We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, a bit far from the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The ALoft is a good place to spend the night or a relaxing few days away from the bustle of the city. Its a modern, somewhat non-descriptly stylish place (like many Starwood W properties), with decent sized comfortable rooms with good bath amenities and reasonable beds and sound proofing.

There is a reasonably acceptable included breakfast, not extravagant but fine, with some local fruit that is very nice. I'm told that there is a good nitelife at the bar scene, but since I stayed on a Wednesday and Thursday nite before departing, I didnt see proof of this.

If you're planning excursions to downtown San Jose, or even Escazu, you might be best renting a car. Taxis, while available, cost around 10,000 Colones or a bit more to downtown, and around 5-7,000 colones to Avenida Escazu. It might be cheaper to stay in Santa Ana, but there isn't a tremendous amount of variety in things to see or do. There are two night clubs quite close to the hotel, Home, and Stereo, but neither was busy at all the night I was going out, because of parties elsewhere (so the cabdriver explained).

There is an excellent seafood restaurant in downtown Santa Ana, called AltaMar. I recomment it highly. Great meal at a reasonable price (by American price standards).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hi and thanks for your feedback. We are glad that our hotel met your expectations. As of january 22nd we also have lively wednesday nights in the bar where Music Meets Fashion @ aloft with live bands and great ambiance, hope you make it next trip.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 600 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed only one night after spending a week in the jungles of Costa Rica. We arrived filthy and exhausted, longing for a hot shower, good meal, free wi-fi and comfy bed -- and boy, did they deliver! The staff was so gracious and accommodating, and truly aimed to please. The reception area had a cool vibe and lots of comfortable places to sit. We ended up eating dinner on one of the sofas in the lounge, and when we asked to watch the NFL playoff game, they put it on every TV for us. We were able to charge the departure tax to our room so we didn't have to wait in line at the airport. The free buffet breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Our stay was perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank StephPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

StephPit,

Thank you for such amazing review. We are happy to have made your visit to San Jose and Costa Rica such a wonderful experience. Hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Fast, reliable wireless internet - can't ask for more than that! Staff was very friendly - they all spoke great English. It's not an easy walk to nearby restaurants because there aren't any sidewalks and it is not well lit at night, but it is a safe area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RB_90017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed the Aloft Experience. Regarding the sidewalks, you can travel within the Forum 2 business district avoiding such problems and as of March the government will begin improvements on the Lindora road, duplicating and providing better infrastructure.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Close to the airport and easy to get to. Nearby a supermarket and a bunch of chain restaurants. 24 hour MCDonalds across the street. Cabs outside all the time.

The hotel is very stylish and clean. Fun colored liquid floor in the elevator and a Christmas tree made out of recycled soda bottles.

Large modern room with a big bathroom. Comfortable big bed.

Perfect for getting stranded in San Jose for a night or two but I wouldn't want to spend an extended period of time there.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank zacsp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. As the First LEED Certified Hotel in Central America we always pride ourselves in recycling and being sustainable . The tree was done by employees of the hotel with over 1000 water bottles and lids. Hope to have you with us again during your next stopover in San Jose, be it business or leisure.


Regards,

General Manager
Paul Downey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel. Our check in was handled with friendliness, professionalism and speed. Same for check out. We enjoyed the food. The breakfast buffet was generous and delicious. The beds are very comfortable. The room was totally quiet. My only wish is that there had been a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bozouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for such great comments. Happy to have met your expectations and that our services pleased you and your family. Look forward to having you with us again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Paul Downey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The best electronics connections I have seen in a hotel room. THANKS !! We could plug in everything easily in your desk top portal. The room layout is very well thought out. I love it. The cool window shades really darken the room, if you need that. Great luggage bench, wonderful bed linens, nice firm bed, good food in the sun room dining area. Great cocktails. Priced like a big city hotel, so be prepared !

The hotel is next door to a an upscale McDonalds so this is good if you have kids or a Big Mac Attack and also a bank next door, good for exchanging currency if you can catch them open. In walking distance is a fancy-pants grocery store w/ food and beverages from all over the world. I got a deep discount w/ my points but if I could afford it, I'd stay here again for sure.

Only 2 things could have been better. Some of the 'edgy' decor items look like they were made for an art students year end project ! And having only one person in reception can make for longish waits.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LittleLagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

LittleLagoon,

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us, experimenting form our new Backyard Lounge and Restuarant to our Wxyz signature cocktails, aswell as the top end tecnology that aloft as brand prides to carry such as the plug and play devices in all rooms aswell as a 50MB internet connection free of charge. We shall be working on waiting time at recepction and please follow us on facebook and find some very attractive promotions and happy hours in the Wxyz ounge.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed the Aloft. The staff was wonderful and spoke very good english, which made our trip to Costa Rica even easier. The breakfast was wonderful, allowing us to enjoy some of the local flavors. The hotel is very new, modern and clean. They had quite the party in the lobby on Friday night, but it was nice and quiet on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KeithHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Such excellent reviews makes us continue to strive for perfection and excellence in our Aloft experience and service. We are glad that our new Restaurant pleased you with our breakfast and that our staff made the difference during your stay. Thank you once again for choosing us during your visit to San Jose and we hope to see you in the near future.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
1.6 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,425 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: Forum 2 Business Park | Lindora, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $88 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and innovative, inspired by a Loft, strategically located in the fastest developing business area west of San Jose, a few minutes from the Juan Santamaría International Airport, next to the Forum Business Park 2 and very close to the attractive shopping and entertainment area of Santa Ana and Escazú. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing