We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view, best hotel to be in San Jose so far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great view, best hotel to be in San Jose so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

First time I stayed at the Ringle Resort and I was impressed. Overlooking San Jose/Alajuela is stunning. The restaurant serves great food. The rooms are fitted with first class furniture. The service is excellent. The place is very clean, the garden is amazing. All in all, the best Hotel for me in San Jose, It takes one away from the huzzle of a big city and gives you a Tuscany feeling.
By the way travellers, I partially own 3 hotels and know what I am talking about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated, especially coming from an individual who works in the tourism industry, and as someone who understands the different levels of service existing nowadays. Working on the property grounds myself, I can attest to the beauty and amazing views we get to enjoy on a daily basis. From the entire staff, including myself, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    16
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
93
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I travelled to Costa Rica in early September to volunteer at two of the public hospitals in San Jose. I had been somewhat uncertain as to where to stay and contemplated staying in San Jose for the convenience. After having read the rave reviews of Ringle Resort on TripAdvisor (and other sites as well), I decided that it might be worth it to trade convenience for what promised to be an outstanding experience. I was not mistaken. My parents accompanied me on the trip and I wanted to ensure there was ample space for all of us and that they would be comfortable for the week. We stayed in the Casita for one night and while we were impressed by the spaciousness and privacy it offered, opted to move to the main building for the duration of our stay. We spent the remainder of the week in the Family Suite (Rooms 103/104) and could not have been happier. The suite was downright opulent and most importantly, afforded stunningly beautiful views of the valley below. We took advantage of the balcony, even on the rainy afternoons, as we were adequately sheltered from the elements.
The resort itself is a short taxi ride from Escazu, Santa Ana and San Jose. I was pleasantly surprised to realize that in fact, I had not had to sacrifice convenience at all. I traveled in to San Jose daily to volunteer at the hospitals and the trip was both quick and inexpensive.
We had the opportunity to eat at the restaurant at the resort (the food and service were excellent) as well as ventured to nearby restaurants (also excellent) for dinner on several occasions.
In addition to the beautiful rooms, pristine grounds and amazing views, the staff at the Ringle Resort are absolutely incredible. Everyone went out of their way to ensure that we were happy and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay as good as it could possibly be. We had the privilege of getting to meet Mr. Ed Ringle, who went above and beyond in providing customer service; he even drove my father to a restaurant to pick up dinner one rainy evening.
Thanks to everyone at Ringle Resort for making our stay so wonderful and memorable.

Room Tip: Room 103 is incredibly beautiful and has a balcony with tremendous views of the valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rea_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We truly enjoy hearing when guests tell us how much they enjoyed their stay with us, and the fond memories they take with them. It was a real pleasure getting to know your parents as well as yourself, and we are thrilled to know you had a great stay with us. The two rooms you folks stayed in (rooms 103/104) are simply masterful and some of the best rooms San Jose has to offer. As you mentioned, Ringle Resort is uniquely located in a prime area, situated closely to most major facilities and destinations guests generally visit which include: Escazu, Santa Ana, San Jose, The Escazu Multiplaza, and the best medical facilities and restaurants in the country. We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and remain eager for your return visit to the Ringle Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our first trip to San José. We selected it based on reviews and location. We had quite a bit of shopping to do, before heading back home to San Isidro. The rooms are clean, comfortable and air conditioned. The staff friendly and helpful. It is located a short drive from the Escazu MultiPlaza and other shopping. We ate at the restaurant and the food was fine. The continental breakfast is included but has zero protein. Also, it is closed when few are staying there so note that for the off season.

We plan to return soon. It is a small quaint place, we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pioneeraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experiences here at Ringle Resort. Many guests are pleasantly surprised when they realize our resort is located mere minutes away from the best mall in the country: The Escazu Multiplaza. Around this mall you will find the country's best medical facilities, restaurants, and shopping, making our location ideal when staying in or around San Jose. Furthermore, the restaurant is opened from breakfast to dinner Tuesday - Sunday. The restaurant is only closed on Mondays. Additionally, patrons looking to add onto the free breakfast provided can do so, for an additional fee. Thank you for the taking the time to leave us a review, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife Sheila and I stayed here on the recommendation of friends and we were not steered wrong. The grounds are immaculate, the staff is friendly and accommodating and the rooms are beautifully appointed. The pool is also very large and inviting. The grounds are in the hills over looking the valley and the view is beautiful. We also met the owners on site and they are very concerned about maintaining the high standards they have already set. I can not possibly think of anything remotely negative regarding our stay at this facility. BTW, the wife agrees with everything I just stated, that should tell you something (:

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
When husband and wife can both agree on a great resort, it must be true! The reason for our continued success is the amazing reviews our customers continually post online, but just as important, the verbal recommendations our guests pass along to their friends and co-workers. We strive very hard day in and day out to provide the highest level of service to ensure our customers are having a great time while feeling refreshed and relaxed. The views at Ringle Resort are simply extraordinary, and we want everyone to be able to experience what so many know to be true: this resort is unlike any other in the area. Please come visit us again soon and we look forward to forming new relationships with new guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I went to Costa Rica for dental work and did some traveling all throughout Costa Rica. This is our 3rd time in the country. We stayed at the Ringle 9/4 to 9/7. We stayed at 5 hotels and this place was was the absolute best place to stay while in the San Jose area. Usually the pictures are better than the hotel and this was quite the opposite. The pictures are good, but the hotel was even more than what we expected. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and each one so different from the other. Everything thing was immaculate and clean. We dealt with Marcos, Katia, Rodney and we were able to meet the owner, Ed Ringle. He poured his heart and soul into every detail of the furniture, fixtures and the landscape. The entire staff was welcoming and they all spoke English. The architecture is more beautiful than anything we have seen in Costa Rica. There was no expense spared on
the renovation and upkeep of this hotel. We had a beautiful view high up in the mountains and great sleeping weather at night. The place was quiet and no riff raff going on in the evenings. The restaurant, Siwo, also had great views, good food and was all outdoors. If we had more time, I would have loved to have spent time in the library on those leather couches. There is a wildlife refuge right across the road and you can walk to a few other restaurants. It was hard to leave this hotel. It is just a short distance from Escazu and shopping. If you want a guarantee of a nice place to stay, Ringle is the place. The grounds were so beautifully landscaped and there were fresh flowers all around the hotel. Being that we went in the green/slow season, we had only a few other guests to deal with. The pool and pool area was phenomenal (my husband builds pools). The pool was entirely tiled with expensive marble decking. I will definitely be back. No expense was spared on this resort. Unfortunately, we did not have time to utilize the spa services. We were in one of the family suites and I was able to read a book with the french doors open and had a great view of the city lights at night. A small mini-fridge was great for a few drinks without leaving my room. We will be back.

Room Tip: We particularly enjoyed the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for such a thorough review that encompasses many of our greatest selling points. New incoming guests always look amazed when they first arrive at the resort because they realize all the amazing online photos properly represent the serenity and breathtaking beauty of this property. Furthermore, we were thrilled to hear your high praise for our gorgeous pool considering this is your husbands profession. We just recently installed a heating system into the pool which will now provide perfect temperatures year round for all our guests to enjoy. Thank you for staying with us and we certainly look forward to your quick return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The grounds of the hotel were just as the photos shown. We were a group of 4 so we rented a small house, The house was very nice, though there were minor issues. One the garden tub was waiting for part, some light bulbs were out, the smaller guest bathroom, the water took time to drain out due to the way the shower's floor was constructed, The beds, water, kitchen and laundry units were very nice. At night the noise from the local traffic was pronounced since the house was closer to the road than the main building. We had a very good time there and would recommend it to others. At evening we were able to enjoy the outside without the bothersome bugs you would get back in the States. No need for air conditioning for our time there, very good sleep with the beds being very good for sleeping. The property was located not far from other areas to dine out or to go for food or souvenir shopping. We did not drive but used a local to drive us around and we had a very good time. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and responsive to our questions and assistance when asked. The rating is more of a 3.5 circles only the minor issues causing the .5 drop. P.S. the area where they serve the food and the swimming pool has an excellent view of the valley below, I took many pictures of this view.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the main house so can not give an opinion on the sleep conditions. As stated above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
For many guests the serenity and beauty found amongst the property is an important factor in choosing our resort over the competition as we take tremendous pride in the upkeep of the buildings, gardens, and pool area. We always hear from our guests that the pictures online almost look to good to be true, making them pleasantly surprised when they drive through the gates and realize how beautiful the property grounds look and feel. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review, and look forward to serving you again here at the Ringle Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concarneau, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spend 3 nights in this hotel with my wife in August 2013.

It was the second time for me in the hotel.

The first one was a business trip in March 2013 and I liked my stay in the hotel.

I decided to come for vacation from France in Costa Rica with my wife.
I have chosen what I consider being the best room in the hotel: room 103.
This room has a private balcony, and a wonderful bath room.
We found this last stay very relaxing.
We used frequently the swiming pool as the temperature of the water was nice.
We recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Room 103 is very quite and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dambreville A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyRingleResort, Public Relations Manager at Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It's such a great compliment when people stay with us on a business trip, only to return with their loved ones. It truly goes to show how people fall in love with the property, and want others to share in their experience of the resort. We were ecstatic to read your review, and want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We highly recommend room 103 for couples who want a special experience, and we are happy to hear you took advantage of the pools new heating system. The pool temperature will now be ideal year round. Until the next time we see you, au revoir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.6 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Alto de Las Palomas, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is perfectly located in the Beverly Hills of Costa Rica-the Escazu-Santa Ana hillside offering the best in views and convenience to shopping, dining and local attractions. We have 10 luxury rooms with the finest design and furnishings. Our restaurant and spa along with our gigantic pool make for an accommodating oasis for those who wish to stay on site. We make for a great event venue and have been host to weddings, yoga retreats and more. We are the perfect destination for the business, medical or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringle Resort Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing