We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel while in San Jose on buesiness. I had a great experience. The hotel was clean, guestrooms are fairly large, clean and very comfortable. The vibe at the hotel is what really impressed me the most. It's like a little pice of urban chic. Very cool. The crowd, a mixture of locals and visitors staying at hotel was very sophisticated but casual. The aroma at the hotel immediately makes you feel relaxed. I ended up staying an extra two days to get to know the city a little better. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped me arrange zpi linning tour for the weekend. The free wi-fi is excellent, but I did experience some reception problems. Hopefully that has been resolved. All in all, I had a very good experience and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JavC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hello,
Thank your very much for your great rating and excelent comments regarding your recent stay with us in San Jose. We are glad that our sassy and savvy ambiance was to your content, this is exactly what our brand is all about, bringing people together in a chic, clean and affordable atmosphere. We hope to have you with us again during your next trip to Costa Rica.

Regards,
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 585 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Spent two nights here using SPG Points so we could visit friends prior to setting off on an adventurous Costa Rica vacation. Brand new and squeaky clean hotel with typical high Starwood standards. Exceeded expectations with 24 hour ala carte food area and a great bar with helpful staff. If you want something close to the airport but in a safer area, I'd recommend staying here as an alternative to the SjO airport hotels which are not in a nice place. You can safely walk around this area anytime of day with no safety issues. In fact there are several restaurants down the street.

Another cool fact is that all the taxis have deals with the hotel so you can bill your taxi cab ride to the room if you are traveling to or from the Aloft anywhere in the city....

The only issue was when I checked out the lady at the desk tried to charge me a fee for using points. Her supervisor very quickly rectified the problem and apologized several times given it took about 10 minutes to fix. A very minor issue as everything else was perfect. We are also staying here the night before we leave.

Room Tip: High floor to rear of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hi and thanks for your comments regarding your recent visit to our property. We are glad that the aloft brand satisfied your needs and that you were able to enjoy your stay with us in San Jose. Hope to have you with us soon again in one of our Starwood properties around the world.
Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is less than a year old and member of SPG. Rooms are very nice and solid in construction. You cannot hear the next door guest. Rooms all the same and European in design and style (Bedroom and bathroom/shower). Nice bar and lounge area. Staff is wonderful and very accommodating. Located in business zone (near all the call center offices). There is a McDonalds across the street, supermarket and restaurants a few blocks away. Was told that it is ok to walk during the day but at night it can get a bit dicey. Hotel is located close to the airport, far from the center ($25 taxi ride to the center). Good place to stay if laying over for a night. No swimming pool.

Room Tip: Room AC are all on zones. Will not go lower than 74 degrees. If you want a colder room you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmarutiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thanks you for your comments. We are glad our location and modern facilities aswell as our courteous staff surprised and satisfied you during your visit in San Jose. We have an extended new menu at our w xyz bar every day from 5pm till 11pm as an option to stay and enjoy our lounge with Dj on thursdays, fridays and saturdays.
Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

i love staying at starwood properties, but have never stayed at an ALoft hotel before. For the price, it's a great deal. Rooms were decent size, and clean. Hotel was pretty cool with a fun lounge / bar area near reception. If you're just spending a night or two in San Jose, this is a great choice. However, you should note that the hotel is much closer to the airport, and about a 20-25 minute taxi drive into San Jose city proper.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycgirl2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi, Thanks for your time in sharing such a great experiencein our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our Aloft brand which brings this fun, sassy and fresh ambiance with modern and minimalist facilities within all our technology and design. Hope to see you soon at our property.
Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having a niece that works in the hotel business we were fortunate to be able to stay two wonderful nights at a discounted price. From the attentive front staff to the beautifully comfortable rooms we were impressed with what Aloft had to offer. The design is ultra cool and chic, the lounge area, bar, billiard pool, and exercise room were awesome and the free fast wi-fi is a bonus. We also appreciated the free coffee and coffee maker along with the excellent soap, shampoo and body soap. There is a McDonald across the street and a variety of fast food restaurants further down the strip if the hotel food is not to your liking. Be warned, this area is a business district so the prices are a bit steep. There is an excellent food store called Auto Mercado (sp?) located about two blocks from the hotel that has a great selection of drinks, pastries, etc. Last but not least I cannot say enough about the wonderfully friendly staff of Aloft - they were so nice and helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayspot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hello! Starwood has 9 brands and how nice that you were able to live our newest brand, Aloft thanks to your niece. I am happy our staff was able to rpovide you with such great experience in this fun and modern ambiance. Thank you for your exelent review.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We choose this hotel at the last minute due to a late arrival in Costa Rica. When we arrived the hotel did not have our reservation because of an error with the booking on the date. Benjamin at the front desk was great. He worked out rooms for us and even at a little bit better rate than what we has booked through Expedia.

Room accommodations were great. Staff was very helpful.

If I ever come back to Costa Rica I will be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hi! Thanks for your great comments. We thrive to exceed guest expectations and I am glad Benjamin was able to take care of all your needs during your stay with us in San Jose and that you enjoyed our Hotel. Look forward to having you with us or any other starwood property around the world in the near future.
Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This review may not be permissible. I have never stayed at Aloft but on the first of October of 2012 one of the best employees anyone could ask for will take a position there. With Liset on staff the guests will we treated especially well and have great fun. She worked for me when I owned a hotel in San Jose.
Congratulations!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank thumbsup45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hi,

We are very glad to have hired such a recommended Talent as Liset. We look forward to her contribution in our exelent way of serving.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
1.6 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
2.8 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
994 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,383 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: Forum 2 Business Park | Lindora, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $88 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and innovative, inspired by a Loft, strategically located in the fastest developing business area west of San Jose, a few minutes from the Juan Santamaría International Airport, next to the Forum Business Park 2 and very close to the attractive shopping and entertainment area of Santa Ana and Escazú. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing