We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis”
Review of Studio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Studio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A beautiful hotel, I would highly recommend it!! The staff was so accommodating and friendly and the rooms were so clean. The breakfast buffet each morning had many choices and was excellent. We also had dinner one evening and the General Manager came over and was so gracious and invited my daughter and her friends, who are college students teaching there, to enjoy a Thanksgiving dinner at the hotel since they will not be able to get home. If you are ever in Costa Rica, this is the place to stay. It is a complete gem and oasis!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 583 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very nice hotel. The best one we stayed at during our trip. Sadly we stayed only one night after flying into San Jose and had to leave early the next morning. Staff friendly both late at night and in the early morning hours. Spoke English. Comfortable and clean room. Very satisfied. Approx 20 min from the airport at about 10pm - traffic can get bad in San Jose during rush hours. Don't know much about neighborhood however. But very happy with our choice and wished we'd also stayed here the night before leaving Costa Rica as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuhnsl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It is very important to us because we use it as a feedback so we can grow as hotel.

You are welcome anytime time you want.

Ou staff is highly trained to offer you the best service we can, we know most of our guests are tourists who speaks English, that´s why we have bilingual staff.

Our rooms are carefully prepared by our maids who are always aware of the cleanliness and presentation of each room. Our priority is to make you feel like home and for you to have a good stay and sleep.

We are really near to the airport, malls, business centers and hospitals for your convenience.

Hope to see you soon again! And thank you one more time for have stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at the Stdio Hotel for just a couple of days before heading to La Fortuna. The hotel looks very nice from the out side but because it is located behind another building it does not have all the charm of a fancy hotel. Wow! The saying never judge a book by it's cover comes to mind. It really is an absolutely beautiful gem! The Studio Hotel is located close to the School of Art and they proudly display the art from Local artists from the outside throughout the entire hotel. We were greeted at the door by Nathan,. He was always so very pleasant and willing to help in anyway. We thought he had been there for years and were very shocked he had just started. Checking in was very quick & simple as well as pleasant. The beautiful decor was comfortable & clean. Our room was very nice. Much larger than we expected and very comfortable. Breakfast comes with your stay and it was very good! We had dinner the first night at the hotel and it was very good as well as the friendly service.The pool is located on the roof and they had a party to enjoy the soccer game, sorry we had to miss it. Everyone was so kind and pleasant. I would love to return back and would highly reccommend this hotel not just as a stop from the airport to other locations but to enjoy the city and relax at a very nice hotel with a very comfortable friendly staff! We were able to walk just a short distance to the local market to pick up a couple of items & return to our room. When you go make sure you ask about the history of the tree that is at the entrance.

Room Tip: Staying on the 3rd floor has nice views. We stayed on the 2nd floor at the end and had a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeSpiritTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thanks for telling us about your stay in our hotel, we appreciate it very much!

Our priority is to treat you the best way you deserve, that’s why we have highly trained staff that is always willing and pending to every need you may have for it to be solved.

Studio Hotel main concept is local art, the entire hotel is decorated by national artists as Rafa Fernández, Isidro Con Wong, Marcia Salas and Manuel Vargas. These artist are characteristic of Studio Hotel, they give to our installations a unique touch of an art museum and the tranquility of the same.

Our rooms are carefully prepared thinking in your comfort and rest either after a long day at work or just for vacations.

Thanks one more time for have visited us! We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Met at the car in the parking lot by well dressed staff carrying an umbrella during a storm. Things just got even better from there on in this delightfully decorated building, which brings a smile to your face at every turn with clever artwork and beautiful lighting throughout. A thoroughly pleasant visit, which I shall certainly repeat.

Remarkably executed large pool and lounge area on roof top. Architectural details are fascinating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are glad you have shared your experience with us, it is very important to us because we use them as a feedback.

For our guests we have a highly well trained staff that is always pending and willing to help you in every require you may have. They are very friendly because our priority is to make you feel welcome and greeted by us.

Our building decoration is very original thanks to national artists that makes paints and sculptures just for us, as you may notice, our concept is an art gallery so our decor is very detail selected. All of these master pieces and the architecture make Studio Hotel unforgettable for our guests and a very stylish hotel.

Hope you visit us again and one more time thanks for have come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My partner and I spent 8 days at Studio Hotel this August and fell in LOVE! We’ve penned it our Costa Rican home away from home. The hotel’s art is beautiful (Marcia Salas, Manuel Vargas and Rafa Fernandez are my newly discovered artists) the staff is FABULOUS and the food was delicious! From the lobby to the pool, every space is clean and fresh in appearance. Listen, the 5-second rule would definitely apply!! Our room was located on the second floor and had a spectacular view of the mountains, which were on full display thanks to the generously sized window. The bed was amazing! A bed can make or break a room for me. The shower was a fave- rainfall showerhead, large shower with half-glass door-Studio did not disappoint. Studio Hotel’s customer service is fantastic, bar none. From the moment we were greeted by Juan M, until we were dropped off at the airport (request Walter!), everything said “genuine first class”. Diana, Glenda and Randall (Reception), Aldo (General Manager), William (Restaurant) and Sayira (Curator) were so good to us!! Aldo arranged a private tour of the hotel gallery with Sayira upon learning of our status as art enthusiasts. Sayira rocks; she not only met with us that Friday, she made time to return the following Tues evening to finish our tour. With complementary wine in hand, the three of us explored the Costa Rican art that adorns Studio’s walls. When Marshall and I decided to fly to Puerto Viejo for an overnight trip, Aldo strongly encouraged that we drive as the 5-hour travel time would allow us to see the diversity and beauty of the countryside. He was right! Glenda was a godsend in making all of the arrangements! She booked us at the gorgeous Almonds & Corals Hotel (luxury meets jungle concept), researched a few restaurant options and hired a driver (Walter!), who stayed overnight with us and was on call, if needed. Walter and the drive were awesome! We practiced our Spanish/his English, had great Costa Rican breakfast together, and all sang along to great hits of the 90’s (Celine Dion, you have a major fan in CR). When he dropped us off at the airport two days later, he brought us a gift- Costa Rican coffee from his family. Studio’s restaurant menu will not disappoint (taquitos are a must), and waiter, William, adds to the ambience. We enjoyed listening to and sharing stories, practicing our Spanish and having a good laugh with him! All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to San Jose. You can’t help but to love CR, but staying at Studio will make it into a place you want to return to. Immediately. Our time in Costa Rica was so fabulous that we’re already heading back this month and we’ll be staying at our home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Noma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We´re glad you enjoyed your stay at Studio Hotel, thank you for have shared your experience with us, we do appreciate it.

It´s our priority to offer the best service we can, our staff is fully prepared to attend every need or require you may have, we care about how you feel at our hotel and to have a great time.

Studio Hotel concept is to recreate an art gallery, but the difference is that we use paints and sculptures of local artists; this art makes Studio Hotel a different place to stay due to its style.

We loved to see you really enjoyed your vacations here! You´re welcome any time you want,
hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent one night at the Studio Hotel upon arrival into Costa Rica. Rooms are very clean and spacious. We spent a nice afternoon sitting at the roof top pool which was very pleasant. The staff at the Studio Hotel were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenm598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your stay, we really appreciate it.

Our hotel was designed thinking in every need you may have, from comfortable rooms carefully prepared and equipped, to a water tempered pool on the roof top, gym center, 2 bars and 2 restaurants.

Our staff is highly trained to serve you like you deserve! They are always willing and pending for attend to every need you may have.

We´re glad you enjoyed your stay here at Studio hotel, hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights in September upon the recommendation of Wild Rider, our rental car company. The room was super spacious and very stylish. The bed must have been a California King and should have come with its own zipcode, it was that big. Very chic hotel with original artwork everywhere. The pool was closed, so can't comment on that. Great service, bilingual staff, fabulous breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would return.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 220 and it had kind of a cool view of the mountains and a cemetery...quiet neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashevillemuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We´re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, it´s our priority to make you feel welcome and greeted here.

Our rooms are designed thinking on what´s best for our guests, that´s why they are spacious and fully equipped, we want our guests to have a good sleep and rest after a long day.

Studio Hotel decor is original and unique, paints and sculptures are designed exclusively for us by local artists who are internationally recognized.

Our staff will always be willing to attend your needs the best way, we know how hard is to communicate in a language it´s not yours, that’s why we have fully prepared personal at your disposal.

And one more time, thank you for have visited us, We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
999 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
3.7 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Hotel

Address: | 750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center, Santa Ana 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $85 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not all hotels are the same, the Studio 5 Star Boutique Hotel is designed to be part of your trip in Costa Rica. The spacious luxurious rooms, common areas, terrace, restaurant, meeting rooms... everything has been designed for you.On our walls, the art is opened to enter the magical world designed by the best Costa Rican artists.Surrounded by mountains: green, blue, brown, sprayed by rain or dimly lit by the sun of Santa Ana, a city that always seems to be in spring.Equipped with the latest technology, our seven meeting rooms are cozy and ready to recieve from five to a hundred executives.In our luxury rooms, the natural light helps to create a relaxed atmosphere in which ideas and conversation flows.Our highly qualified and friendly staff is always ready to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Studio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing