We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completing our Caravan Trip at the Quality Hotel Real”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent our final night in San Jose, Costa Rica and the last few hours with our Caravan tour group at this Hotel. While it was different from the other hotels and resorts we had experienced in our trip, it was a quality hotel to stay, had a great breakfast buffet and dinner available to us. The reception staff were very helpful and it was nice and close to the airport for those in our group that had to go via that route.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacdo7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Mrs Jacdo7887

Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments.
Our staff will try as far as possible that the service to our visitors be offered in the most personalized way to make you feel comfortable and relaxed in our facilities.

Waiting to see you soon in San Jose.
Sincerely,

Juan Jose Santos Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 489 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

No coffee maker in room, no water in our room ( was told there would be 2 bottles) and ice maker was always empty. Average hotel rooms but nice and clean. Typical buffet food. Help could have been friendlier. Fronts desk people were nice but others had a careless attitude. We were there with a tour group.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest B B,

First at all thanks for taking the time to send us your comments.
We are working on correcting all the details mentioned because this was an unusual situation and we will take care does not be repeat in the future.
This allows us to improve our service daily.
Hoping to see you again in our hotel.


Best regards

Juan José Santos Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Caravan Costa Rica tour. Although comfortable enough with nice bed linens, comfy king bed, good bathroom and shower, had no local charm. In room safe was easy to use. All public areas much too cold with ac set very high. Breakfast selection very good...lots of fresh fruit, good coffee and an eggs-made-to-order station. Taxi to the airport $25.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serpentine215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Mr. Serpentine215

Is a pleasure to greeting you and say Thank you for take part of your value time to write your comments about our hotel breakfast, lines, rooms conditions and different. We ill continue working to improve our service.

Will be a pleasure waiting for you in the future.

Best regards

Juan Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Clean, safe, and comfortable. The staff were great. The internet was fairly fast (not always the case in Costa Rica). The food was good and plentiful. Overall an excellent stay. I would refer this hotel if you want a place that covers the basics and is clean and affordable.

Room Tip: Next to the highway for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Mr Trent R,

First at all thanks for taking the time to send us your comments.
This allows us to improve our service daily.
Hoping to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Juan José Santos Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Room was very good, with comfortable beds and a clean, well-stocked bathroom. Our dinner, a buffet (with Derek Free's Caravan Group) was great, featuring tasty steaks, fresh fish, and outstanding fruits and vegetables. This made up for our first item purchased in the bar, which was a Piña Colada for my wife - she had taken several sips of it, and asked if she could purchase the remainder of the PC mix which was in the blender. The bartender prepared it, adding the rum to the mix. My wife sampled the second PC (although she was not yet finished with the first) and commented that it did not taste good at all. I sipped it, and it was definitely tart and not at all reminiscent of a PC - it does not help that during our tour week, we have had a dozen or more of these drinks at other locations, and they were all excellent. After I tasted the second drink, I tasted the first one, and found it also was nowhere near a good one.......my wife combined the drinks into one glass and went to meet one of her friends, but said she would have no more drinks there. She initially desired a Mai Tai and was told you don;t have them there. This came as a surprise, because I have known them to be popular drinks for at least 40 years. Oh well - at least the dinner was good, except for the fact that unlike all other hotels and restaurants we had dined at during the week, you did not provide either water, iced tea, lemonade or a fruit drink (except for one half glass of either white or red wine). It was not much of a problem for me to get up from dinner, track down one of the servers (behind the bar) and request for water, which he then brought. However, the drinks should have been provided right on the main serving line or brought prior to the start of the dinner or shortly thereafter by waitstaff. Overall, you should be embarrassed by your shortcomings. Will I be advising Caravan about this? More than likely, my friends. ¡Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Franklin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Mr. Franklin T;

It’s a pleasure to greeting you and say thank you for take part of your value time to write your comments about our General Service in our Hotel.
We are working to correct details as those relating to the preparation of cocktails so that a similar situation not happens again in the future.
So we hope that the next time you visit Costa Rica you choose our hotel to stay with us.

Best Regards

Juan Jose Santos Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Clean, well laid out hotel. I would have thought we were in an American hotel if I had only seen the inside. Not really a destination location but a good place to spend one night arriving or leaving San Jose. Reasonably close to the airport. Our evening and morning buffet style meals were paid as part of a package deal and the quality was acceptable. Bar drinks were a little expensive. Overall, it served it's purpose as the last stop on our tour.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Miss Nancy G

In this opotunity I want to say Thank you for your comments about our service, our prices and our foods.

We will continue working to improve our service and prices.

Best Regards

Juan Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good hotel for a one night stay - rooms were what you would expect from a standard Quality Inn. Location was not especially good especially if you are a tourist and want to be close to downtown. There is nothing anywhere around the area other than highway. Food was average. There was a room with 3 computers set up free of charge. It was nice to be able to download flight boarding passes

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool - it is quieter as you avoid the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Mr grandmac,

We would like to thank the time taken to make a comment about our service.
These comments are very valuable to us in order to take action to improve it.


Best Regards

Juan Jose Santos Franco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
0.9 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,043 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
722 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Real San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Real San Jose

Address: Autopista Prospero FernandezCostado Este Forum, Santa Ana 60-6155, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $81 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Real San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Real San Jose is conveniently located in the new business and entertainment center of Santa Ana district, in San Jose, Costa Rica. Within the hotel's perimeter guests can find two options for casual dining and a locally renowned Spanish restaurant, La Masía. Forum office park is in front of the hotel and Juan Santamaria International Airport is just six miles away. Multiplaza Escazu shopping mall and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are 4 miles away from our lobby. At our restaurant, guests can start the day with a complimentary breakfast prepared by our chef on our omelet station, or enjoy a full breakfast buffet with fresh and healthy options. Our restaurant also offers an exciting selection for lunch and dinner. At the hotel's bar, guests can enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the evenings. Guestroom dining is available with 24-hour room service. The hotel features a well-equipped fitness center, an outdoor pool and free parking for up to 200 vehicles. The hotel's meeting space can accommodate business and social activities up to 70 guests in a reception setting, while our outdoor pool area is the ideal venue for cocktails or special dinners. All guestrooms have been thoughtfully decorated and feature an array of modern amenities such as free high streaming speed Internet, coffee makers, flat screen TV and cable with 12 HD channels, an iron and ironing board. The hotel offers 16 mini suites equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, stereo, king size bed and a small living room with a sofa bed. Whether visiting San Jose for leisure or business, the Quality Hotel Real San Jose is ideal for accommodating your lodging needs. Our multilingual staff looks forward to welcoming you to beautiful Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Real San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Real San Jose Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing