We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Luisiana(Santa Ana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studio Hotel(Santa Ana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
218
89
36
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
89
36
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit treessan josecosta ricascreened windowsclose to the airportbeautiful hotelspoke englishhidden gemtreated like familysmall hotelnice breakfastlast nightpura vidaelizabethfurnituregpstaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 357 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel while on our way to the Osa Peninsula and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is about half an hour from the airport, up in the cool hills. At our request, they sent a driver to pick us up at San Jose airport. The hotel is delightful, and with so much character: colonial architecture, high ceilings, antiques, large rooms, and immaculately clean. We were warmly welcomed by Elizabeth, who seems to do everything from checking in guests to cooking gourmet dinners. We chose the prix fixe dinner served on the terrace: sea bass with baked eggplant--delicious. The bed was comfortable, hot water was plentiful, and a breeze cooled the room all night (no a.c., but not needed). Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Second-floor end room was perfect--quiet and cool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandecanal, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

We are more than glad that you had a great stay and were charmed with your experience overall, we will be glad to arrange transportation for the arrivals when requested and our driver will expect for you at the airport, we are glad that you know how to appreciate our unique decoration that it is what gives character and a nice ambience plus our staff that is always willing to make for your stay the most comfortable possible, don’t forget to ask for a dinner on our terrace with the most exquisites and fresh ingredients. We hope that this encourage this enormous community of travelers to come and enjoy it like you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were staying here on our way into CR for a 2 months study abroad in Manuel Antonio... First off, getting here was a bit of a nightmare. We GPSed it and it took us a street over. I asked a couple people on the street if they had heard of it with no luck. Fortunately, earlier we had made a wrong turn and tried the "rerouting" trek and we eventually saw the signs on the street. When we got here, this place was like an oasis. Elizabeth is very sweet and helpful. The gardens are beautiful. We went upstairs to our room, couple things about it: The rooms are slightly outdated (no biggie) and the beds in our room were very firm. We left our luggage and went down to dinner Elizabeth prepared herself, It was soooo good. When we went back to our room, one of our bags had been attacked by ants looking for a cough drop. We had a bit of an ant problem the rest of our stay. The next evening I was looking forward to dinner again, and I waited, and waited, and waited.. No dinner. If there was a process to ordering dinner it was not communicated in any way. The first night we were offered dinner on our arrival, and I guess I expected someone to ask, but no one did.. It seems strange to offer dinner one night and not the next. Also, technically there is a bar, but no one manages it, so it was uncomfortable for me to interrupt Elizabeth (who is obviously often busy) to ask for a drink. The rooms are not equipped with an ice bucket or minifridge to keep our own stock, and then considering the ant problem I couldn't have kept food in the room anyway. Which is a bummer, because the pool area is gorgeous and after so much traveling we didn't really want to leave but felt forced to leave to feed ourselves. When all was said and done, I felt like I overpaid for our stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank kledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

We are more than glad that you had a great stay, some of the GPS like the Garmin confuse the street location where we are, we recommend asking us for directions depending where you are driving from. Like always our staff will be willing to make from your stay the most enjoyable possible, from advises to any arrangement and also we do at the hotel dinner when requested and we have a minimum number of persons to star dinner. We figure that the ants came to your stuff because there was some sort of food, otherwise they don’t crawl over, this is very natural in a tropical weather, so we advise to not to leave any leftover or open food in the room. Do not hesitate to ask for a drink at the bar, our staff will never be too busy to do it, we would be more than glad to serve you a drink. We appreciate your appreciation on the hotel price and we have one of the most competitive rates around, if you compare facilities and service you will be satisfied with the price. We hope that this clarifies any doubt that any new traveler might have about staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Tired of staying at cookie-cutter hotels, with endless, long hallways of identical doors and identical, boring rooms? The Hotel Posada Canal Grande is the opposite. It's like I imagine the fancy (and incredibly expensive) hotels that folks like Brad Pitt stay at when they travel. Huge rooms, huge beds, beautiful, spacious lobby, and fantastic poolside patio in the middle of all the rooms. A wonderful breakfast was included in the price, and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We are more than glad that you describe your stay like a very pleasant experience, we are grateful that you appreciated our ambience and the unique decoration, we also treat everyone like individual and our staff will always be willing to make from your stay the most enjoyable possible, we look forward to your prompt visit and we hope that this good experience encourage those who are looking to stay in a different place with character and charm and not being in crowd places

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had everything we needed. Finding the hotel wasn't too easy, so I would agree with those who suggested more or clearer signs - our tour operator had written a very precise description on how to find the place, so we didn't have that issue.
Elizabeth was great when we arrived and helpful and kind throughout our stay.
The 3 course dinner was great and very tasty!
The setup is fantastic with great views, a stunning sunset and a very relaxed atmosphere...
Couldn't ask for more...

A/C wasn't necessary when we were there and the air vents by the windows provide sufficient airflow to make it comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SebastianT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

We are very glad that you were very content with the service; we suggest arranging transportation with us or having very precise directions like you had. Our staff will always be willing to help and make from your stay the most pleasant experience, don’t miss to try our fresh served dinner on our terrace, you will be delightful with the delicious and instantly cooked dinner. We don’t advertise nor sell rooms with A/C, it is not a must, rooms have enough ventilation, the weather is nice and fresh. We hope that this good experience encourages this enormous community of travelers to come and enjoy it like you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed Posad Canal Grande Hotel: In a quiet neighbourhood, lots of garden, and great dining at Da Marco. The place is located only 35 minutes from the airport. Not that easy to find would be our only comment, other than that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandecanal, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are more than glad that you really enjoyed your stay and got advantage of our gardens and green areas, we are glad that you had a great experience at the restaurant which is managed separately and works together with us, we are not far from the airport and it would be better if before coming ask for directions or arrange a transportation if it is possible. We look forward to this good experience encourage new travelers to come and enjoyed like you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews