We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique, and so much better than Best Western!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique, and so much better than Best Western!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel while on our way to the Osa Peninsula and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is about half an hour from the airport, up in the cool hills. At our request, they sent a driver to pick us up at San Jose airport. The hotel is delightful, and with so much character: colonial architecture, high ceilings, antiques, large rooms, and immaculately clean. We were warmly welcomed by Elizabeth, who seems to do everything from checking in guests to cooking gourmet dinners. We chose the prix fixe dinner served on the terrace: sea bass with baked eggplant--delicious. The bed was comfortable, hot water was plentiful, and a breeze cooled the room all night (no a.c., but not needed). Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Second-floor end room was perfect--quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandecanal, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We are more than glad that you had a great stay and were charmed with your experience overall, we will be glad to arrange transportation for the arrivals when requested and our driver will expect for you at the airport, we are glad that you know how to appreciate our unique decoration that it is what gives character and a nice ambience plus our staff that is always willing to make for your stay the most comfortable possible, don’t forget to ask for a dinner on our terrace with the most exquisites and fresh ingredients. We hope that this encourage this enormous community of travelers to come and enjoy it like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    82
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
126
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were staying here on our way into CR for a 2 months study abroad in Manuel Antonio... First off, getting here was a bit of a nightmare. We GPSed it and it took us a street over. I asked a couple people on the street if they had heard of it with no luck. Fortunately, earlier we had made a wrong turn and tried the "rerouting" trek and we eventually saw the signs on the street. When we got here, this place was like an oasis. Elizabeth is very sweet and helpful. The gardens are beautiful. We went upstairs to our room, couple things about it: The rooms are slightly outdated (no biggie) and the beds in our room were very firm. We left our luggage and went down to dinner Elizabeth prepared herself, It was soooo good. When we went back to our room, one of our bags had been attacked by ants looking for a cough drop. We had a bit of an ant problem the rest of our stay. The next evening I was looking forward to dinner again, and I waited, and waited, and waited.. No dinner. If there was a process to ordering dinner it was not communicated in any way. The first night we were offered dinner on our arrival, and I guess I expected someone to ask, but no one did.. It seems strange to offer dinner one night and not the next. Also, technically there is a bar, but no one manages it, so it was uncomfortable for me to interrupt Elizabeth (who is obviously often busy) to ask for a drink. The rooms are not equipped with an ice bucket or minifridge to keep our own stock, and then considering the ant problem I couldn't have kept food in the room anyway. Which is a bummer, because the pool area is gorgeous and after so much traveling we didn't really want to leave but felt forced to leave to feed ourselves. When all was said and done, I felt like I overpaid for our stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank kledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are more than glad that you had a great stay, some of the GPS like the Garmin confuse the street location where we are, we recommend asking us for directions depending where you are driving from. Like always our staff will be willing to make from your stay the most enjoyable possible, from advises to any arrangement and also we do at the hotel dinner when requested and we have a minimum number of persons to star dinner. We figure that the ants came to your stuff because there was some sort of food, otherwise they don’t crawl over, this is very natural in a tropical weather, so we advise to not to leave any leftover or open food in the room. Do not hesitate to ask for a drink at the bar, our staff will never be too busy to do it, we would be more than glad to serve you a drink. We appreciate your appreciation on the hotel price and we have one of the most competitive rates around, if you compare facilities and service you will be satisfied with the price. We hope that this clarifies any doubt that any new traveler might have about staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett Park
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Tired of staying at cookie-cutter hotels, with endless, long hallways of identical doors and identical, boring rooms? The Hotel Posada Canal Grande is the opposite. It's like I imagine the fancy (and incredibly expensive) hotels that folks like Brad Pitt stay at when they travel. Huge rooms, huge beds, beautiful, spacious lobby, and fantastic poolside patio in the middle of all the rooms. A wonderful breakfast was included in the price, and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are more than glad that you describe your stay like a very pleasant experience, we are grateful that you appreciated our ambience and the unique decoration, we also treat everyone like individual and our staff will always be willing to make from your stay the most enjoyable possible, we look forward to your prompt visit and we hope that this good experience encourage those who are looking to stay in a different place with character and charm and not being in crowd places
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had everything we needed. Finding the hotel wasn't too easy, so I would agree with those who suggested more or clearer signs - our tour operator had written a very precise description on how to find the place, so we didn't have that issue.
Elizabeth was great when we arrived and helpful and kind throughout our stay.
The 3 course dinner was great and very tasty!
The setup is fantastic with great views, a stunning sunset and a very relaxed atmosphere...
Couldn't ask for more...

A/C wasn't necessary when we were there and the air vents by the windows provide sufficient airflow to make it comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SebastianT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We are very glad that you were very content with the service; we suggest arranging transportation with us or having very precise directions like you had. Our staff will always be willing to help and make from your stay the most pleasant experience, don’t miss to try our fresh served dinner on our terrace, you will be delightful with the delicious and instantly cooked dinner. We don’t advertise nor sell rooms with A/C, it is not a must, rooms have enough ventilation, the weather is nice and fresh. We hope that this good experience encourages this enormous community of travelers to come and enjoy it like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchheim bei Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed Posad Canal Grande Hotel: In a quiet neighbourhood, lots of garden, and great dining at Da Marco. The place is located only 35 minutes from the airport. Not that easy to find would be our only comment, other than that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandecanal, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are more than glad that you really enjoyed your stay and got advantage of our gardens and green areas, we are glad that you had a great experience at the restaurant which is managed separately and works together with us, we are not far from the airport and it would be better if before coming ask for directions or arrange a transportation if it is possible. We look forward to this good experience encourage new travelers to come and enjoyed like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Well like the review from 7/17 our comments our almost identical. Our trip started and ended here. The hotel is tucked away but our taxi and rental car place knew exactly where it was. We opted for the 3 course dinner the last night and wished we had our first night there. The amazingly multi talented and completely charming Elizabeth prepared our 3 courses. The food was absolutely delicious. My wife and I were blown away at how helpful Elizabeth was and actually the entire staff. It is true there is no a/c but it wasnt advertised or even needed. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully landscaped. The rooms are large and clean. The lodge has a quaint charm to it. If you are looking for a great place to stay that isnt expensive and close to the airport, then you must stay here. I dont believe you will be disappointed with the stay, and you definitely wont be disappointed with the charming Elizabeth. Scott and Pam

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandecanal, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are very glad that you stayed twice with us and you are content with the Service, we can’t be more satisfied when our customers dine in our hotel and they reply with the most amazing feedbacks like the best food on the trip and the best they ever tried. Our staff will always be willing to go out of their way to make from your stay the most memorable experience. We are blessed with our spectacular views of the valley, surrounded by nature, near the city and not far from the airport. We hope that this good experience encourage others travelers from this forum to come and enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews and the close proximity to the international airport -only 15 minutes away. It was marvelous!! It is gated, a security guard is on duty, it is up and above the city so its quiet and the landscaping is gorgeous, but the interior of the hotel is just wonderful.
The décor is a mixture of modern and ancient African pieces in the lobby. room was comfortable and clean, very nice. The service was outstanding. Elizabeth checked us in, showed us our room, fixed out drinks, made our dinner. They don't advertise a restaurant but meals are available and we had one the best dinners -appetizer, main course and dessert-that we have tasted in a long time anywhere. She did it all. She speaks English, Italian and Spanish and is studying Mandarin. What a Gal! Very talented and smart and we had a long conversation with her on all sorts of subjects. I hope they appreciate what an asset she is to this hotel. The hotel sits on at least 3 acres -my guess-and all landscaped, big swimming pool, lots of flowers abound.

Room Tip: Second floor gives a great view off the large patio of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dustybrushes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are more than glad that you had a great stay and were overwhelmed with our atmosphere, we are conveniently located near from and to the airport, a short drive if you know the way and if you do not, we suggest to request us for transportation. We have open and free grounds where you can enjoy a great view of the mountains and the city. We have decorated the hotel with the most meticulous pieces from everywhere, Africa, Bali´s furniture and locally, don’t hesitate to ask for the history that our collection has. Like always our staff is willing to make from your stay the most enjoyable experience, from little advises to the most exquisite meals served in our patio. We hope that your great experience encourage others travelers to come and enjoy like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
2.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
9.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing