We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel Rocks... haha”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2009

one of the best hotel that i have been in costa rica .... the three days that i stay at the hotel were amazing the staff ppl always taking care of everything. the girl at the frontdesk were damm pretty. it was such a pleasure to stay there. i do really recomend this hotel.!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank payulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada Canal Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel is located in an area with a wonderful weather: sunny, dry and fresh, we felt very well during our stay. The view from the hotel is gorgious, the public areas charming, since they it looks like being in a mountain hote,l with fireplace but with a wonderful garden for the guests. The rooms are big, the bed confortable. May be needs some renovation. The service good and the owner nice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nickbenetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Hotel Posada Canal Grande is the best hotel in the area BY FAR!

The price is right and the staff is always making sure that we are well taken care of. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quaint, private, secluded Oasis that is located close to everything.

This hotel is like an Estate Home that has a huge beautiful living room with a bar and reception area and the pool is right in the middle of it all. The rooms surround you in almost a U shape and are comfortable and spacious, they are about 3 times as big as a european hotel room. There are tables and cool balinesian beds by the pool where you can eat your breakfast and check your email on the wireless internet. Whoever makes the flower arrangements for this hotel is an artist, they are always beautiful.

This truly is a place that you don't want to leave, it's like a home away from home. This Hotel reminds me of being in Italy or at a hacienda in South America. It's a great hotel to stay overnight if you are traveling to another location in Costa RIca. It is a 20 minute drive from the airport but well worth it, otherwise your other choices are the standard US style Holiday Inn types that will cost $110-$150 per night for a standard room. You are in Costa Rica to have new experiences not to go to a US chain.

This Hotel is like no other I have found and will be staying there as much as possible.

Travel safe and smart!

World traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank ClarkTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Excellent boutique hotel with uniquely tasteful appointments in the lobby and rooms. Beautiful grounds with a lovely outdoor pool. The staff are welcoming and friendly and always make your stay memorable. There is a 24 hour bar service, although not the busy type you would think of in a large corporate hotel. Think more you and the server in tranquil setting. Free breakfast is served poolside every morning and is delicious. There are grounds for walking with trees and other interesting plants. Rooms are large and have really nice hand crafted wooden furniture. The bathrooms are spotlessly clean. The maid service is exemplary and attentive. There is a night watchman and onsite security so your safety is never a question here. However, the area is safe to begin with as it is a nicer suburb of San Jose. Don't believe me? Just check the real estate prices in Santa Ana. There is always a cooling breeze in the Santa Ana hills so the area is not as hot as San Jose Central. There is a gourmet Italian restaurant which is attached to this hotel. The food and service are impeccable. There are also several other dining options close by in terms of walking or within a few minutes drive if you have a rental. When you stay at this hotel you are very close to the night life of Costa Rica's version of Beverly Hills, namely, Escazu. You will also be close to the myriad of nightlife options of San Jose Central. The airport is around twenty minutes away. I have stayed here many times and I can not use words to characterize how serene and relaxing this hotel is. As I stated before, Posada is within striking distance of all the nightlife but far enough away to give you reprieve when you want to escape all the hustle and bustle. Posada's setting also puts you in an area where you can see the daily lives of locals and make friends with the incredibly friendly people of this great country. Posada can arrange tours and provide referrals for other great hotels in different parts of the country. Did I mention this hotel is a really great bargain too. Say hola to Heiner and Felix when you get there, they are their two best employees.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank la-selva-es-para-mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We are unsure of how to review the Hotel Posada Canal Grande. It was definitely the most beautiful and most tasteful of the five hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica, with interesting art of different periods. We are art lovers (and collectors) so this hotel had immense appeal to us. The price was fair and there was a wonderful lap pool with breakfast served nearby. The staff was friendly and helpful, though it seemed that they were amateurs filling in on the owner/manager's day off. We did have two problems: we timed our arrival so that we could eat our evening dinner at the hotel restaurant. We were not told that the restaurant is not open every day. It seemed to be closed both Sunday and Monday, and the only restaurant nearby stopped serving dinner minutes before we arrived. We finally had a pizza delivered to the hotel from the local Pizza Hut. Our second problem stemmed from the fact that we wanted to use the hotel as an "airport" hotel and had read in a guide book that the hotel provided airport transfers. In actuality, the hotel will simply arrange for a taxi. I reread the hotel's web site and noticed that nowhere do they claim to provide airport transfers, so the guide book was to blame for our confusion. In general, we were given the impression that no one really cared whether we stayed at the Canal Grande or somewhere else, but the hotel itself was so lovely that we are glad we stayed the one night. My wife asked, "Where is the management? Why would they put so much money into building such a beautiful hotel and then run it so haphazardly?" She was itching to take over the management herself. Would we go back? Probably not, but it would be a great choice for someone visiting the San Jose area for several days.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

While the price was reasonable for the room, it did not make up for the owner's lack of professionalism. We weren't given the accomodations we were promised, there was nobody at the front desk for the majority of the day, and the taxi service provided through the hotel tried to scam us into paying the equivalent of $20 for a 10 minute ride. Worst of all, when we tried to check out, the owner immediately became argumentative - using threats and personal insults to intimidate us into staying. Luckily, we were able to leave, and check into a nearby hotel!

Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
4  Thank swite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2006

The hotel itself is located in calm surroundings at the outskirts of San Jose and the rooms are OK (but not more) for an overnight stay. However, the owner (european) practises and strange kind of customer policy. For a broken piece of ordinary glass ( 80x80 cm) he charged me 80$ and threatened to call the police and hold me back agaist my will until I had paid him- in cash of course! Most unpleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susanne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
995 reviews
2.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
574 reviews
5.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
574 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
116 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range: $33 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing