We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent hotel close to airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Studio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel close to airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

- conveniently located near airport (less than 10 km)
- clean, modern-looking hotel
- nice roof-top patio area and pool
- comfortable king-size bed
- excellent food at the restaurant (the rare tuna and beef we ordered were both delicious)
- friendly staff at the front desk and in the bar
- included breakfast was good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StofferG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your comments for us is very important to know the opinion of our clients, we are so happy what your time in the hotel were all excellente.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    111
    19
    12
    3
See reviews for
65
153
26
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here the first night after flying in to San Jose. The drive might be a little tricky without GPS. The parking is gated. We loved the look and feel of the hotel - my wife loved all the art, and the view from the rooftop pool is nice (unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy it). The bed was nice, but the only downer (if you're a light sleeper like me) is that sound carries through the hallways (no carpeting), so I was woken up by others down the hall opening/closing doors.

We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant - I had some sort of sea bass dish, and it was amazing. Best thing I had to eat the entire time we were in CR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear friends,

We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback.

In Studio Hotel we ensure the safety of all our guests, which is why we have a parking lot with 24 hour security.

We are a masterpiece in the art of lodging, so we take care of every detail, as decoration and services.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Boutique.

Greetings from Costa Rica

Gustavo Botero Linares
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We started our trip to our favorite resort - Hotel Tambor Tropical - with a stop at the Studio Hotel since we could not make a connection to Playa Tambor the day we arrived at SJO. The hotel was vey accommating with making transfer arrangements and is convenient to the airport. We were delighted with the rooms, the staff and the location.

The facility is beautiful, the art work fascinating, and the roof top pool relaxing.

If business or pleasure takes you to the San Jose area consider this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golforharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Best Regards from Studio Hotel, thanks for your comments for us is very important your opinion.
Daily we work in the innovation and service for offer the best site for lodging in our capital, our restaurant with the original concept is one of our projects and the result is a very good for our clients.

Thank you very much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the Best Hotels we have ever stayed in. My wife picked this Hotel because the theme is all about the local artists in San Jose (Santa Anna) about 15 minutes from the Airport. The Hotel is brand new. It is clean & the buffet breakfast is excellent with fresh fruit every morning & great coffee. The owners take great pride to accommodate you in there natural setting. Also my wife & I felt very safe & comfortable @ this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trips1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Good morning,

For us it is best to provide excellent vacations in Costa Rica.
We appreciate your comments and we are glad to think that you´re happy customers and you could see all the typical art in the Hotel.

In Studio Hotel all the staff take care of every detail, is for that we are a masterpiece in the art of lodging.

Our breakfast is always variety and freshness, it is considered delicious!
We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Greetings from Costa Rica.

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We only stayed her for one night before we flew out of San Jose, but what we did experience was a very well kept, modern hotel. The front desk team was very helpful and friendly. In fact when they heard we would be leaving before the buffet breakfast started, they had two sack lunches prepared for us at check out. That was a level of service we really didn't expect. The only reason we didn't give the hotel a 5, is we had a weird dinner at the restaurant, while the meal itself was good, the service was terrible and odd, then I didn't even end up getting the entree that I ordered. Besides that, we loved the hotel. The room was very sustainable, the power went off when you left room (it was activated by your key), and the bed was so comfortable. The art gallery in the hallways was unique as well. I would recommend this hotel for couples without kids or for business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Good evening dear guests,

Studio Hotel lovingly care for our guests, is for that reason that we anticipate your needs to ensure your satisfaction.

We wanted that you prove our special and excellent breakfast, We are glad you enjoyed your box breakfast.

We hope on your next visit to enjoy our Restaurant Katowa, I'm sure we will provide better service.

Our rooms are spacious and seeking comfort for our clients a unique experience in the art with the service.

Warm regards,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful hotel. the staff was so accommodating Kudos to Jairo and Mario for taking such good care of our family. the restaurant has very high quality delicious food and breakfast was fantastic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 781LauraC_Scituate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Good morning,

Our staff sends warm greetings, we invite you to return to our hotel, because you are part of the family Studio Hotel.

We will always have a reserved table in our restaurant Katowa for you.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards from Costa Rica.

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the boutique Studio Hotel. The location in Santa Ana was a big plus for us -- it's outside the hustle and bustle of San Jose and Escazu, but still within easy reach. Our room was excellent and very well-appointed, including a coffee maker, cable TV with international channels like TV5 and DW, and free wifi in all areas of the hotel, including the rooms. As mentioned by other reviewers, the rooftop pool and art throughout the hotel are lovely. On our last night, after a long day in the city, we decided to have drink at the bar and eat in the hotel's restaurant, and are very glad we did. It was a quiet evening at first, so we had a delightful chat with our server/bartender Keneth and the chef (whose name, unfortunately, we did not catch) before ordering dinner. My wife enjoyed her tenderloin with chimichuri, while I had a stuffed chicken with Jamaican style sauce that was delightful. All the staff were helpful and friendly, and we definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DewayneMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for give us some of your valuable time to write this review.

Our comfortable rooms every guest seeking to rest in a pleasant way, like works of art throughout the hotel seeking immerse guests in a world of Costa Rican art in fusion of tranquility.

We're glad you enjoyed our restaurant Katowa, and the excellent food, our "shrimp Talamanca" are our specialty.

This is your home, we hope to see you soon.

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
1.6 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#3 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
6.5 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Hotel

Property: Studio Hotel
Address: | 750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center, Santa Ana 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not all hotels are the same, the Studio 5 Star Boutique Hotel is designed to be part of your trip in Costa Rica. The spacious luxurious rooms, common areas, terrace, restaurant, meeting rooms... everything has been designed for you.On our walls, the art is opened to enter the magical world designed by the best Costa Rican artists.Surrounded by mountains: green, blue, brown, sprayed by rain or dimly lit by the sun of Santa Ana, a city that always seems to be in spring.Equipped with the latest technology, our seven meeting rooms are cozy and ready to recieve from five to a hundred executives.In our luxury rooms, the natural light helps to create a relaxed atmosphere in which ideas and conversation flows.Our highly qualified and friendly staff is always ready to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Studio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing