We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My daughter, mother in law, husband and I stayed at the Ringle Resort overnight before leaving on a Panama Canal cruise in January 2014. We stayed in the two bedroom garden villa and I wish we could have stayed longer. It was spacious and comfortable. It even had its own laundry room. More importantly, this hotel felt more like an exclusive B&B because of the relatively small number of rooms and the high level of personal service. The view of the city is also amazing. It is a little out of the way, but worth the drive.

Room Tip: The Garden Villa was great. Like a private house. Two nice bedrooms and bathrooms, a good size kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your opinion of Ringle Resort with fellow travelers. As always, customer service remains our main focus and number one priority. Due to the limited number of rooms on our property, we are able to focus on getting to know all our customers and truly making them feel at home. In addition, the property grounds and views are absolutely stunning and spectacular, providing Ringle Resort with a very relaxing and memorable environment. We thank you for staying with us, and hope to serve you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 187 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the Ringle Resort Hotel and Spa on three separate occasions, in two rooms, in February 2014. The first was our introduction to Costa Rica/San Jose after many hours travelling and we found the Master suite very spacious, totally and sumptuously relaxing with an extremely comfortable king size bed. On the second occasion, we stayed in a Superior room, with plenty of space and equally comfortable. The staff in the restaurant, Ricardo and Ignacia, were utterly charming and informative, the food was of an unexpectedly high quality and the views where astounding of the San Jose valley below. There are no shops or restaurants within close walking distance, you would need to get a taxi ($6 one way to Santa Ana) or bus (flat fare of C330, final stop directly outside San Jose Central Market) to do so; we used both forms of transport with no problems! This is a small hotel in terms of number of rooms and dining covers, but large in terms of grounds and spaciousness; top marks for customer service, restaurant, comfort and many thanks to the owner for this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ringle Resort, where our main emphasis is customer service. We have built a property we know our customers would love, a place where service, relaxation, and great food all come together in a beautiful atmosphere which is surrounded by exquisite gardens and stunning plant life. We were very pleased to read your review, and take great pride in providing excellent personalized service to all of our guests. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Ringle, a beautiful boutique hotel 20 minutes away from San Jose. On arrival we were told that our twin-room was unavailable as it was undergoing maintenance, the alternative offered was a room with a Queen-sized bed. As we didn't consider this a suitable option we refused and asked if anything else was available. The receptionist eventually upgraded us to the private villa - pure luxury!! We had 2 ensuite bedrooms, a laundry room, living area and kitchen. The downside to this was having to trek up to the main building for breakfast (continental served) or use of the pool - poor us!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank yvonnecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We’re thrilled to hear your visit to Ringle Resort was met with great satisfaction. The casita is a customer favorite! Its very spacious and makes use of the finest materials, furniture, and appliances. The walk can be a little steep, but well worth the reward. Furthermore, we work tirelessly to deliver the best experience possible for all our customers and encourage anyone who has not stayed with us to give us a try. We guarantee your visit to Costa Rica will be a lasting memory. Thank you for an amazing review and we hope to serve you again soon here at Ringle Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently visited Costa Rica for the first time. Our preference is to stay in a smaller "boutique" hotel away from busy areas. We found the perfect spot a couple of miles from downtown Escazu on a hillside overlooking the town with fantastic views. Marco greeted us upon our arrival and took us on a tour of the facilities. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The grounds are lush and gardeners keep everything manicured. Restaurant manager, Ricardo, was very courteous and proved to be a good source of information about our travel plans while in Costa Rica. One evening, the kitchen staff prepared a meal of some traditional Costa Rican dishes for us to sample. It was fabulous! Every meal was delicious and personally I had the best salmon that I've ever had. That's saying a lot considering we come from Canada, famous for our salmon. The resort manager, Katia, saw to our every need and arranged for transportation wherever we needed to go. We actually forgot our camera at the hotel when we went to Puerto Viejo and Katia offered to arrange to get it to us via a bus. We declined, deciding we would like to return to the Ringle Resort for a couple of days before our flight back to Canada. When we returned a week and a half later, we were greeted like family! Altogether a most enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who would like a quiet retreat, yet a short bus or taxi ride to town. It is a secret jewel that is sure to please.

Room Tip: The two bedroom house on the property is perfect for a family or two couples travelling together. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Customer service means everything to us. It is the backbone of our success, and our number one priority. Our staff will go through any and all lengths to ensure the highest quality of care and satisfaction, and we believe our customers deserve nothing less. At the Ringle, we want everyone who visits to feel like family, and we truly mean it. We are so pleased to hear you had a great time staying at our resort, and that the food was to your liking. Please visit us again soon, ey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Ringle Resort was our last stay after an 11 day trip in Costa Rica. We booked the master suite thinking it'd be a great treat...wrong! The reception area has no signs it's just an office and they look at you like you're crazy when you ask where is reception. This was the first hotel I did not feel safe in. The master suite is a big two bedroom house basically offset from the rest of the hotel. There were huge ants everywhere, which I'm allergic to, so this was troubling, and giant spiders. I understand that this is a tropical country, but when a hotel in a forest and along a river can keep their hotels cleaner you expect more for the money you paid! As for the restaurant, again no reception desk so I basically walked into the kitchen looking for someone. The waitress appeared to want nothing to do with us and didn't give us menus for quite some time. We started with the ceviche....if you can call it that...horrible! We basically just ate the tortilla chips. My boyfriend ordered pesto penne pasta which came out almost completely uncooked...no one wants crunchy pasta. I ordered the chicken cordon bleu which oddly came drenched in BBQ sauce and had a pile of fake mashed potatoes. What a huge disappointment to end the trip on such a sour note. They also tried to gauge us on taxi prices to the airport. All in all this is by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Do not spend the money for the master suite. Maybe the rest of the hotel is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Owner at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

When I read your review on Superbowl Sunday I completely forgot about the game and instead called Kattia, the Manager in Costa Rica, to find out what happened, considering I live in Nevada. I have never before personally answered a review, Rodney has always done this. I found your review very disturbing and needed to understand how all these problems occurred. We are a small hotel with only 10 rooms and pride ourselves on our commitment to customer service. We had failed you, but how did this happen? I reached Kattia on Sunday - her day off - and was told that the following day she would gather the information, speak to all the employees who interacted with you, and we would talk. This is the information I was told:

Rodney worked that night and checked you in. Your room had been used the day before and those guests gave us an excellent review on trip adviser. This same room was rented after your departure and we never heard anything about ants or spiders. Rodney told me you never spoke to him that night about any problems. Kattia told me that you were interested in the price of a taxi; you wanted to be picked up at an airport. It is always more expensive to send a taxi to the airport as opposed to just finding one there. If a hotel arranges for a taxi to pick up a guest at an airport, the driver must first pay for parking, and then wait with a sign for the guest – this costs $10 more than simply getting any random taxi after exiting the airport. Furthermore, Kattia spoke with the waitress who served you that night and was told you never complained about your dinner. From your review, I learned you were served a Tamarindo sauce similar to BBQ sauce. That will never happen again.

I believe you were unhappy and I also believe you never expressed you feeling to us about these issues. Without an opportunity to make you happy we had no chance to correct any problems and we failed you. I do not want to fail you. My Email address is edringle@hotmail.com, please write me let’s talk and see if I can make you happy.

Ed Ringle

Owner of Ringle Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Beautiful view and nice management. There were 4 of us and we stayed in a two bedroom house on the property. Did cook there but the kitchen did not have much for pots and pans etc. however we managed and had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenmeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Staying in our casita is perfect for a pair of couple, or a small family. The casita has 2 bedrooms but shares a living room, kitchen, and dining area. It also provides great privacy for individuals looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of hotel environments. When visiting Ringle Resort, we always encourage guests to speak with hotel management for any needs or requests, and we will work relentlessly to ensure your highest satisfaction. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Costa Rica, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a brand new hotel with great rooms, beautiful bathrooms, fantastic views, and a friendly and helpful staff. It is perfect for Americans who are used to a nice 4 star resort. The hotel is located on a hill about a mile or two from downtown Escazu, so you won't hear any traffic. You will need a car or taxi to get here though. Don't expect to take public transportation, it is not that kind of hotel. This is still a somewhat undiscovered place.
Also, it is one of the few hotels around that have rooms with two queen beds: perfect for two men or two women who are traveling.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

The Ringle encompasses so many great features which has helped us grow our business so fast, while creating a loyal and steady-growing group of regulars. Many guests take huge comfort in our modern furnishings and gorgeous bathroom facilities, while others fall in love with the beauty of the amazing views found at our facility. For others, the warm comforts of our restaurant, which provides fresh and customized meals specifically for our guests. Our massive pool is a favorite for kids, and the staff is always ready to accommodate any needs any guests may have. We sincerely thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit here at The Ringle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
998 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
579 reviews
3.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,800 reviews
4.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Alto de Las Palomas, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range: $119 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is perfectly located in the Beverly Hills of Costa Rica-the Escazu-Santa Ana hillside offering the best in views and convenience to shopping, dining and local attractions. We have 10 luxury rooms with the finest design and furnishings. Our restaurant and spa along with our gigantic pool make for an accommodating oasis for those who wish to stay on site. We make for a great event venue and have been host to weddings, yoga retreats and more. We are the perfect destination for the business, medical or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing