We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three weeks feeling like home”
Review of Studio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Studio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had to spend three weeks on business in Santa Ana. This boutique-hotel is one of the best I have stayed in - not necessarily due to its elegance (the wall art was wonderful!), comfort and cleanliness which were all top but also seen in other hotels, but due to the feeling of being like home: outstandingly friendly, reliable, cheerful and gentle staff, ready to serve or help immediately; unusual correctness (lost money in pockets were returned by the laundry people); shuttle available to take you to town, at no extra charge; same-day laundry service at no extra charge; and going away for two nights without the need to check-out, while not charged (unheard of in any other hotel!). Breakfast is included in the room rate and it is excellent. I give it five stars because of how it is managed and the friendliness of staff, but told management that they need to improve their dinner menu which is pricey and not at the same level with the rest. Finally, the room rates are competitive and would recommend the hotel to anyone travelling on business or vacation. Thanks for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: The rooms at the third floor are the best, with direct access to the gym, terrace and a small swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us,

We are glad you liked the hotel!

Every room is decorated different from each other, this way is more personalized and they are carefully prepared to enhance your sleep and stay here.

Our friendly staff work everyday for brings you an excellent experience and service.
For us is very important to keep secure your things

Our international Chef is always improving the menu and the quality so you can have a great and delicious meal with the typical Costa Rican ingredients.

Best regards from your Home in Costa Rica.

Gustavo Botero
Costa Rica Studio Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 626 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The rooms and furnishings are of exceptional standard and the original art work throughout the hotel makes it unique. The location is good for the airport and the immediate area felt safe. The reason I haven't given 5 stars is to with the service at the bar and in the restaurant. Meals did not match the description on the menu. I ordered a rice dish and was brought pasta. One waiter behaves in a bizzare manner. Given the cultural and language differences I'm not able to comment on his intentions - perhaps he meant to amuse the guests, but I found him quite rude. Fortunately there are several nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor. Found that rooms at the front are slightly bigger than those at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Greetings from Studio Hotel

Our priority is to create unforgettable memories during your trip and offer you a unique and personalized service and attention.

We are located strategically in Santa Ana to provide you more facilities and accessibility to hospitals, business centers, malls and mostly any other place you want to go.

Our sincere apology because of the inconvenient you had at the restaurant, it was an internal confusion with the dish, we´d be trying this not to happen again. We always try to offer the best service our guests deserve, because it is very important to us to make you feel comfortable and home.

We´re glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, hope for you to visit us again!

Gustavo Botero
Costa Rica Studio Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I thought this hotel was delicious. It had wonderful yet indulgent breakfasts, great city views, and excellent beds. I liked the pool a lot. It was very small yet the water was very warm. They had a meeting room (this hotel is more aimed towards business people) and 3 floors. However, the hotel is right next to a cemetery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Greetings from Studio Hotel. We were pleased you have stayed with us.

Our staff is highly trained and carefully selected specially for our guests, this way we can offer an excellent service and make your stay memorable.

Our pool is water tempered with solar panels that contribute saving energy, this is a plus for you, for us and for the world.

This cemetery we are next to is considered a historical heritage because some important political figures are buried there.

Thank you for have visited us.

We hope to see you soon!

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in July. Used as a base in and out of the SJO airport and a stopover while traveling cross country. Property is very clean and comfortable, service is consistently great and amenities (while limited) are very functional. Nice breakfast included to jump start the day. Located in a corporate area with a lot of US chains but also close in proximity (walking distance and/or short cab ride) to some very good local restaurants. Gustavo was very helpful in setting up transportation and answering questions prior to arrival and rest of the staff was very helpful during our stay. Great value, would stay here again on a return trip to Costa Rica.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank MdEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi, We are thankful for you to write us about your experience,

We try to keep our hotel always clean and impeccable for our guests. Also, we try to provide you all the things you need for you with our staff that is highly trained to give you the best service we can.

Our restaurant concept is Costa Rican typical food and its menu is constantly getting better by our international chef and his staff.

Our main priority is to make you feel comfortable and having the best experience during your stay here with us without missing anything.

We hope for you to visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Gustavo Botero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We live in Costa Rica and come to the Santa Ana and Escazu area to shop for the necessities of life. We normally stay at a hotel nearby which is nice, but not AS NICE AS THIS. It was my birthday so we decided to stay somewhere different. What a lovely hotel. First class, excellent service.
We have stayed in many hotels over the years, the staff at this hotel could not have been better. They are friendly, informed and most accommodating.
The rooms are lovely, the beds and pillows are comfortable. We couldn't of had a better sleep.
We didn't make it to the restaurant for dinner, but we will on our next trip into town. Their menu looks delicious. We did enjoy the breakfast buffet, it had everything you could ask for and it was fresh and well presented.
The welcome cocktail is a nice touch.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi, thank you for taking your time to writing us this positive feedback!

We are glad you liked the hotel, we try to make it different from the others so you can stay in a unique place and make it memorable. Our hotel is all decorated with sculptures and paints of national artists that even some of them are recognized internationally and at the same time we support national talent.

Every room is decorated different from each other, this way is more personalized and they are carefully prepared to enhance your sleep and stay here.

Our international Chef is always improving the menu and the quality so you can have a great and delicious meal with the typical Costa Rican ingredients.

We hope to see you soon here again!

Best regards,
Gustavo Botero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My sister and I were in the San Jose area for an evening and couldn't have been happier with our accommodations! We walked into the beautifully decorated lobby and were greeted with welcome cocktails, which were a delicious guanabana (sour sop) fruit drink. After getting checked in, we walked through the hotel and we able to admire all of the sculptural and mural art that enveloped the building, which created a very beautiful and peaceful aesthetic, much like that you would find in an art gallery. We stayed in a beautiful double room, and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is served from 6am to 10am and it was a perfect start to our day before getting on the road. At check-out the concierge took our photo next to a statue in the lobby and emailed it to us - a nice touch and good way to remember our stay. The hotel is located only minutes away from the Escazu area where the Multiplaza Mall and IMAX theatre are located, so we had plenty of entertainment for the one evening that we were there! A very creative and comfortable hotel option, I plan on staying here more often when I find myself in San Jose!

Room Tip: Double rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennypenny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback!

We were pleased to have you here.

Our main concept is to promote Costa Rican culture and art, so we decorate the entire hotel with sculptures and paints of the most recognized artists in our country, this concept give us a very unique style and at the same time we support national art.

Our rooms are carefully prepared to improve your comfort and guarantee you an incredible sleep and stay. Every room in our hotel is decorated differently from each other because our priority is to give you the best personalized service.

We are located in a central location as well as the airport, malls, medical centers and night life to provide you a better experience during your stay,

Thank you so much for staying here, we hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,
Gustavo Botero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back from a 12-day trip to Costa Rica, and we've stayed at Studio Hotel for the first 2 nights. It was such a great experience, the hotel is contemporary and very clean, the service was excellent, the staffs are very helpful, and the reservation manager Gustavo Botero was personal and very responsive to my email questions even before we went on the trip. The 2nd day after we checked in, my daughter got sick with stomach pain, I went to the front desk to ask if they can recommend the doctors nearby who can speak English. They told me they'll call the doctor and the doctor should be at the hotel shortly, so I asked what would be the cost to see the doctor without the insurance, they told me it's the hotel service and it's free. I was completely surprised because this was never the case in US. After about 20 minutes, the ER doctor with an assistant showed up at our hotel room, examined my daughter, and gave her the medication and some advice. The next day, my daughter was fine. All in all, this is a great hotel, if you need a hotel nearby San Jose, I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Greetings from the Studio Hotel.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much with us. Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We will forward your great comment to the staff and the other responsible departments.

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest hear in the Studio Hotel. It is so important to know about your opinion. Please do not hesitate if you have any further requests or questions we would be more than grateful to help you with that.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the Studio Hotel.

All the best wishes,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
1.6 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,880 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Hotel

Address: | 750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center, Santa Ana 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $83 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not all hotels are the same, the Studio 5 Star Boutique Hotel is designed to be part of your trip in Costa Rica. The spacious luxurious rooms, common areas, terrace, restaurant, meeting rooms... everything has been designed for you.On our walls, the art is opened to enter the magical world designed by the best Costa Rican artists.Surrounded by mountains: green, blue, brown, sprayed by rain or dimly lit by the sun of Santa Ana, a city that always seems to be in spring.Equipped with the latest technology, our seven meeting rooms are cozy and ready to recieve from five to a hundred executives.In our luxury rooms, the natural light helps to create a relaxed atmosphere in which ideas and conversation flows.Our highly qualified and friendly staff is always ready to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Studio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing