We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Lovely hotel although it is quite a way from the centre of San Jose. Breakfast is very expensive and the portions are small. Best check the menu for prices prior to ordering anything including lunch. Only 1 restaurant near by so choices are limited.
Staff are really friendly, hotel is extremely clean, feels very safe and it's a lovely stay, they were happy to keep our luggage there whilst we travelled around for a week or so.
Pool is good although no shallow end.

Room Tip: All rooms we stayed in were lovely with ample space, peaceful and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haydemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Front Office Manager at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

We are very glad that you had a great stay, we are located 12 kilometers from San Jose down town and closer to many of commercial areas of Santa Ana. Our menu is for the convenience and avoid going out for a meal, the are two restaurants accessible from the hotel that you can even walk (they have their schedule and they close on Monday) like always our staff will make from your stay the most enjoyable possible. We hope that your good experience encourage this enormous community if travelers to come and enjoy like you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 348 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to leaving Costa Rica. It is clean, quiet, safe, and we were surrounded by good people. Our nights' stay included breakfast and on our final day, we drove two hours southwest to Jaco beach and rather than take all of our luggage out with us on the trip, they let us keep it at the hotel until we returned in the evening, even though we had already checked out. Tony was a great help checking in and Elizabeth was wonderful checking out. They really care about customer service. The hotel is located in the foothills outside of Santa Ana and we got a little lost trying to find the hotel but the location is actually perfect. You would never guess you were even near a city. The only improvement I would make are the beds. They are not too comfortable; but to lounge in the chairs around the pool is ideal. If we make it back to Costa Rica, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lucerotcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoybongo, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our staff, they will always make from your stay the most enjoyable possible. We are located close to the #27 highway to the the pacific, so in more than an hour you will be on the beach(Jaco, Puntarenas, Manue Antonio National Park) we look forward to meeting you again in your next visit and hopefully your great experience is read by this enormous community if travelers and encourage them to come and enjoy like you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I loved staying in this hotel. It has a beautiful view and simple pleasures that one can appreciate when they are looking for tranquilidad. Things such as: a nice and spacious room with a minimalistic approach to furnishings and decor and a great shower and an additional outdoor bed for lazing about! The hotel is set atop a hill and so has beautiful views of the terrain around it and below it- beautiful views day and night. Depending on your level of fitness and your desire for exercise, it is possible to walk down to the Main Street ( be careful if you do), but I personally would go to and fro by taxi because it's a bit of a hike and Taxi's are not expensive.

The typical Costa Rican breakfast served at the hotel is delicious and filling and is served on the veranda. The staff of the hotel were most kind and helpful.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms look like, but i did notice the hotel has 2 floors, I was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ava I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

We are more than glad that you appreciated the tranquility of our place; it is always pretty quiet and relaxing environment, ideal for a relaxing and quiet stay. Our staff will always be willing to make form your stay the most enjoyable possible. We hope that you great experience encourage this enormous community of travelers to come and enjoy like you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved this place. It was beautiful, calm and romantic. The view is amazing, the rooms and beds are huge, everything is clean, the staff is super friendly and nice and we never wanted to leave. Would recommend it to everyone. Especially for the price you have to pay. Book through Booking.com or expedia.com since it is way cheaper than paying straight away at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzannel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I decided to book a night at the Posada to stay with our two young daughters before embarking on a cross-country trip to explore the coasts. My friend ended up arriving the day before I did, and by the time I got there she was raving about what a great place it was and how the staff went out of their way to make their stay great.

After one night there, my daughter and I agreed with all our friends said and decided that it was our favorite hotel in Costa Rica (we've been to many hotels in CR in the past...) and we loved it for many reasons including the staff, the comfortable and large hotel rooms, the beautiful pool area and views, and the small size of the place that made it seem like the staff and other guests were all part of our family after a short time!

We went all over Costa Rica after that, but when we dropped by friend off at the airport we decided to go back to the Posada to see if they had another room available for us. Sure enough they went out of the way to phone up all of the people with reservations one by one to confirm they were coming, until they found out someone had to cancel, and then they gave the room to us (after already inviting us in to hang out and enjoy the pool area and wonderful guest areas in the lobby while we waited.)

This hotel is beautiful and quaint and exactly the right balance of relaxing and near town that we needed on our trip. We hope to stay there again very soon. (The manager Elizabeth is such a gem- my daughter and I will miss her like family! Thank you again for such a great experience.)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kcasper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great location away from the bustle of the city lovely grounds and great staff.
Rooms were spacious but dated and a little tired as far as decor goes.
Investment in some new mattresses would go a long way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We only stayed here for one night before heading to the airport, but the hotel made a great impression. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The decor in the lobby and rooms is excellent. My one complaint, which is not necessarily attributed to the hotel itself, was the level of noise from the neighbors. I'm not sure if it was a one-time event or a regular occurrence, but the neighbors had live music, karaoke, etc. until midnight, which made for a rough night's sleep before a flight. However, I wouldn't let that stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
1,012 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
120 reviews
2.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
5.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,513 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing