We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot Wait to Return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista Canyon Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, TX US
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Cannot Wait to Return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

First time traveling to Costa Rica and the experience from beginning to end was amazing. Arriving in a new country can be a little worrying but being picked up at the airport by Eleazar from Vista Canyon Inn was very comforting. Trip was two weeks and we had a few places to visit in mind. Marsha and Eleazar also had many great suggestions on how we could spend our time in Costa Rica. All the things they suggested were great and they even took care of the booking and arrangements. It’s centrally located in CR that so a lot of places and things we did on day trips. It was nice not having to keep up with luggage and be able to come back where they make you feel at home. The hotel and staff was so nice and welcoming that out of the two weeks we spend about half of that just relaxing and hanging out. The pool was one of our favorite spot along with having a drink while taking in the spectacular views. Breakfast was always something to look forward to because it was always different and tasteful. Eleazar was incredibly attentive to us and made sure we were being taken care of throughout our stay. Definitely will be visiting again and staying at Vista Canyon Inn. Warm and friendly staff, excellent amenities, and incredible views all made for an awesome and unforgettable Costa Rican adventure. Thanks Eleazar and Marsha! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clos2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha W, Owner at Vista Canyon Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
"Cannot wait to return" hopefully means we exceeded the expectations of your stay with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed your first trip to Costa Rica and stay at Vista Canyon Inn. We love making your Costa Rican experience one you will remember. Thanks for allowing us to help arrange your travel itinerary and thrilled you enjoyed your trips and excursions. The photos you shared from your trip to Tortuguero Island were amazing. So many tourists visit the island but, fail to take the night tour which is what it is all about. Thanks for letting us join you on the catamaran trip to Tortuga Island. We love that tour and it is always more fun when we can join our guests. The photos of our group that day confirmed a great time was had by all.

Breakfast is a great time at VCI. Enjoying the views from the Rancho, visiting with the other guests and savoring the wonderful native coffee is a great way to begin the day. Maria and Lucia love making each breakfast special and the best compliment you can give them is when you ask ... Can we have this again tomorrow?

The pool and Jacuzzi are a great way to begin and end your day. If I remember correctly the only days you didn't use it during your stay was when it was raining.

When you weren't in the pool you were in the lounge exploring the travel library doing research on your next trip. It was our pleasure to be a small part of making your first trip to Costa Rica an experience of a lifetime. We can't wait to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
46
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We live in Costa Rica and recently stayed at Vista Canyon Inn on a shopping excursion to the big city. We fell completely in love with this gorgeous, romantic inn. The canyon views are stunning, the pool and hot tub were wonderful, and the room was perfect. The hosts, Marsha and Eleazar, were friendly and attentive without being cloying and clearly determined that their guests' stays be perfect. The room was air conditioned, but we really enjoyed sleeping with the windows open and listening to the sound of the river in the canyon deep below. The food was also very good; it was a real treat to have tasty empanadas instead of gallo pinto with the delicious fruit, eggs, and bacon for breakfast. The inn felt very secure, including the parking. We have stayed at the number one rated Santa Ana B&B, and, although it is also very lovely, think that Vista Canyon edges it out with a view, garden, and pool that are slightly superior. Vista Canyon feels like luxury lodging but at non-luxury rates. We had to talk ourselves out of staying an extra day just to lounge around the pool and enjoy the birds, butterflies, and canyon vista. We are going back next month when we are flying out of SJO, and really looking forward to another stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha W, Owner at Vista Canyon Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We were so glad you chose to stay with us and what fun to find out our husbands were at the University of Texas in Austin at the same time years ago. We strive very hard to make sure our guests receive the same type of treatment and service that we desire when we travel. We have found that paying attention to the little things really make a difference.

We insist on offering our guests a different breakfast menu each day of their stay with us. When we first arrived in CR we stayed at a hotel that served us rice, beans, scrambled eggs and dry toast for 9 days straight. Needless to say it got very old. Since most of our guests are off on long days of tours, activities, excursions, etc. they often skip or have a late afternoon lunch. By providing them with a large filling breakfast it often keeps them from getting too hungry before lunch or perhaps making it through dinner with just a snack. during their day.

The spectacular view is the reason we fell in love with this place. It is very tranquil and relaxing. We loving having guests who just come to rest and chill out for a few days. Heating our pool was one of the first things we did after purchasing the property. This allows our guests to enjoy a comfortable swim regardless of the weather or time of the day. The Jacuzzi is also favorite pastime and/or great place to end the day before bedtime.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Pura Vida & Hook Em' Horns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Marsha and Eleazar provided us with the best of everything! From the airport pickup by Eleazar, our pre-arranged excursions by Marsha and a rental car they pre-arranged for our trip to the coast, everything was just perfect! They also provided us a Costa Rican cell phone for our outings.
The Inn is extremely clean and the view is spectacular! The rooms are spacious and fresh with nice soft linens and great views of the canyon and river. And the water pressure is a real treat! And did I mention the view? WOW!!! We stayed in the “Owner’s Suite” and enjoyed a complimentary bottle of wine and a fabulous view each morning! We stayed 6 nights at VCI as our home base to La Poas, La Paz, white water rafting, Manual Antonio and a catamaran cruise. We were provided a fresh and tasty breakfast that included fresh fruit, eggs and a side, all homemade! Our last night with dinner by the pool and hot-tub was a great way to end our stay.
Eleazar and Marsha are truly your friends and host in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Get the Owners Suite...fabulous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sealubber1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha W, Owner at Vista Canyon Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It pleases us greatly that you felt like family during your recent stay with us.
It means so much when our guests feel as comfortable during their stay as they feel at home.

Thanks for your trust and confidence in allowing us to plan your tours. The tour companies we use are based on the reviews we receive from our guests. That is why your comments, critiques and suggestions are so important. I was so glad that you enjoyed our NEW private tour to Poas and Lapaz. I am delighted that we finally have some affordable private tours to offer our guests.

The complimentary bottle of wine and fresh flowers during your stay is a thank you to our suite guests staying for 2 nights or more. The view from the "Owners Suite" is really special. However, the view from the downstairs Canyon View Suite is nice as well. All our suites have the same amenities and offer great views of the pool and canyon.

Few of our guests take time to enjoy our heated pool and jacuzzi. Spending your last night here enjoying one of our special dining options allows our guests to spend a leisurely evening savoring the final moment of their vacation. Our guests always enjoy dining with the other guests they have met during their stay at VCI.

Our goal is to help our guests take the stress out of their vacation planning. Booking your tours and activities are a big part of your vacation. So glad you were pleased with what we did.

Your family was a delight to have as our guests and it thrills us more than you know, to hear you say. "You arrived at Vista Canyon Inn as our guest and left feeling like a member of the family". Looking forward to having you visit us again. Blessings & Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was incredibly impressed with Vista Canyon Inn! Marsha picked us up from the airport and served as a great informant on our quick drive back to the breathtaking Inn. The views of the canyon were amazing! My husband and I loved relaxing in the pool and hot tub and enjoying the gorgeous views! Our room was impeccable. Everything was super clean! Marsha decorated the room beautifully - it was easy to see her attention to detail - the same personal care that is given to every aspect of the Inn. No corners were cut - the linens, pillows, and even the toilet paper were of the finest quality - you may laugh, but it's the attention given to these details that make you feel pampered when you are away! The pride that Marsha and Eleazar take in Vista Canyon Inn is evident everywhere you look - from superbly kept rooms and grounds to OUTSTANDING hospitality. Marsha and Eleazar went above and beyond in every way possible! They booked our rental car and had it delivered to the Inn for our convenience, scheduled our excursions including ziplining, rafting and hiking tours, provided us with a cell phone and their contact information in case we needed anything during our vacation - which came in very handy! They even ordered dinner in for us as we didn't want to leave their beautiful views! It is this extra care and attention that make Vista Canyon Inn in a league of its own. I could not recommend this place more! It is the perfect starting and ending point for your Costa Rican vacation or even the perfect place to stay as there are really great day trip options from the hotel's location! Thanks for the amazing stay Marsha and Eleazar, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the most amazing view of the canyon from our bed in the Owner's Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha W, Owner at Vista Canyon Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
What a great title for your awesome review. Since opening Vista Canyon Inn we have strived to be the best we can be. Providing outstanding customer service, high quality bedding, linens and amenities not often found while staying in Costa Rica. My business partner laughed when he read your comment about the toilet paper. We must have tried 10 different brands before finding one I would approve for use in the rooms. In fact, it is the same type we use in the house. LOL. Yes... the little things do make a difference.

Glad you enjoyed the tours we arranged. We try to use only the top companies with the highest ratings and reviews. We want your tour experience to rate right up there with your stay. Booking a rental car from outside Costa Rica can be very frustrating. Stringent insurance requirements often cause big surprises when you pick up your car. Sometimes doubling your rental cost with the insurance required by the government. We have great relationships with CR Rental Car Companies allowing us to provide no surprise pricing with numerous insurance options for our guests. Arranging your delivery and pickup at the Inn saves you time and money.

We are happy to arrange take out dining for our guests. The last thing most want to do after a long day of driving, touring, etc. is having to go out for dinner. Many times we provide dinner options in house for our guests. However, when that is not available there many great restaurants of all types and prices that deliver. Thrilled to hear you will be visiting us again and promise you another great stay.

Thanks and Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I used Vista Canyon as a launch off and end point for my trip around Costa Rica and was blown away by the view and equally the hospitality. After traveling for over a week and staying at 4 other hotels, we altered our trip to get back here earlier to spend more time taking in the view and relaxing by the pool. This place by far went above and beyond the services provided by our other accommodations. We also had the best view of our entire trip from our bed in the owners suite! From the bed we could see the entire canyon....the view never got old! We also had the best Costa Rican breakfast of any place we stayed, here! If you are looking for a place around San Jose, or traveling around Costa Rica and are looking for a place to start your trip, there is no better spot.

Marsha and Eleazar offer more than a place to stay, they helped recommend (and booked) some of our activities, booked our car rental and provided a cell phone for our trip (which came in very handy)! Give this place a try, and it could be one of the better places you stay your entire trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha W, Owner at Vista Canyon Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Can't thank you enough for the wonderful review and comments about your stay with us. Not only is it a tremendous compliment it definitely confirms that we know what our guests want. They appreciate the attention to detail and the personalized service we enjoy providing. The Owner's Suite is extremely popular with our guests so I was delighted it was available for your stay. Yes, the view is stunning and available from the comfy sofa in the sitting area as well as from the bed.

Our beds and high quality count linen continuously receive raved reviews from our guests. A great nights sleep is the perfect beginning to a wonderful day. I will pass your kind words about breakfast on to Chef Maria. She loves what she does and enjoys introducing our guests to her wonderful Costa Rican breakfasts. Her empanada's are definitely favored by our guests and she surprises them daily with what she puts inside. Regardless, there are very seldom any left overs.

We are delighted you chose to stay with us your last night in Costa Rica. Hot water, high water pressure and air conditioning are amenities our guest want during their stays. Especially after traveling throughout the country finding such common amenities not always available.

Exceptional accommodations and excellent service is what we enjoy providing our guests.
And, we thank you for allowing us to share it with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Upon arrival to San Jose, Eleazer greeted us at the airport and quickly took us to the Inn. The Inn to me is a perfect "welcome to CR" and I will be back! My favorite was sitting in the hammock swing with my coffee listening to the birds and feeling the light breeze off the canyon getting my first CR sunrise!

The rooms were perfect! Spacious, roomy, clean, comfortable, and air conditioned! The breakfast in the morning was the best...fresh fruit, fresh juice, and breakfast empanadas...I could of ate and ate and ate :)

Had we not already rented a house on the south Caribbean we would have stayed here much longer!! Marsha and Eleazar are amazing and are now friends! I hope to see you both on our way home! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KelT9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha W, Owner at Vista Canyon Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Complimentary Airport pick up is something that sets Vista Canyon Inn apart from most other B&B's and Boutique Inns in the San Jose area. Although, it is just a short ride from the San Jose International Airport, the ride back to the Inn gives us a chance to meet and visit with our guests. It is also a great time to answer any questions the guests have about the Country, the Inn, us, etc.

It also takes a lot of the stress away from arriving in a foreign country and having to hassle with finding transportation as well as finding the place you are staying. This allows our guests to start their vacation adventure as soon as they board the airplane. And once they arrive in Costa Rica enjoying "Pura Vida" can begin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Vista Canyon Inn our first night in Costa Rica and it was a great way to kick off our vacation! Marsha met us at the airport and brought us to the hotel which saved a lot of stress upon arrival. Everything about the grounds is beautiful - breathtaking view, very clean and comfortable. The room was impeccable - clean, nice linens, and had everything we needed. Marsha and Eleazar were amazing hosts and went above and beyond to make us feel at home - we wished we would have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha W, Owner at Vista Canyon Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We enjoyed having you as guests if only for one night. When traveling to a foreign country most travelers are concerned about their health and safety. That's why the cleanliness of all rooms as well as the rest of our property are at the top of the list.

Although, we feel our staff are some of the best in Costa Rica my partner and I still personally inspect each room prior to the guests arrival. Doing so insure that the level of service we strive to provide our guests is never compromised.

We hope that your next visit to Costa Rica allows your stay with us to be a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
3.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
8.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Canyon Inn

Property: Vista Canyon Inn
Address: Copey Street , Santa Ana, San Jose | On Copey St. Go 60m West, Then 100m North. Vista Canyon Inn Is on Left Side, Grey Door With Logo, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport transportation available, hot water and air conditioned, english/spanish speaking staff, tour desk, free calls to US & Canada. Private and secluded location with spectacular views. Owners live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vista Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Canyon Inn Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing