We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studio Hotel(Santa Ana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Obelisco(San Antonio De Belen)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luisiana(Santa Ana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose(San Antonio De Belen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveler rating
311
239
65
10
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
239
65
10
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness parksan josecosta ricaclose to the airportmall across the streetspg pointsfree laundrylobby barbusiness districtnice hotelwalking distancebusiness travelerbusy roadbusiness tripbreakfast buffetsjo airportrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 645 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We live in Costa Rica, on the pacific coast, and we like to travel with our dog so were delighted when we found that this hotel accepts pets with NO EXTRA CHARGE!! And we were blown away when we arrived to find dog food bowls in the room, dog treats and a special doggie bed. The staff was so friendly and loving towards our dog... usually he doesn't like to travel but after 3 days I don't think he wanted to leave! On top of the incredible and friendly staff, the rooms are VERY nice, clean and QUIET - surprising since it is so close to a busy road but we did not hear a thing from outside. The lobby bar is also a busy place on weekends with a live DJ - our room was on the 2nd floor just above the bar but we also could not hear a thing from downstairs when we were in the room. The surrounding area is also fantastic with plenty of restaurants, banks, shops and supermarkets all within walking distance or a very short drive. If you are looking for a great, affordable (and pet friendly) hotel to spend a few days in San Jose or just overnight before or after your international flight, you won't find a better place... HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Ticanadian,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are glad Aloft can take care of all guests during all types of visits, including our ARF (animals are fun) program. We hope to see you soon again here enjoying the Aloft experience.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed there for a three day business trip.

The hotel is pretty close to the airport but far away from the city. But - the city itself has not too much to offer, so its ok.

All necessary things like a grocery store, restaurants and some bars are in walking distance.

Check-in is effective. Lizet is a pearl in helping, supporting and making your stay more comfortable.

The breakfast is Aloft-typical taking place in the open lobby area. You prepare your own baguettes and plates and hang out anywhere in the lobby, at the bar, at a desk, close to the pool table or free-to-use computers.
Ah, of course WIFI is for free, all over the hotel.

You even can hire a taxi from and to the airport - charging it to your room.

The only thinkg - you should not be a smoker :-). Its almost impossible.

I definitely will come back. I love this Aloft places - and this one is a very typical representative ot this hip hotel concept.

And again - THANK YOU LIzet for all your support and help during my stay.

Room Tip: I think any room is good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliRStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear OliRStutgart,

Thanks for your excellent review. We are glad that you enjoy the aloft experience. We are expanding our selected services into a Full Food and Beverage service hotel as of August 2013 with a restaurant serving all 3 meals and in room delivery. Hope to see you soon again when in San Jose.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is close to business areas making it convenient for business travelers.
- no water pressure ladies with long hair beware it won't come clean
- lackluster breakfast. Often out of things, not many choices
- carpet in rooms a bit dirty
-stingy with amenities in room. One packet of coffee - and they stopped putting cups out after the first day. I have retainers and needed the cups everyday.
- they claim If you go "green" you get free drink cards. Mine never came.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justfine7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Justfine7890,

Thanks for your recent review and for giving us the chance to improve our services. We are sorry about the water pressure and have already looked into the issue. As a selected service hotel we have adapted our breakfast to a full american breakfast and in two weeks shall have our new Backyard Lounge & Restaurant open providing better Food and Bevearage services for all 3 meals including delivery service in the rooms. Please allow us to get in touch with you in order to verify the misscomunication in the Make a Green Choice Program. I would very much apreciate it and if you could contact me under: reservas.sanjose@alofthotels.com.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We decided to try this place out after seeing a great rate on Expedia. What a deal! A little over $100 and we had a very comfy King bed, high quality..soft sheets, high speed internet, lots of little perks like "Bliss" bath toiletries, good room service from the bar, (which has pool table adjacent in the lobby area) as they build their restaurant and all the little things you could need for a business trip or layover near the airport or away from the downtown area. It is a new hotel everything and vey clean. Decor is modern and has a "loft" theme of course. Breakfast buffet looked good but we ate elsewhere due to schedule. Staff is incredibly kind and helpful. Would stay here again if rate was close to what we paid. Love that it has a gym too! Safe parking and the building is secure; only those with a room "key" can access the elevators!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandpiperCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear enez,

We are glad the aloft attended your needs and reached your expectations. As the new sassy savvy experience in Central America we are happy that our concept and product provided you with a memorable experience. As of August 1st our urban cuisine Backyard Lounge & Restaurant will be operating and hence we hope to have you with us soon again.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is located in a business park setting but has restaurants and bars within easy walking distance so we found it very convenient and good value as a home base while travelling around Costa Rica. We had two stays during our trip and found the staff very courteous and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable, modern, clean, nice bathrooms, but the bed was a little too firm for my liking. There was a great soda nearby where we had breakfast a couple times but we did have a breakfast at Aloft. It is a self serve set up in the lobby which was convenient, with lots of choices including fresh fruit.

Overall, great hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013
Google Translation

Martin P,

Muchas gracias por tus excelentes comentarios y me alegra que el concepto de la marca aloft le gusto. Nuestro restaurante que atenderá los 3 tiempos con un concepto de cocina urbana, el “Backyard Lounge & Restaurant”, estará abierto a partir del primero de agosto, incluso atendiendo servicio de habitación. Esperamos ver lo pronto en San Jose.

Saludos,
Pauld Downey
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews