We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been to a lot of starwood properties. Aloft has to be the worst experience I've had with them. First, expect to pay for everything! Can of soda $3.00, small can of shaving cream $10.00, razors $5.00, being charged extra at check out priceless. I stayed at the W and the Westin in the states and have never been charged for a disposable razor or a pack of shaving cream. Aloft should learn how to use the word complementary. Costa Rica is beautiful country and the people are very nice but i have been there 5 times in the past year and this was the second time i lost my luggage at the airport. Second, the hotel is very energy efficient. Meaning the hotel lights in the hallways of your floor will be off day and night until you pass by a sensory for them to turn on. Big safety issue. Good luck trying the lights to turn on because sometimes they will not and will need to use your phone for light. Rooms are not that comfortable and there is no dresser to put away clothes. Hotel is not close to downtown. This hotel is good not great for people that are staying for one night on business. A pool should be a must on this hotel's future plans since there is none.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view, and ended up with a Mcdonalds view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreshPrinceOfMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Sir,
We are firstly extremely thankfull for your time and most important of all opinions regarding your stay in our hotel. I am so sorry that the aloft brand did not attend your expectations as one of Starwoods selected service brands that fastest grows in the world. As a "vision" of W hotels, we offer a unique experience however at very affordable rates and hence our products are charged separately upon the guests requests. I am glad you enjoy Costa Rica and our friendly staff. As the first LEED certified Hotel in Central America, we ar every concerned with sustainability and lights come on in the corridor as we walk along the aisle. We have checked all aisles to make sure all is under control and found it all to be in good conditions, we do apologise this effort was not so much appreciated. Regarding the rooms, we have the standard aloft room and will be looking into our guests suggestions for future alofts and remodelations, as well as the splash (swimming pool)

Best Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 591 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very new, trendy, & cute! Don't stay here if you want to be in or experience San Jose. It is quite far from town, & would cost a lot to take a cab there & back. Wifi is free, as well as a computer with printer in the lobby. Not many options in terms of dining, within walking distance. Also, not much to do around the hotel.
The room was very clean & modern. There is a pool table in the lobby to keep you entertained.
The room/cleaning service was minimal; there is a coffeemaker in the room, but they only provide you with enough coffee/supplies for 1 person, for one day. These supplies are not replenished, as you would expect. Had to call down to the front desk several times to get this sorted out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Hi and thanks alot for your time and comments.

My talents and I are glad you enjoyed our property and the new experience which starwood brought to Costa Rica with our aloft brand. I am sorry for the coffee and we have checked this matter as the standard is once a day replenish.
Our surroundings have 10-12 restaurants within walking distance at the Momentum Plaza and Lindora Plaza, we will make sure to let you know on your next visit. The aloft Costa rica is adapting to local needs and will have a full restaurant in the hotel as of April/May 2013

Hope to have you in one of our properties again in the near future.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Aloft San Jose is a clean comfortable well run hotel away from the craziness of downtown San Jose. If you are staying for business or don't mind being about 20 or 25 minutes from downtown it is a great inexpensive hotel. The hotel is located in a business park so there is not much nearby except chain restaurants and fast food. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and rather large. The finishes are very modern looking which is not my favorite, but everything is very clean and comfortable. Overall, if the location works for you a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hairycane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hi There,

Thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed this new sassy experience that Starwood has brought to Costa Rica with the Aloft. We are improving our Food and beverage facilities as of April with a full service restaurant. Our modern facilities go with our brand and vision of W Hotels worldide. Hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Regards,
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked using the Expedia mobile site, so I got an extra discount to make the price $71/night for one person for a king room ($80 with taxes). Very comfortable and stylish room, with safe, lotion (though small), fluffy clean towels, and nice big shower with plenty of hot water. The location is excellent for flying in or out ~ very convenient to the SJO airport (but it costs - see below).
The only problem was the Expedia mobile site - I was on my tablet, but was not able to see the date I was booking. I aimed for the next night and actually got the same date that I was making the booking. Not good for a clearly non-refundable price, and no phone access at the time. When I arrived the next day at the hotel, Mr Antonio Cubillo, on the front desk, very patiently and kindly helped me contact Expedia on his phone and accepted my penalty payment for last night as the payment for tonight. I really thought I had lost the money!
I should mention that the shuttle to the SJO airport from this hotel is about $25 - there is no free shuttle. Too bad. Even a moderately priced shuttle would be acceptable. Also, no pool.
Another nice touch - Mr Cubillo gave me tokens for the dryer at no charge.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellobo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hi There,

Thanks ever so much for an excelent review of our property. We are glad our acoomodations suited your needs. We shall be looking into a better value shuttle to the airport in the future. Hope to have you with us soon again at one of our Aloft properties.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This property is exactly what you expect from any Aloft hotel. It had the exact common areas (e.g. lobby) and rooms as all of them. Also, as expected, the service was good and staff was friendly. The parking and internet are free. The gym is great.

The location isn't close to attractions but has plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Main area of San Jose is also close drive.

Only con was the breakfast buffet is awful and not worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheets78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your recent coments regarding your stay with us. We are glad we were able to reach your expectations at Aloft San Jose. We shall soon be opening our backyard terrace with a full menu available for both lunch and dinner and an extensive breakfast buffet to attend all our guest needs.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was an emergency medical trip help my daughter with her friend that became very ill and was hospitalized while on vacation. every question I had and any advice and help i needed Liset was a great help, she is an exceptional employee.

John Blaser

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank JohnB1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding our Front desk staff`s exelent service in a moment where you most needed it. At aloft we are ther to create such experiences to all our guests independant of the trips purpose. Hope to see you soon again in our property.

Regards,
Paul Downey
Genaral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Location is perfect, is close to business centers, restaurants and entertainment clubs.
The bar is nice and service is really good, the staff is excellent.
Rooms are small but well equipped, beds and pillows are comfortable and you have a hub to plug all your devices.
If you go to San Jose this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

HI there,

Thanks for taking your time and giving us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Aloft San Jose experience.
Look forward tohaving you soon with us again.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
1.6 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,004 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: Forum 2 Business Park | Lindora, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $87 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and innovative, inspired by a Loft, strategically located in the fastest developing business area west of San Jose, a few minutes from the Juan Santamaría International Airport, next to the Forum Business Park 2 and very close to the attractive shopping and entertainment area of Santa Ana and Escazú. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing