We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very wellcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very wellcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there with a group of 8 persons for 24hrs.
The rooms were very clean, friendly and comfortable.
The service an the atencion of the personal were realy kindly.
The food were exeptional:
We have had breakfast, lunch and dinner. Each was exellent and ritch and enough.
Some of the group enjoyed the nearby city.
For this price you don´t find a lot of hotels in this class in Costa Rica.
(I live and travel here since five years.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilhelm v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi Wilhelm,

I very happy that you liked our place and hope you will come back next year. Everytime we are trying to improve our Posada, so I am sure your next visit will be another surprise.
Thanks a lot,
Saludos
Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    36
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
74
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took a trip to Costa Rica with my daughter and son in law and three small grandchildren. This was our first stop for three nights and it felt like coming home every night. The rooms had everything we needed. Breakfast was true Costa Rican fare, and was delicious. You could order dinner if you wanted also. The staff was helpful and very accomodating. We enjoyed the smallness of the town and felt very comfortable walking around there in the evenings. We really wanted to stay somewhere that gave us the true Costa Rican experience, and I felt this place really gave us that. They don't actually have a pool, just a hot tub, but it was still refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni07grantmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi Toni,

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed our Posada and the town Santa Ana. Hope we will see you back again soon,
Sunny regards
Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Everyone here was nice and accommodating to our young kids. the breakfast was great and we enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of sight seeing. The location is great...in a quiet part of Santa Ana but still in walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuchofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Familia Chucho,

Thanks a lot for writing a review. I hope you and your nice kids will soon come again to be our guests. Costa Rica is a great destiny and there is so much more to see.
see you soon,

Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here (family, 2 adults one child) for 4 nights and shared a basic, but clean and comfortable room. Very friendly staff, but helps if you have a little Spanish if the owner isn't around. Showers can be temperamental as heat is solar, and water sometimes gets cut-off for short periods over the weekend, but you can't fault the hotel for that. Food as served is good, but as is the way with all of our stay in Costa Rica you can't be quite sure what to expect ! Share a beer and a chat at the bar with the owner for the cheapest beer we were offered in a bar at $2, and he evens buys some back if you have a small 'session' !

Overall, a nice reasonable place to stay...no frills, but friendly and good value

Room Tip: Get a garden room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi James,

Thanks for your review. Hope to see you around again. We fixed the problem with the water supply and installed 6 m³ of fresh water- tanks and an electric water pump, so now always water is guaranteed.
Thanks again for writing,

see you soon,

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had my parents stay two nights in early April. We tried to contact the hotel several times via emails and phone calls over a period of two weeks. NOTHING. I just wanted to some info of surrounding areas, and places that my parents could possibly visit as they are somewhat frail and spoke no Spanish. (I chose this hotel mainly because it had a microwave and a small fridge in the room--which helped my parents as they have dietary restrictions and have difficulty eating out.) Very disappointing for us that a hotel can't even return emails or phone calls. I don't find that professional at all. My parents told me that the neighborhood is a bit loud--which is pretty normal in CR. Perhaps this place works for others. Not for my parents.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDowers_11, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hi Anna,

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry, but the same day you send your only contact via E- Mail to us (12th of March), I, personally answered within 2 hours. Maybe because of your Spam Filter you didn't get the answer on time. I hope, you will find it and see the 30 line- answer, with a lot of travel related information to Costa Rica.
And for your parents- they have been very happy in our place and made another reservation for these weeks. So I think, they felt really well in our place.
Sunny regards,

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Unhelpful staff. Close to highway & clean, but uncomfortable beds and mediocre breakfast. Better hotels out there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MostAwesomeFamilyEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Family Eva,

Sorry, but I think you are confused with our location. Our small Boutique hotel, Posada Nena is very far away from any highway- the next one is more than one mile away (see Google maps- Highway 27). The good thing about the highway is, it bring you to San José within 12 minutes and only one hour to paradise beaches on the Pacific.

Saludos cordials
Minerva and Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I travel to Santa Ana for business every 2 months and stay for @ 2 weeks each visit. I have been staying at this new found gem for more than a year now. The service is excellent ! Nice comfy clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, dinner, and attention to detail. The quiet residential neighborhood located in old Santa Ana - Centro is safe to walk around at night. Within walking distance to supermarkets, local restaurantes, pubs, market, central park. Close to the bus line to get you anywhere in Santa Ana, Escazu, San Jose, and throughout the country.
Perfect for business travelers, singles, friends or couples on vacation. There seems to be a fair amount of international guests which adds to the ambieance of the quaint hotel. The owners and staff are international as well with a mixture of German, Venezuelan, Nicaraguan, and of course Costa Rican.
Each room has air conditioning. cable television, wireless internet, in- room safe, telephone, hot water !

You cannot beat the price nor the service !

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room. There are only 2 at this time, but any room is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannoAsheville_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Danno,

Thanks a lot for your review. I hope to seee you in Santa Ana soon. We built some more really beautiful amenities in the Posada and we would be very happy if you will share these with us.

Hope to see you soon,

Sunny regardHi Danno,

Thanks a lot for your review. I hope to seee you in Santa Ana soon. We built some more really beautiful amenities in the Posada and we would be very happy if you will share these with us.

Hope to see you soon,

Sunny regard

Minerva

Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#3 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#1 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena

Property: Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Address: Av. 5, between calle 2 and 3 | del Pali de Santa Ana 100 norte y 150 oeste, Santa Ana 6510, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Nena/ Casa Alegre is a charming Boutique Hotel conveniently located just outside of San Jose, Costa Rica in the town of Santa Ana. Posada Nena offers first class accommodations at a very reasonable price. Our rooms are fully equipped with AC and ceiling fans, cable TV, fridge, Phone (free national calls and free calls to USA and Canada) hot water showers, and wireless internet service. They are comfortable and tastefully decorated in a classic style. The bathrooms are spacious and airy. A free and tasty breakfast is available all the morning, lunch and dinner are served on request. At our little, cosy bar we offer fresh tropical cocktails and ice-cold beer. Just relax in our tropical gardens with the hot water Whirlpool. We offer a lot of activities and tours, leaving directly from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing