We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Studio Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$99
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Los Candiles(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luisiana(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$50
$43
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Out of Bounds Hotel(Escazu)(Great Value!)
$65
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Don Francisco(Escazu)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveler rating
395
186
50
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
186
50
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolan art gallerycosta rican artbeautiful artworksan josetortillaslocal artworkbeautiful hotelgreat boutiquesmall gymtour of costa ricabuffet breakfasthotel shuttleroom was largenice breakfastlate at nightrice and beans
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 661 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the boutique Studio Hotel. The location in Santa Ana was a big plus for us -- it's outside the hustle and bustle of San Jose and Escazu, but still within easy reach. Our room was excellent and very well-appointed, including a coffee maker, cable TV with international channels like TV5 and DW, and free wifi in all areas of the hotel, including the rooms. As mentioned by other reviewers, the rooftop pool and art throughout the hotel are lovely. On our last night, after a long day in the city, we decided to have drink at the bar and eat in the hotel's restaurant, and are very glad we did. It was a quiet evening at first, so we had a delightful chat with our server/bartender Keneth and the chef (whose name, unfortunately, we did not catch) before ordering dinner. My wife enjoyed her tenderloin with chimichuri, while I had a stuffed chicken with Jamaican style sauce that was delightful. All the staff were helpful and friendly, and we definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DewayneMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for give us some of your valuable time to write this review.

Our comfortable rooms every guest seeking to rest in a pleasant way, like works of art throughout the hotel seeking immerse guests in a world of Costa Rican art in fusion of tranquility.

We're glad you enjoyed our restaurant Katowa, and the excellent food, our "shrimp Talamanca" are our specialty.

This is your home, we hope to see you soon.

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in November and it really is a class act. The works of art and sculpture that adorn the public areas really set the place apart from the ordinary. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the staff are really keen to please. I ordered a drink to join friends but couldn't drink it as I hadn't realised how sweet it was - the barman insisted on changing it for another drink at no charge.
I believe this is a fairly new hotel - it really deserves to do well - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Good afternoon,

Please note that in all our sculptures are Costa Rican Art, this because we support local artists.
We are delighted that you like our hotel. Our rooms are the largest in the area and our unique service and quality.

All our employees strive to provide the best ever as is our core value.

Greetings from Costa Rica,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very comfortable large rooms with excellent bed linen and towels. Very quiet. Cable TV so lots of choice. Free wifi. Very helpful staff. Lots of Costa Rican art throughout the hotel. Only stayed one night as part of a tour group but was very impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Guest passes expect a happy holiday,

We appreciate your valuable comments. Please note that in our Internet service is the fastest in the area as well as spacious rooms, are distinguished by the art.

We are happy that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and our service has meets your expectations.
We hope to have you back,

Best regards,
Gustavo Botero
Reservation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay, the decor is modern, hotel is very clean and quiet. We spent our first 2 nights in CR here and it set the mood for our time here. We were offered a cold fresh fruit drink as we checked in, the staff explained everything to us in English, he was clear and articulate. The breakfast is scrumptious, lot to choose from including made to order eggs and fresh fruit. The hotel PR [Eugenia] was very knowledgeable, warm and helpful. She helped us to arrange for a taxi to take us to downtown San Jose and the driver turned out to be a hit. We had a wonderful time and will most definitely return here on our next visit. We highly recommend it. It offer so much for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade20721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you very much!

We are glad you enjoyed Studio Hotel, and you enjoyed our services, because we are a masterpiece in the art of hospitality.

We look forward to see you again in Our hotel, because you are already part of this big Family.

Best Regards,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

With respect to the earth and the environment, this small hotel is making a difference in the San Jose suburbs. Entering the hotel is walking into a private museum with sculpture and paintings in every common area including the landings on each of the 3 floors. It is a new hotel so everything is clean and in excellent condition. Breakfast and wi-fi are included in the already reasonable price; so unlike most big chain US brands.

The staff are welcoming and do their utmost to assist. We had to reach our airline to make a departure change days before X-mas and Silvia spent a good 30 minutes calling for us. Our only complaint is that they advertise a solar heated pool but it was freezing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZZMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear friend,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment.
We are proud that we are seen as a unique hotel and different from others, which is in favor of environmental conservation.

Our hotel has an attractive concept that immerses guests in a distinctly Costa Rican art, which is why we are a masterpiece in the art of lodging.

Our customer service policy is to provide the best every day which is why we pay attention to satisfy every need of our guests.

We hope to have the privilege to see you back in our hotel to give you the best ever.

Best regards,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews