We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding staff and spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Real San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff and spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Looking at some of the reviews for this hotel, I was a little surprised. I had a wonderful stay here at three different times during a recent visit to Costa Rica. A travel agent picked this hotel for us, and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms. The rooms are large, and the beds are comfortable. Everything was super clean and working, although I agree with the reviewer who commented on the low water pressure in the showers. The front desk went out of their way to be helpful and friendly (Eylin is a superstar) as did the bar staff. The breakfast is included and is outstanding. This is not the cheapest place I stayed in Costa Rica, but it is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. It's good to hear that in your three stays have had a positive experience with us. Our rooms are 40 square meters in size approximately, which makes them comfortable for guests regardless of one, two or three people. In the case of low water pressure in the showers and our maintenance team solved the problem and we checked daily. Thanks for the comment about Eylin, she already knows. Our breakfast buffet has multiple choices of dishes and is included in all rates.

Hoping to see soon in our hotel.

Wishing the best,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    155
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
58
109
12
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent a night here before returning to the united states. The rooms are comfortable, the food really good and the staff very friendly. It's a 15 minute trip to the airport. The Internet is complimentary and the provide computers and a printer in their business center so you can print your boarding passes. Not much else to do in the area but there are three restaurant choices in the parking lot if you want to eat outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Best regards from San Jose. First of all we want to thank you for the comment posted about your experience at our hotel. We are very proud that you've had a positive experience with us. In fact the hotel offers 15 meg internet, buffet breakfast and local phone calls included in all rates. Our business center is open 24 hours a day where you can print documents and browse Internet without any additional cost. We are located less than 10 kilometers from the airport.

Your comments will be shared with all our employees and hope to see you again in our facilities.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed three nights and I probably should have tried to get some of the maintenance issues addressed, but I was lazy. The rooms have individual airconditioners under the windows. The temperature knob on ours was broken off, so it was difficult to regulate the temperature and at times it got too cold. The shower had a very weak flow with not all of the water diverted to the shower. It was not as hot as I would have liked.

The line on the hair dryer was riduclously short -- only about 8 inches long.

The elevators are down a rather long hall from the lobby. If you have a room above the first floor with a room number ends in less than 25, you will be "back tracking" a lot. Our room number was low and were overlooked the highways (but noise was not a problem at all).

There is a nice gym by the pool. It was very nice and cool. There is a pleasant view, but no TV. There are free weights, 2 treadmills, two bicycles, and two ellipticals.

There is a breakfast buffet with omelet station. Some of the items on the breakfast buffet are clearly leftovers from the night before -- odd hors d'oevres and dry sandwiches or other oddities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EveSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for writing about your experience in our hotel. We love that the guests were brought to us the points we need to improve in order to deliver an excellent service to all our visitors. We have already taken action on items seen in the room. As for breakfast we are very sorry that you've taken that impression. We keep a strict control of the food we serve in our restaurant to ensure food security for all our visitors.

Hoping to see you again at our facilities.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I just came back from having the Sunday Brunch with my family at this hotel. I have NOT stayed here so this review is regarding the restaurant at the hotel.

When we got there there was about 20+ people waiting in line to get in, Not a problem since we had reservations. So far so good as we got seated right away.

As soon as we got to the buffet area I knew something was not right. Food was lacking, I mean there was no food in about half the food stations (if you can call them that). Ok, no big deal, the other half had food, so I guess it's just a matter of waiting for them to "refill" the empty stations, or so I thought.

My daughter waited in line in the Pasta station for 20 minutes (give or take a minute or two), 10 minjutes later she was still waiting in line! I then get up and asked a waiter if I can talk to a supervisor or a manager as this is unacceptable. He then said "what's the problem," (if I had wanted to talk to a waiter I wouldn't have asked for a supervisor/manager), "you can talk to me". Ok, no worries, so I tell him if they can get more staff to attend to the people as the waiting time seems to be unacceptable. No problem he says, we're taking care of it right now...

About 10 minutes later NOTHING has changed, the table across ours, a party of 4, actually got up and left after waiting about 15 minutes for their drinks (to be fair, the waiters were overwhelmed with the amount of people, obviously they were not used to this). I then proceed to the front desk to ask for some manager that I can talk to. Unfortunately, says the front desk staff, no manager today since it's a Sunday but we can get you the " 'manager' on duty". Cool, someone who can make things happen, or so I thought once again. After about 5 minutes of waiting, this "manager on duty", probably the housekeeping supervisor, by the name of YAHAIRA VEGA comes out of her office chewing what probably was her lunch and unpolitely asked me what I wanted (???). I then proceed to tell her what's going on in the restaurant area and she just replies, very rudely, I might say, that "we are taking care of it right now" and I got the feeling that she wanted to say "who are you to interrupt my lunch?"...

To make a long story short, I will NEVER eat at this place again, NEVER. I would rather pay twice/thrice the price at the Intercontinental down the highway by Multiplaza than get treated like a third class citizen when obviously the staff is not properly trained.

If anybody from management at the Quality Motel reads this please RETRAIN your staff specially, YAHAIRA VEGA, as she definitely needs some schooling as to what customer service is all about.

BTW, the food itself was very good.a 8-9 out of 10... Service is a 2-3 out of 10. Also, I saw some patrons "running' to the dessert station as they bring out about 7-10 desserts at a time. Less than a minute later it's all gone.

Nice way to spend a Sunday brunch with your family....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Customer,

Greetings from San Jose. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. We want to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you had last Sunday Brunch at our restaurant. We have already taken corrective measures to improve our service and to prevent any of our visitors to have a negative experience when enjoying any of our services.

Hoping to see you soon again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Good place, service, nice location. The price doesn't compare to what you may expect. I've used this hotel about four times. Consider that is not located located close from downtown (San Jose). But it's near from the business area

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from San Jose. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. We have a variety of rates depending on the season which are well competitive with the same style hotels in the area. Additional, these rates include breakfast buffet​​, 15 meg internet and local calls, which we believe minimize travel spending of our visitors.

We are located in the fastest growing area in terms of corporate offices and entertainment in the city. We are very close to the highway to San Jose center and takes about 20 minutes by car.

Hoping to see you soon again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Clean and well-appointed hotel located in the Santa Ana suburb around 15 minutes west of San Jose. Parking is complimentary. Right next to the hotel are two dining options .. Rosti Pollo (grilled chicken fast food style) and a mexican restaurant. Around a 5 minute drive in Santa Ana there are also several excellent dining opportunities.

Hotel rooms are clean and comfortable. Rooms include a safe and other amenities such as coffee maker, iron, and flat-screen TV. Downstairs there is a full-service restaurant that also provides for room service. The nightly rate includes buffet breakfast which features a variety of items, all very delicious.

Overall a nice hotel a little further outside of San Jose ... from this hotel the mid Pacific coast towns can be reached very easily by car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reyn_nanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Effectively our hotel is located in a strategic area and we are within walking distance to three restaurants, further down the road to a variety of shopping malls, supermarkets, shops. The description of the rooms you made was excellent. We would not have done better. We have a restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner. Rooms service 24 hours.

All hotel rates have buffet breakfast, internet and local calls included.

Hoping to see you soon again in our facilities.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay at the end or beginning of your vacation to Costa Rica ... if you need to have North American amenities. The rooms are predictable, comfortable and consistent. We have stayed here many times and always find that the internet works, the rooms are clean, great breakfast included, transport to the hotel in the morning and excellent and very helpful staff.

It's about a 15 minute cab ride to the airport (about $20) and is good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRChica01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. As your coments many travelers stay with us because we are located in an area you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, malls. Additional all our rates include buffet breakfast, internet and local calls.

We are very pleased to have been part of your positive experience in Costa Rica.
 
Best regards,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.9 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#3 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
2.5 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
5.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#16 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Real San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Real San Jose

Property: Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Address: Autopista Prospero FernandezCostado Este Forum, Santa Ana 60-6155, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Real San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Real San Jose is conveniently located in the new business and entertainment center of Santa Ana district, in San Jose, Costa Rica. Within the hotel's perimeter guests can find two options for casual dining and a locally renowned Spanish restaurant, La Masía. Forum office park is in front of the hotel and Juan Santamaria International Airport is just six miles away. Multiplaza Escazu shopping mall and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are 4 miles away from our lobby. At our restaurant, guests can start the day with a complimentary breakfast prepared by our chef on our omelet station, or enjoy a full breakfast buffet with fresh and healthy options. Our restaurant also offers an exciting selection for lunch and dinner. At the hotel's bar, guests can enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the evenings. Guestroom dining is available with 24-hour room service. The hotel features a well-equipped fitness center, an outdoor pool and free parking for up to 200 vehicles. The hotel's meeting space can accommodate business and social activities up to 70 guests in a reception setting, while our outdoor pool area is the ideal venue for cocktails or special dinners. All guestrooms have been thoughtfully decorated and feature an array of modern amenities such as free high streaming speed Internet, coffee makers, flat screen TV and cable with 12 HD channels, an iron and ironing board. The hotel offers 16 mini suites equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, stereo, king size bed and a small living room with a sofa bed. Whether visiting San Jose for leisure or business, the Quality Hotel Real San Jose is ideal for accommodating your lodging needs. Our multilingual staff looks forward to welcoming you to beautiful Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Hotel Real San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Real San Jose Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing