We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Absolutely FANTASTIC little boutique ***** star hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Studio Hotel to your Saves list
Studio Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | 750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center, Santa Ana 10201, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely FANTASTIC little boutique ***** star hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

After traveling all around Costa Rica, this was the hands down the BEST hotel of entire journey.
Same quality you can find only from prestige hotels.
Top class service, nice late rooms, pool & lounge area fantastic and newly done small gym was everything we could have hope for.

100% we'll be back again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

The family Studio Hotel is writing in regarding to your previous comment for our hotel. We really appreciate you for taking the time to write a feedback about our services.

Thank you for taking us in count as a prestige hotel. We are honored to provide you the best service, since we are a 5 star hotel, also we are glad to know that our customers feel like home, because in Studio hotel, “we are a master piece in the art of lodging”.

This Hotel was structured to satisfy the comforts of our customers, it’s because of this that we mix the outdoor spaces, like the pool, the terrace, and the indoor spaces, like the lobby and the restaurant that are decorated with Costa Rican art.

As a conclusion, we hope to count with the privilege to have you one more time in our hotel, whenever you’ll be close to the San Jose area.
Sincerely,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    102
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
52
145
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We (party of 7) had a great stay at Studio Hotel. The pool on the roof was a favorite for the kids. Because of the high traffic in San Jose the day of our visit we had to skip our planned visit to the Art Museum, but we were pleased to see the hotel was an art museum in itself.
The service was excellent, breakfast delicious and very complete, and everything was wonderful in general.
Congrats on the new five star rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AguasBravasCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Good morning,

We appreciate your comments and the time you dedicate to express your opinion about the Hotel. This allows us to feed back and continue providing excellent service.

Studio hotel was designed for anyone of any age could enjoy it, is for that reason the pool is on the third floor, because all our guests can relax and enjoy it.

As was observed our hotel is the first theme hotel in the city in which we are providing the opportunity for local artists so they can show their work, and as you mention: "The hotel is an art museum in itself" where you can take pictures of fond memories in an excellent decoration, since in Studio hotel "We are a masterpiece in the art of lodging."

Finally we hope to see you again when you return to the San Jose, Santa Ana or Escazu.

Cordially

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We started our Costa Rica vacation here and so very glad we did! We did not had a smooth start as when we arrived into San Jose, the car company we had confirmed our reservation with (twice) had decided to not honor ANY reservations made through Expedia or Travelocity. So, at almost 10pm and no car, we grabbed a taxi and went to the Studio Hotel. It was about a 20 minute drive and cost $20 (or 10,000 colones)

Upon arrival, Oscar greeted us with a warm smile and extreme efficiency. He took us to our room and explained the basics and such as well as when and where breakfast was and our password for Wi-Fi, which we definitely nedeed as we did not have a car! We told this to Oscar and he suggested checking in with the concierge in the morning to assist us. We went ahead and made an online reservation just in case.

Our room was lovely--king size bed with comfortable mattress and nice linens. The bathroom was ample size with a great open shower. We slept wonderfully.

The next morning we had a great buffet breakfast (included with our room) complete with eggs (made to order, even omelettes), bacon, potatos, rice and beans, yogurt, toast, juice, coffee, cereal, etc. Very nice and very filling! Oscar, who checked us in the night before, came over to our table to inquire if we still needed a car. We explained that we had made an online reservation and would need to go pick up the car. Oscar went ahead and had the car company bring the car to us at the hotel. Wow! Totally cool.

We didn't get to use the pool, but checked it out and it is located on the roof (three floor building) and is really nice.

Upon departure (easy check out) Ronald asked us where we were going and proceeded to give us the best directions (hand drawn map and all!) to Arenal. He even used to work at one of the fancy lodges there and recommended dinner places.

Exceptional service all around at this hotel and a great place to start off or end your Costa Rican adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street side although, honestly, the rooms were soundproofed well. It is a new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

The family Studio Hotel is writing in regarding to your previous comment for our hotel. We really appreciate you for taking the time to write a feedback about our services.

Is really important to us to see reflected the effort of each one of our employees in your satisfaction. We like to take care of all of the needs of our guests, and we like to do it on time.

We are always looking forward to improve our services day by day, for we can grow the family of Studio Hotel, because in Studio hotel “we are a master piece in the art of lodging”.

Finally, we hope to see you again whenever you’ll back around the San Jose area.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Lovely hotel with excellent rates including breakfast. Most people stay here the first or last day of a Costa Rican Vacation. We statyed our last day. We had a rental and got around, it's in a very nice area close to a couple of dining areas. We had some excellent sushi at a nearby resturant. There is a huge shopping mall in Escazu. Escazu is a 10 minute or less drive from Studio Hotel and the town is very nice and charming. They also have a couple of nice hotels in the middle of the multiplaza complex which would make a fun shopping stay. Back to SH, it's modern, clean, nice art and a very friendly staff. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventuresTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

The family Studio Hotel is writing in regarding to your previous comment for our hotel. We really appreciate you for taking the time to write a feedback about our services.

For Studio Hotel it´s a pleasure to us to receive this positive comments, its a true satisfaction to us to know that as a reward of our effort you received a quality service, because in Studio hotel “we are a master piece in the art of lodging”.

We are glad to know that the location from the hotel was for your convenience.

We hope to see you forward in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Very nice hotel, close to the airport, perfect for starting and ending your stay in costa rica when on vacation. Ronald was very helpful to us - we were staying the night before leaving and had a lot of extra requests which he all gladly accommodated. The hotel looks nice and modern, is clean, and has very friendly staff. Definitely recommended !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serialdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

The family Studio Hotel is writing in regarding to your previous comment for our hotel. We really appreciate you for taking the time to write a feedback about our services.

We are glad to know that the location from our hotel it was for your convenience, the hotel was thought for being close to the airport, and also close to San Jose city, without having all the noise from the town.

In regarding to the service from our employees, every time a guest is staying with us, we want them to feel like home , because in Studio Hotel “we are a master piece in the art of lodging”.

We are looking forward to see you once again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Salinas, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Studio Hotel proved to be the perfect spot for beginning and ending our ten-day long vacation in Costa Rica. Given our first night late arrival and subsequent trip itinerary (first to the Pacific coast then up to Volcan Arenal) I was in search of a hotel that was outside San Jose city proper and close to the major highway leading to the coast. What I found in Studio Hotel fit the bill, and then some.

The staff on the first night were cheerful and welcoming – even at midnight! The king size bed and room itself were both very comfortable and the next morning breakfast was hearty (omelets, fruit, breads, oatmeal, fresh OJ, etc.) The original art decor of the hotel and abundant natural light illuminating the restaurant also added to our enjoyment that first day in Costa Rica.

Our last day was equally enjoyable. Instead of a late check-in, the staff graciously helped us with an early check-in. After which I took a dip in the roof-top pool, then took a stroll through the Santa Ana neighborhood where the hotel resides. Just one block west of the hotel is a high-end food store great for trip provisions. A bit further on, Santa Ana Old Town begins, denoted by a string of ceramic shops. Several blocks in the opposite direction is a wide array of newer restaurants, businesses and commercial-style shopping.

Besides being a great start and end point for a CR tourism trip, it seems it's also a fine location to hold business conferences…during both of our stays, there were several meetings going on in their top floor conference center.

If you're planning to spend time in downtown San Jose, be sure to budget for $10-20 one-way taxi rides. If you're main criteria is a comfortable place for a good value with airport proximity, you should book this hotel with confidence.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

The family Studio Hotel is writing in regarding to your previous comment for our hotel. We really appreciate you for taking the time to write a feedback about our services.

We are glad to know that the location from the hotel, helped you to easily move around the city to all the tourist spots. We are also thankful for your comment about the rooms, we are proud to count with the biggest rooms of the area, because in Studio hotel “we are a master piece in the art of lodging”.

In the same way, we looked for create a space where you can enjoy your vacations and make business in our country, because we count also with the best lounges for your stay.
We hope to see you once again in our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have nothing but extremely positive things to say about the Studio Hotel. Ronald was accommodating from the very beginning and we owe much of the comfort of our stay to him. We had to switch our plans at the last minute and he was more than happy to help us out. The hotel is VERY clean, new and modern with great amenities. It is quite close to the airport (both of them) and far less than the Marriott with more personal service. Everyone was right there at a moments notice to help us out with anything big and small. It is NOT close to downtown San Jose, so if this is what you're looking for, pick something else. There are some nice small restaurants closeby, several ATM's, a marketplace open late and a great pool on top of the hotel. There is a very nice restaurant in the hotel that works great for breakfast and transportation is always available. This hotel is a great find and very much worth the price and then some. We as a family of 6 had a great time and I suspect it is a great hotel for business people as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We really appreciate your answer, it was really nice from you.

We want to inform you that Studio Hotel was thought as a place for hosting within all the modern, comfortable, and unique elements, ideal for all those who would like to enjoy from Costa Rica. Because in Studio Hotel “we are a master piece in the art of lodging”.

The location from this hotel its´ perfect, because it is really close to some commercial stores, such like restaurants, supermarkets, malls, and others. In the same way we are really close to the international airport too.

We hope to see you once again in your next visit to Costa Rica.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#3 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#1 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
3.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Hotel

Property: Studio Hotel
Address: | 750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center, Santa Ana 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not all hotels are the same, the Studio 5 Star Boutique Hotel is designed to be part of your trip in Costa Rica. The spacious luxurious rooms, common areas, terrace, restaurant, meeting rooms... everything has been designed for you.On our walls, the art is opened to enter the magical world designed by the best Costa Rican artists.Surrounded by mountains: green, blue, brown, sprayed by rain or dimly lit by the sun of Santa Ana, a city that always seems to be in spring.Equipped with the latest technology, our seven meeting rooms are cozy and ready to recieve from five to a hundred executives.In our luxury rooms, the natural light helps to create a relaxed atmosphere in which ideas and conversation flows.Our highly qualified and friendly staff is always ready to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Studio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing