We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vista Canyon Inn
Nearby Hotels
$94
$85
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studio Hotel(Santa Ana)
$94
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Los Candiles(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$77
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Canal Grande(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$35
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luisiana(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$35
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Out of Bounds Hotel(Escazu)(Great Value!)
$65
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
148
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and hot tubtamalescosta ricasan josewelcome surprisehidden gembeautiful sunsetwarm hospitalityrental carmade us feel at homeplenty of hot waterciudad colondental workgracious hostsfresh fruitgreat amenitiesdelicious breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 160 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Vista Canyon Inn on our last night in Costa Rica. We liked that it was relatively close to the airport and Eleazar was a wonderful driver (which was complimentary). The driving in San Jose is a little crazy so we were happy to give up our rental car a day early and not have to deal with it.
The Inn is very clean and comfortable. You would never know you are so close to the city. The view is spectacular and the pool/hot tub were lovely. The room was very large and the bedding nice.
We didn't meet Marsha but we loved Eleazar. He couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. He ordered carry-out food for us, had it delivered and set a beautiful table on the terrace. What a wonderful host!
My husband and myself would stay there again if ever we return to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We had the corner garden suite which had a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stay at Vista Canyon for 1 night only and I regret not booking my whole stay there while in San Jose. I really did my research on TripAdvisor for hotels, motels etc. We ended up there by pure coincidence because the first place where we had booked was that "mostly booked" so our last night in San Jose was at Vista Canyon. What an amazing place. The view is exceptional, the rooms are very spacious, fully equipped, and with A/C. Breakfast, which was included was Yummy. Marsha, the hostess is an amazing persona and she will make sure you are 101% satisfied with your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afiroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Situated close to San Jose Airport (with free shuttle on request). We stayed at the start and end of our vacation although this is so much more than a stopping off place, located overlooking a beautiful canyon. We stayed in the owners suite on our return from touring Costa Rica and it was the best room of our whole stay including some quite expensive hotels. Marsha and Eleazar are the perfect hosts who provide advice and information or just a chat in the lounge in the evening over a glass of wine. The breakfast on the terrace overlooking the canyon prepared by their attentive staff was excellent. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent although the suites are obviously roomier. The canyon view rooms and suites provide a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillandtimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our extended family group of thirteen stayed here for one night after traveling from Uvita over the mountain pass and before venturing on to La Fortuna. What can I say? The reviews are all spot on and we could not have been happier about this choice.
We did not get a GPS and did get lost coming through San Jose. (Marsha had suggested getting a GPS in our communication, but we had been before and knew we would only need it through San Jose.) I was on the phone with Dave for quite a while and he patiently worked to get us to them. Of course, I was a bit frazzled after getting our group of three vehicles lost. But, Dave met us out at the road and followed us to the inn all the while on the phone with me. He opened the gate and from that point on we were pampered. They have truly thought of everything you might want or need.
We had planned to go out for dinner, but it was nearly dusk and after a long day we all agreed we didn't want to leave their oasis. They helped us get settled and told us they would be glad to pick up dinner and bring it back for us. We told them we wanted authentic Costa Rican food and they brought back delicious Chifrijo. It was just perfect as we all sat outside under the starry sky enjoying our evening with our new found friends, Dave and Marsha. (Eleazar and his family were away visiting family and we didn't meet them) We stayed up late visiting with several of us taking turns to go get a massage from their excellent massage therapist. They were very gracious and genuinely enjoyed our 7 teenagers. They told them to make themselves at home in the office area which is stocked with DVDs and a tv and sitting area. They put our leftovers in the fridge and told the kids to help themselves if they got hungry before bed.
The kids enjoyed the pool and we loved the hot tub. They were in no hurry to send us on our way and we stayed the next morning until almost noon enjoying their company, our breakfast, and the hot tub some more. Everything was in tip top shape and clean as can be. The linens were very good quality and the beds were so comfortable.
We are so glad to have found this inn and have already recommended it to my sister and her family. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Eleazar and Marsha were terrific. We spent a wonderful evening chatting in lounge with them swapping stories. Marsha took us to the market and Eleazar helped find ATM's and helped phone our bank in Canada when we had banking problems. The location overlooking the canyon is terrific. Make sure you follow their directions and you will arrive no problem.
Hope to return soon

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews