We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kids love this place...”
Review of Tacobar Santa Ana

Tacobar Santa Ana
Ranked #7 of 108 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating
Description: Get to know Tacobar, the beloved Costa Rican chain that brings the beach to the city! Try our world famous tacos made to order from the freshest ingredients, prime Costa Rican coffee, all-you-can-eat exotic salad bar, and lots of other delicious options on our ever growing menu! Our unique design invites customers to enjoy our famous bar swings and cool music in a beach like atmosphere. As Costa Ricans like to say: Estamos para servirle - We are here to serve you! Pura Vida
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“kids love this place...”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great breakfast special. Orange juice is freshly squeezed(not carton) They open early 7am. We always get the breakfast pizza for the center of table. Portions are large. The burritos are heavenly. Menu is a little confusing but full of options. Nice salad bar. Open air fun architecture. Santa Ana location has a trampoline with safety net around it( brand new) which keeps kids busy till food arrives.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    108
    35
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great environment, and fast, delicious food!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We've passed this place a million times and I regret not having stopped in to try it earlier! Up close, the restaurant design and decor is really neat, you can hardly tell from the road - absolutely love the atmosphere. The food was also surprisingly exceptional! We ordered the chicken tacos (teriyaki) and the hummus plate with steak and pitas, both of these dishes was absolutely delicious. For comparable restaurants where we live (Tamarindo) the prices don't seem too bad (we ate lunch for about $21) but it still feels pretty expensive for just two tacos and two pitas (albeit delicious!) A slightly lower price would make this fabulous place an even better value. Definitely will eat there during the next visit to town!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a fun place to eat. . you get to create your own taco after choosing the basic ingredient. We tried the smoked salmon, the tuna (tuna steak - not the canned stuff!) and chicken. Then you go to a salad bar where you choose your own toppings. However, this is a true salad bar - not just a topping bar. There was a macaroni salad, beet salad, along with all the usual toppings.
There are plenty of vegetarian choices too - including hummus. So there is something for everyone.
Nice atmosphere - easy to get to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was fast, I had a pita sandwhich with steak . It was delicious
and if you love smoothies definetly get strawberry + banana! the best ever! the larger one is huge so just get the small one., anyway if you bought a burrito, pita, taco etc you would get to eat from the salad bar, all you can eat.. it wasn't that good, but i'm picky.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bpete17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun, reasonably priced dinner”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ate here twice on our trip (our kids liked it so much they insisted on returning on our final night). The fish tacos were excellent (they also have meat tacos, burritos, etc etc), and once you get your meal there is a salad bar with lots of other fillings and sauces (as well as salads) that you can use to "decorate" your tacos. It's a fun atmosphere that is mostly open-air, and even wooden swings that you can sit on at some of the tables. The drinks were fantastic (my favorite was the ginger-mint lemonade, but my kids insisted that the iced tea was better). Wish they had a restaurant like this at home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug313NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacobar Santa Ana also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Tacobar Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing