We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Customer Service and Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft San Jose Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Customer Service and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

From our room, to the front desk, the bar and our food, we felt attended to by all staff and our needs were sincerely cared about. We enjoyed fresh drinks, fresh food in a tasteful atmosphere. Well Done!

Easy booking, easy check-in, great referrals to drivers and area attractions, the staff is knowledgable and wonderfully bilingual!

Our room was spotless, quiet and fresh smelling.

We returned mid trip to regroup and were met with concern and full assistance. Everyone was friendly. We felt safe. The Internet never failed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
MicheleGarden,

Thank you for your excelent coments. We are glad Aloft San Jose provided you with such a Sassy and Savvy experience.

Hope to see you soon again,

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    178
    50
    7
    13
See reviews for
86
127
40
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Before booking the room, I made some research about aloft Costa Rica, I thought about it as a "light" version of W Hotels. Actually your slogan suggests something similar: "a vision of W hotels". And Im terribly sorry to say this but this experience has nothing to do with my previous ones with Starwood.
Once my room was booked, I called the property to ask for a room assigned on high floor, as far as possible from the elevator, the person who took the call said that the request was not a problem and he even confirmed. Upon check in no one knew my SPG Number and no one was aware of the request which was supposed to be already confirmed. I was assigned a room on the second floor, out of seven available. When I got to my room there was this huge red piece of dirt on the carpet right next to the bed. Now, I understand that the hotel has an eco-friendly policy and they encourage their guests to decline new sheets and towels on a daily basis, but that shouldn't mean that your bed would stay just the way you left it before service, meaning no one took care of my bed during six nights.
Now, food. That's a topic by itself. I ordered room service, an easy one. Steak with some salad (salad instead of fries) and what was my surprise when I got my dish, it was way overcooked (even when I asked to have it medium-well) and tasteless. In addition they charged an extra salad even when they said they could serve instead of fries, by the way, that salad tasted as a week old bunch of herbs. A service cart is not offered, the dishes are not even covered. You don't get bread, crackers or at least a tortilla together with your food.
Aloft's staff is friendly... Yeah... However they're not exceptional, they are just frontline representatives, not the face and image on Starwood and SPG.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamsfco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Adamsfco,

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to provide us with such usefull feedback. We are one of Starwoods selected service brands and in San Jose have been adapting into a full service hotel since our opening. As of August 19th we will be opening our Backyard Lounge & Restaurant providng better gastronomic experience to our guests inlcuding delivery service to the rooms. I am sorry about the lack of recognition on check in and this issue has been delt with already with our Front Desk Staff. Starwoods Make a Green Choice Program does not include making of the bed or even cleaning of the guest room, we are sorry if for some reason the information was not clear. We hope that you can give us an opportunity when in San Jose again.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We live in Costa Rica, on the pacific coast, and we like to travel with our dog so were delighted when we found that this hotel accepts pets with NO EXTRA CHARGE!! And we were blown away when we arrived to find dog food bowls in the room, dog treats and a special doggie bed. The staff was so friendly and loving towards our dog... usually he doesn't like to travel but after 3 days I don't think he wanted to leave! On top of the incredible and friendly staff, the rooms are VERY nice, clean and QUIET - surprising since it is so close to a busy road but we did not hear a thing from outside. The lobby bar is also a busy place on weekends with a live DJ - our room was on the 2nd floor just above the bar but we also could not hear a thing from downstairs when we were in the room. The surrounding area is also fantastic with plenty of restaurants, banks, shops and supermarkets all within walking distance or a very short drive. If you are looking for a great, affordable (and pet friendly) hotel to spend a few days in San Jose or just overnight before or after your international flight, you won't find a better place... HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ticanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Ticanadian,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are glad Aloft can take care of all guests during all types of visits, including our ARF (animals are fun) program. We hope to see you soon again here enjoying the Aloft experience.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed there for a three day business trip.

The hotel is pretty close to the airport but far away from the city. But - the city itself has not too much to offer, so its ok.

All necessary things like a grocery store, restaurants and some bars are in walking distance.

Check-in is effective. Lizet is a pearl in helping, supporting and making your stay more comfortable.

The breakfast is Aloft-typical taking place in the open lobby area. You prepare your own baguettes and plates and hang out anywhere in the lobby, at the bar, at a desk, close to the pool table or free-to-use computers.
Ah, of course WIFI is for free, all over the hotel.

You even can hire a taxi from and to the airport - charging it to your room.

The only thinkg - you should not be a smoker :-). Its almost impossible.

I definitely will come back. I love this Aloft places - and this one is a very typical representative ot this hip hotel concept.

And again - THANK YOU LIzet for all your support and help during my stay.

Room Tip: I think any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliRStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear OliRStutgart,

Thanks for your excellent review. We are glad that you enjoy the aloft experience. We are expanding our selected services into a Full Food and Beverage service hotel as of August 2013 with a restaurant serving all 3 meals and in room delivery. Hope to see you soon again when in San Jose.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, AR
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is close to business areas making it convenient for business travelers.
- no water pressure ladies with long hair beware it won't come clean
- lackluster breakfast. Often out of things, not many choices
- carpet in rooms a bit dirty
-stingy with amenities in room. One packet of coffee - and they stopped putting cups out after the first day. I have retainers and needed the cups everyday.
- they claim If you go "green" you get free drink cards. Mine never came.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justfine7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Justfine7890,

Thanks for your recent review and for giving us the chance to improve our services. We are sorry about the water pressure and have already looked into the issue. As a selected service hotel we have adapted our breakfast to a full american breakfast and in two weeks shall have our new Backyard Lounge & Restaurant open providing better Food and Bevearage services for all 3 meals including delivery service in the rooms. Please allow us to get in touch with you in order to verify the misscomunication in the Make a Green Choice Program. I would very much apreciate it and if you could contact me under: reservas.sanjose@alofthotels.com.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Arenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We decided to try this place out after seeing a great rate on Expedia. What a deal! A little over $100 and we had a very comfy King bed, high quality..soft sheets, high speed internet, lots of little perks like "Bliss" bath toiletries, good room service from the bar, (which has pool table adjacent in the lobby area) as they build their restaurant and all the little things you could need for a business trip or layover near the airport or away from the downtown area. It is a new hotel everything and vey clean. Decor is modern and has a "loft" theme of course. Breakfast buffet looked good but we ate elsewhere due to schedule. Staff is incredibly kind and helpful. Would stay here again if rate was close to what we paid. Love that it has a gym too! Safe parking and the building is secure; only those with a room "key" can access the elevators!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear enez,

We are glad the aloft attended your needs and reached your expectations. As the new sassy savvy experience in Central America we are happy that our concept and product provided you with a memorable experience. As of August 1st our urban cuisine Backyard Lounge & Restaurant will be operating and hence we hope to have you with us soon again.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is located in a business park setting but has restaurants and bars within easy walking distance so we found it very convenient and good value as a home base while travelling around Costa Rica. We had two stays during our trip and found the staff very courteous and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable, modern, clean, nice bathrooms, but the bed was a little too firm for my liking. There was a great soda nearby where we had breakfast a couple times but we did have a breakfast at Aloft. It is a self serve set up in the lobby which was convenient, with lots of choices including fresh fruit.

Overall, great hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Google Translation
Martin P,

Muchas gracias por tus excelentes comentarios y me alegra que el concepto de la marca aloft le gusto. Nuestro restaurante que atenderá los 3 tiempos con un concepto de cocina urbana, el “Backyard Lounge & Restaurant”, estará abierto a partir del primero de agosto, incluso atendiendo servicio de habitación. Esperamos ver lo pronto en San Jose.

Saludos,
Pauld Downey
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
1.6 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.8 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
6.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Property: Aloft San Jose Hotel
Address: Forum 2 Business Park | Lindora, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and innovative, inspired by a Loft, strategically located in the fastest developing business area west of San Jose, a few minutes from the Juan Santamaría International Airport, next to the Forum Business Park 2 and very close to the attractive shopping and entertainment area of Santa Ana and Escazú. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing