We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Real San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

On a recent business trip to Costa Rica, I was staying at the Quality Hotel. I was very impressed with the Hotel Staff. Very courtious and always willing to help with Restaurant recommendations, as well as activities. I would totally recommend this place!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are really pleased that you have had a rewarding stay in our hotel. We are delighted to have been helpful while you were staying with us. Our hotel is the right choice for business, both for its location as our value added rates. Breakfast buffet, 15 meg internet and local calls are included for all our guests.


Hoping to see you soon.

regards,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    154
    48
    12
    5
See reviews for
58
108
12
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when we had an early flight out from San Jose airport after visiting the Arenal region. We thought that this hotel was near the airport, and also mistakenly thought that there was an airport shuttle to and from the hotel. It's not really near the airport. It's actually in a strip-mall area, which has a LOT of traffic. The rooms are decent--not luxury by any means, but fine for a night. Breakfast buffet was tasty, and I really enjoyed taking a morning swim before the flight in the nice outdoor pool. However, if you don't have a car (as we didn't), you're kind of stuck at the hotel. There are two chain restaurants right across the parking lot from the hotel, so that's an okay option for dining, but there aren't really sidewalks along the side of the road, so your other options are somewhat limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from San Jose. Thanks for your comments about the hotel. Indeed we do not consider ourselves airport hotel, although we are less than 12 km from it. To get to the airport we have 24-hour taxi service which costs $ 25. The Hotel is located in the further development of transnational corporate offices and shopping centers, restaurants and bars in the city. All rates include breakfast buffet in our restaurant which is open from 5:00 am.

Hoping to see you soon at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I spent 2 weeks at this hotel during a recent business trip to Lindora. Quality Inns is a hotel brand I normally steer clear of in the USA and Canada however I had a colleague who highly recommended this hotel to me. I'm very happy the they did as this was one of the best stays I had at a hotel in years (I spend 3-4 months a year in hotels per year). The customer service that all hotel staff provided day after day was world class and white glove. The front desk staff and restaurant staff knew my name within a day and they were great. Pablo, Henry, Nelson and Andrey were all amazing to me and went above and beyond at the front desk I made a couple requests through them and I was impressed in how quick they actioned and completed my asks. There was a young lady at the front desk that I found wasn't as outgoing as the 4 I mentioned above and she never attempted to learn my name. Rolando in the restaurant was my usual waiter and he along with all of his colleagues always made my breakfast experience very enjoyable.

My room was well kept and the cleaning staff did a great job during my entire stay even on weekends. The first 2 days I arrived back while they were still cleaning my room. Before I had a chance to make a request to see if they could clean my room earlier, the housekeeping staff figured out that I arrived back early and for the rest of my stay I had a nice clean room waiting for me everyday after work. This hotel had a great selection of TV channels and I was even able to find the Stanley Cup playoffs.

This hotel was great and I'll be using this as my hotel of choice while traveling to the San Jose area for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluenoser_Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. All of our employees both reception, housekeeping and restaurant are very pleased to have been part of your positive experience in our city. The breakfast buffet is included in all our rates.

Hoping to see you soon again in our facilities.

Best regards,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This place has really warm and friendly front desk staff (Pablo, Nelson) and the kitchen staff are awesome too, always quick to assist with anything. After second day they all knew me by my first name which I found really genuine and friendly on their part. The food is great, especially the breakfast buffet.

My one concern is with room cleanliness and service. I noticed red ink/lipstick on the shower curtain upon my arrival, but thought nothing of it since it was on the outside. A few days later I noticed a similar stain on the comforter which freaked me out a little bit. I asked to have the bedding changed immediately and was told it would be done. After 3 hours, housekeeping came to take the bedding and curtain away, but 2 hours later they still hadn't returned it.

Normally I would just switch beds, but because of the tight configuration on the nightstand, my Sleep Apnea machine doesn't make it to the other bed. Having worked all night, waiting an extra 5 hours to get to sleep does not make one a happy camper. The best part is, I had been leaving a nice tip daily for the cleaning service!

I would still recommend this hotel, based on the friendly staff and restaurant, but the cleaning crew can definitely use a lesson in customer service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dyslexicpimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking a few minutes to write about our service. First of all I want to apologize for what happened in terms of cleaning the room and time we take to give you a solution. That's not the type of service we are accustomed to give all our customers. We are taking appropriate steps on the case for not happen again to any of the visitors staying with us daily.

Best regards,

Fernando Fernandez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Nothing romantic, but very functional. Friendly and helpful staff, nice pool and gym, spacious rooms. Highway is right next to the hotel, but you can't hear it from your room (although the pool area is a bit noisy, but still well manageable).

Good place to stay when you need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdv221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write your comments about your experience with us. Indeed we are located in Santa Ana to 7 miles from the International Airport "Juan Santamaria" and close to various shopping centers and restaurants where you can have a good time while we wait for the day to go home. If instead you want to enjoy the hotel as you say we have a good pool area and gym with natural light where you can enjoy the excellent summer weather in the locality.

Hoping to see you soon again in our hotel.


Best regards,

Fernando Fernandez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Had a business meeting here and stayed for 3 nights. Everything was great...the room, service, staff, business amenities. Every break I spent sitting outsideby the pool soaking up a bit of much-needed sun and warmth. It was very relaxing and a perfect compliment to the stress of working. The staff called me by name whih was nice. They also helped me arrange a shuttle to La Fortuna and recommended some options so I could spend a few days of R&R in the Arenal area which was just a few hours to the north. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Best regards from San Jose. Thank you for taking the time to write your comment about the hotel. We are delighted that your stay with us has been enjoyable and that we complied with your requirements. As for our location, we are in a strategic area in the city for the business traveler or on vacation.

Hoping to see you again soon at our facilities.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Everything in the hotel is great! Clean rooms, great breakfast buffet and last, but not least, very friendly hotel staff! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry_LPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from San Jose Costa Rica. We want to thank you for your comment about your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you have had a pleasant experience with us. Referring to the breakfast is included in all rates.

Hoping to see you soon again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.9 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#3 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
2.5 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Real San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Real San Jose

Property: Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Address: Autopista Prospero FernandezCostado Este Forum, Santa Ana 60-6155, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Real San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Real San Jose is conveniently located in the new business and entertainment center of Santa Ana district, in San Jose, Costa Rica. Within the hotel's perimeter guests can find two options for casual dining and a locally renowned Spanish restaurant, La Masía. Forum office park is in front of the hotel and Juan Santamaria International Airport is just six miles away. Multiplaza Escazu shopping mall and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are 4 miles away from our lobby. At our restaurant, guests can start the day with a complimentary breakfast prepared by our chef on our omelet station, or enjoy a full breakfast buffet with fresh and healthy options. Our restaurant also offers an exciting selection for lunch and dinner. At the hotel's bar, guests can enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the evenings. Guestroom dining is available with 24-hour room service. The hotel features a well-equipped fitness center, an outdoor pool and free parking for up to 200 vehicles. The hotel's meeting space can accommodate business and social activities up to 70 guests in a reception setting, while our outdoor pool area is the ideal venue for cocktails or special dinners. All guestrooms have been thoughtfully decorated and feature an array of modern amenities such as free high streaming speed Internet, coffee makers, flat screen TV and cable with 12 HD channels, an iron and ironing board. The hotel offers 16 mini suites equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, stereo, king size bed and a small living room with a sofa bed. Whether visiting San Jose for leisure or business, the Quality Hotel Real San Jose is ideal for accommodating your lodging needs. Our multilingual staff looks forward to welcoming you to beautiful Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quality Hotel Real San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Real San Jose Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing