We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Luisiana(Santa Ana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studio Hotel(Santa Ana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
218
89
36
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
89
36
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit treessan josecosta ricascreened windowsclose to the airportbeautiful hotelspoke englishhidden gemtreated like familysmall hotelnice breakfastlast nightpura vidaelizabethfurnituregpstaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 357 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica after reading the positive reviews, but were quite disappointed. First the good - the staff here are phenomenal, especially Elizabeth. Dedicated, helpful, friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. We decided to have dinner at the hotel and the meal was one of the best we had during our whole trip. In addition, the price was great and the hotel was only about a 20 minute drive from the airport.

Unfortunately, the positive comments end here. First of all, the hotel is extremely difficult to find. We drove by the poorly marked entrance 3 times before finding it and that was with the help of a GPS. Better directions should be given and a clear sign or two posted on the street would help. Secondly, the rooms themselves are rather dated and not too clean. We found several ants in our bathroom (which was far from sparkling)and throughout the room. Also, the rooms do not have air conditioning or a fan, and the windows are not nearly enough to cool down the place at all. In addition, the bathrooms also only had commercial-type hand soap from a dispenser by the sink, not too accessible from the shower.

Overall, the hotel has some potential with a great view of the city, dedicated staff and a relaxing vibe, but the place itself could use some updating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiner183, Front Office Manager at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

We are very glad that you really enjoyed your stay, even though your split appreciation, after reading your review seems that you were more pleased and positive than disappointed which is not the most fair title for your review, Like always our staff will be willing to make from your stay the most enjoyable possible, our great price like it´s been said has modest amenities but the necessary. This is a tropical weather and when the rains start the tiny animals look for a dry place and that is what could happened if you were staying in a room on the ground floor when you saw a few ants. We don’t advertise nor sell rooms with a/c, our weather is an ideal temperature, it is on average fresh, fans can by requested if you feel like need it. Hope that this clarifies any doubts others travelers might have about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and heard good reviews. However, we were disappointed with a few things. First of all the staff was very friendly which was great and the room were spacious and comfortable. But the bathroom was not very clean (hair on the floor and dirt) and we ran out of toilet paper almost immediately. There is no air conditioning which is fine but there is not even a fan to help circulate the air which made the rooms uncomfortably hot.
On another note this place was hard to find-a better address or GPS navigation would be very helpful and we drove around confused for about 20 minutes before we by chance stumbled on it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandecanal, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

We are glad as well for your appreciation even tough your short stay and that you had issues, if we would have been noticed before our staff would have helped you so much and solved your little inconvenient . The a/c is not a must though the weather most of the time is fresh and rooms have ventilation although we don’t advertise or sell rooms as we had a/c. What is true and is not the exception in every review is that our staff will always be willing to make the most comfortable and relaxing expedience. We hardly recommend contacting us for further instructions of how to get to the hotel, it is not recommended to drive if you don’t know well the place driving at night makes it even more challenging, driving by yourself to pretty much of the hotels without a gps is counterproductive and a taxi will be the best option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

As soon as we stepped into the room, we were awed. Huge beds, spacious bathrooms, and a very good energetic set-up of furniture and decoration. There was a small tv, beautifully folded towels with flowers on top and an amazing views out of all the windows including the bathroom window. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

We are very glad that you were overwhelmed with our charmed environment; no doubt this is a good recommendation for everyone who is looking for relaxing and more, we hope this encourage this enormous community of travelers to come and have a good experience like you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Located in a Coffe farm surrounded by nature, birds and peace.
This place has only 12 rooms so it is always not crowded, it has a nice pool, from the second floor the panorama is amazing overlooking part of the Central Valley and the pacific coast at the distance

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Costaricans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiner183, Front Office Manager at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

We are more than glad that you were overwhelmed with our whole scenario, our small and charmed hotel is ideal for relaxing and start a vacation journey, we look forward for travelers to come and discover this hidden gem down here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

After so many hotels all around the world this is only one where I feel like at home with all people that work there (specially Elizabeth, Hener and Marco).
Because of them I change all my Costa Rica travel plan so many times (in 2 months staying there) just to stay with them and other guest; to relax in garden near to swimming pool.
Cosra Rica and Canal Grande Hotel was my best experience in life.
Thank you so much for all your hospitality and help.
I will come back again !
Nikola Boric

Room Tip: In two months stay there I change all 12 rooms and I cant say which one was best.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikola_B260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiner183, Front Office Manager at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your good experiences with this enormous community of travelers, hopefully this encourage others travelers to come and experience themselves like you did and have one of the best time in life. We will always be so glad to advice and guide whenever someone needs to hear about travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews