We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Sushi in Costa Rica”
Review of Sushi Kai - CLOSED

Sushi Kai
Cuisines: Central American
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sushi in Costa Rica”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at Sushi Kai and we are looking forward to going back. This has to be one of the best sushi restaurants in the America's. Fresh fish never tasted so good and the presentation was beautiful. My favorite was sashimi octopus with a very thin slice of lime on it. Fantastic! The restaurant is about a mile from highway 27 and very easy to find.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Swanky sushi”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Swanky sushi restaurant with really delicious sushi. One of our rolls was a crunchy-type roll with fried onions as the crunchy part -- really amazing! Our waiter wasn't exactly glowing with warmth, but a good experience overall.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I can eat here everyday!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Speechless...great sushi. The texture of the rice was perfrct. I tried some tuna nachis, very original recipe with the wonton crust, delicious and creative. Also ordered sushi that had onion on top, it had a powerful but safe taste. Onions with panko on top of spicy tuna and avocado sushi... Engeniuos! Great service, very nice, elegant and chic... Perfect for chilling out. The peach sake is better than a dessert... If u like sweett drinks, try this one!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dabedrabbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kanpai!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I can't get enough of this place since I discovered the best way to enjoy the food here was to ask the chef, Tommo, to prepare a medley of special hot and cold courses. This means you're treated to something new and delicious on every visit. The price of your meal may be hiked up but you'll be so pleased that you spent the money.

I would actually elevate this restaurant to Best in CR based on my last two visits. We ate grilled octopus, seared salmon with a sesame sauce, yellow tail with a delicious miso sauce and all manners of tasty rolls. And not forgetting oysters on the half shell and seared diver caught scallops. This place is ridiculously good with a great sake menu to boot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Find Last Day in Costa Rica”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Excellent rolls, wonderfiul drinks and fun atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Kai also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing