We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My home away from home!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was a business trip to Santa Ana that started at hotel Luisiana (booked and paid for 3 nights) but left after 2 nights due to the bad service and arrogant owner. Near my customers site I saw Posada Nenas hotel, googled them and was very impressed with what they offered and booked for the next 2 nights. Incredible service! A real home away from home. Nelsia checked me in and offered a complementary welcome beverage from the little patio bar. The room (#!0) very cozy, quiet with all the amenities to include a refrigerator. And the breakfast was a full course meal! And dinner was like mom's coooking (my mother is german like the owners). And they are centrally located, with stores, market, restaurants just all within the surrounding blocks. And they have a jacuzzi that I only wish I had time to use! Don't be fooled by the other places, especially the one mentioned at the begining. Get the real deal here. Thanks so much and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnmirla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Manager at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hi John,

thank you so much for commenting here. Our Team at Posada Nena is very happy, that you did like it so much in our Hotel and we hope you will come back soon. Hopefully with a little more time to enjoy everything.
see you soon,

Minerva Alsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    37
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
78
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

...an optimal place to arrive or to plan your next step for you travelling with help Volker and Gonzalo...!!! komfortable rooms, tasty food, verything here to feel well and it is quiet easy to catch the bus to San Jose...

Thank you very much / muchas gracias, to the Posadanena-Team!
Steffen / Switzerland

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Propietario at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Steffen,

thank you so much for visiting us and for leavin a review here at TripAdvisor. We are very glad, that you really liked all of our offers and services and that you liked the food.
Next time we are waiting with a menu more extensive.
see you soon,
Posada Nena Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Norway, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotell 2 nights in the beginning of our journey around Costa Rica and 2 nights when we came back. Close to the airport(only 15-20 minutes drive) and really close to UWCCR(about 200 mtrs walk to the gate) for those who want's to visit that school. Don't get scared of the barnes in front of the building, they make it all safe. It's a small hotel with 9 rooms, a nice garden, good service in the bar and a very good breakfast with fresh fruit. Rooms was clean and made up daily.Garden filled with nice flowers and the breeze from the Mountains around make the temperatur quite good. Aircondition made a lot of noise, but the fan did it's job very well.
I will come back to this cosy little hotel NeXT time I'm in Costa Rica, at the latest may 2015, Hope to come around New years eve too. Hope I've learned some Spanish Words by then :-)

Room Tip: those two rooms in back of the garden is best concidering noise from other guests coming or leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Manager at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hi Janne,

thank you so much for writing this review. We are very happy that you did like our small Hotel and that you promised to come back. We are looking forward to your next stay and you will se all the things we improved.
Hope to see you soon,

regards,
Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed twice in March at this delightful small hotel. The manager, Gonzalos, was very helpful with numerous requests. He arranged transport for 10 which included several stops to the NW coast that went without a hitch. All requests were offered a solution for us to chose from. The small courtyard is pretty and somehow always has a cool breeze. The rooms we stayed in were on the courtyard and were nice and had good air-conditioning. Breakfast was good with eggs, meat, rice and beans, and a nice melon plate. There is a nice bar on the front edge of the courtyard. Taxis are prompt and reasonable. Also, our email communication with Volker was prompt and helpful. Stay here for a taste of Costa Rican friendliness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALCKBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Manager at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi ALCKBC,

thank you so much for your visit and your nice commentary right here. We love it that you liked our place so much and that all your group has been fully satisfied with our service.
Hope to see you again,

Sunny Regards
Gonzalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It a place I would recommend without a doubt! Great breakfast that make the place even more a great value!! Super clean rooms, they have a bar a jacuzzi and even a baby foot table!!! What's not to like!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Inhaber at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Simon,

thank you so much for your review. We are very glad, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come again to CR and will visit our place another time. See you soon,
Equipo de Posada Nena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed 1 night here and have nothing bad to say about our time here! The room was big, clean and comfortable. We loved the hammock chair and ourdoor furniture to relax in the sun. It is quiet and cozy, a great place to land. The owner was sooo helpful in finding a bus north and taxis into the city. Breakfast was delicious! we enjoyed walking around town to a restaurant and food market. Overall, a great place to stay, good people and wonderful service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi Shannon,

Thank you so much for your visit in our Posada. We are very happy, that you liked it so much and that you liked your room, the breakfast and our help.
Hope one day you will come back to Costa Rica and will visit us again.
Saludos
Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed 19 days at this hotel near Santa Ana central. We can´t say enough about the wonderful service and staff. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning was available but the breeze was wonderful. There was a full varied breakfast everyday and dinners were available, yummy and reasonable in price. They set up tours for us to take and the tours were very well organized and fun. We would definitely return and highly recommend this hotel. Tom and Mary

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teggie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Manager at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Tom and Mary,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are very happy, that you had such a great time in our Posada and that you liked our food, tours and service.
Hope to see you again,

saludos
Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
561 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena

Property: Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Address: Av. 5, between calle 2 and 3 | del Pali de Santa Ana 100 norte y 150 oeste, Santa Ana 6510, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Nena/ Casa Alegre is a charming Boutique Hotel conveniently located just outside of San Jose, Costa Rica in the town of Santa Ana. Posada Nena offers first class accommodations at a very reasonable price. Our rooms are fully equipped with AC and ceiling fans, cable TV, fridge, Phone (free national calls and free calls to USA and Canada) hot water showers, and wireless internet service. They are comfortable and tastefully decorated in a classic style. The bathrooms are spacious and airy. A free and tasty breakfast is available all the morning, lunch and dinner are served on request. At our little, cosy bar we offer fresh tropical cocktails and ice-cold beer. Just relax in our tropical gardens with the hot water Whirlpool. We offer a lot of activities and tours, leaving directly from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing