! He is seriously good! It was a very memorable meal, delicious, with excellent dinner companions. We felt like one of the family, which is part of the charm of this special place.
I was drawn constantly to the view of the gorge behind them. There is something mesmerizing about staring out to it, at least for me. This is a beautiful setting with beautiful people and a perfect place to stay. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMom002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 729 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Steve and Rita are impeccable hosts with great kitchen skills. Their knowledge of Costa Rica is incredibly helpful for first timers.

All this aside from the stubbing location overlooking a beautiful canyon and very easy access from San Jose's airport.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I decided to rent a car and travel across Costa Rica for our honeymoon. The only thing we booked before leaving were the rental car and the first night at Casa Bella Rita. It was only 15 minutes from the airport and easy to find. After a long sleepless night of travelling Rita and Steve made us feel immediately welcome and the views from their patio area were incredible! Rita and Steve were incredibly helpful with leading us in the right direction and every hotel and excursion they recommended was exactly what we were looking for! They gave excellent advice and Rita's chocolate cake was even better! We were so pleased at our stay we came back 10 days later for our last night of the trip. Our flight home was at 7:00 am and we had to leave at 4:30. When we woke up I was amazed that Rita had got up early and had coffee ready for us and fresh baked banana bread and fruit. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling near San Jose. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanNikolica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

From the moment I booked Casa Bella Rita I knew we had made a good choice. Rita replied to my reservation email asking if we needed any help with planning: we did, and she recommended a fantastic place to stay near Bijagua (see my review for La Carolina Lodge) and also booked our Interbus transfer from San Jose to Monteverde. Nothing was too much trouble. When we landed at San Jose airport Luis (a great driver they use a lot) was waiting for us to take us to the B&B (I hesitate to call it that as it's so much more); it's always a huge relief knowing that someone is going to be at the airport with your name on a board, especially when you're arriving late and are half-asleep. When we arrived at Casa Bella Rita Steve immediately put glasses of cold beer into our hands and showed us our lovely room. We stayed in the Colibri room, which had everything we could have possibly wanted, along with a beautiful mosiac in the shower. The bed was very comfortable and had hotel-quality sheets (no bobbles here!). Breakfast, which Steve prepared freshly for us, was delicious: fresh fruit, juice, coffee/tea and pancakes (other guests had other things, Steve was obviously very happy in the kitchen). At the end of our trip we returned to Casa Bella Rita for two nights, to wind down before we flew back to the UK. We were up North near the Nicaraguan border and had arranged with Luis for him to come and pick us up and drive us back down to Santa Ana, which he did in record time. When we arrived we again had beers and were back in the Colibri room. That night Steve cooked dinner for us and four other guests, and it was delicious again. We also experienced a small earthquake, just to add to the impressiveness of the occasion! The next and final day we went (again with Luis) to a Toucan Rescue Ranch (see my review) which had been recommended by Rita. This was a heartwarming, very life-affirming place and I can thoroughly recommended it too. That night we ate pizza (kindly ordered by Rita) and drank Rita's lovely rum cocktails (also recommended!). The next morning I was very, very sad to be leaving such a beautiful country and also Casa Bella Rita. However, we are already planning a trip back in 2015 and you can guess where we'll be staying in Santa Ana! I also must mention the amazing view from the terrace, over the canyon, where you can sit watching hummingbirds sip from flowers while stroking the very friendly house dogs, reclining on the sunloungers...sounds like paradise? It is!

Room Tip: They are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wonderful place to stay. We stayed last year and three separate nights this trip. We messaged Rita if she had room the night before returning to the states and she did! Changed our plans and headed to Casa Bella Rita. Great decision. Can't wait to return. In the future we plan to stay a few days and explore the area rather use it as layover when traveling to a different area. Every great review is well deserved.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jjjsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We've been to Costa Rica many times and stayed at lots of places, but Casa Bella Rita is tops. All the rooms are luxurious, comfortable, and well-appointed. The beds are superb, and it's very quiet at night and in the mornings. The location can't be beat: it's a short drive from the SJ airport, but you feel as if you've retreated to an oasis of calm elegance and efficiency. There's a tranquil view in back across the canyon of farmland, and there are lots of authentic Tico restaurants nearby. Steve or one of the drivers will ferry you to and from the airport. The B&B itself is absolutely fantastic, but Steve and Rita are what really make it shine. They're both incredibly competent, helpful, and friendly. They anticipate your needs, make phone calls for you, haggle with rental car companies on your behalf, arrange taxis and tours, help you figure out how to work your GPS, provide you with wine or beer if you need it--anything you might happen to require, they take care of it. Arriving there after a long trip feels like being welcomed home. Steve is quite a cook, too. The clientele tends to be adult/mature, international, and interesting. The atmosphere is laid-back and privacy is never a problem, but we've also met a number of people there who've given us good tips about CR or simply shared their experiences. We love the place. We've stayed there at both ends of two separate trips, and I can't imagine traveling through Juan Santamaria Airport without staying there again. No question it's the best place we've stayed in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable. Mariposa is obviously the most elegant, and we thought it was worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

When traveling you wish for a great start and finish. Casa Bella Rita is the best place to start and finish a trip while in Costa Rica. It is also a great place to stay for several days to relax, enjoy the view and tour the area. While there, Steve will prepare great breakfasts and dinners. If you want to plan a trip through Costa Rica, Rita and Steve can help you develop a wonderful trip. They have the contacts and their local knowledge is invaluable.

I have been to Casa Bella Rita several times. One service which Steve provides is a pickup from the airport. After a long flight to San Jose, there is nothing better than walking out of the airport and finding Steve waiting to take you to Casa Bella Rita.

In writing this review, I wondered what other travelers have said about Casa Bella Rita. Here is what they have said:
Beautiful Home Away from Home, On Oasis, Wonderful Kindness, As Always Excellent, Excellent Launch Place, Amazing Hospitality just to list a few of the many comments

My only conclusion is that they are consistently exceptional. The best in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
119 reviews
3.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Canyon Inn
Vista Canyon Inn
#2 of 5 in Santa Ana
149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: Brasil de Santa Ana, Santa Ana 6100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range: $72 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Central Valley's finest Bed & Breakfast. Casa Bella Rita is private and luxurious and within minutes of the airport, San Jose, Poas Volcano, coffee plantations, botanical gardens and other popular sites. Complimentary airport pick-up and gourmet breakfasts are included. Each room has a cable TV, AC, honor bar, safe, custom furniture, high quality mattresses and bedding and private bathroom. Perfect for your home base while touring Costa Rica, honeymoons, business travel or your first and last night's stay. Breathtaking views of the canyon, WIFI, computer station and friendly dogs on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Hotel Santa Ana
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed And Breakfast
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing